Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Robert Hendricks Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

The principal at this school does not make the students his priority. They talk about being anti bullying, but that does not apply to the staff. My daughter's 4th grade teacher yelled at her students and made more than one student cry. When I talked to the principal about our problem, he said he would never allow her to change classes, and that that lady was the greatest teacher on the face of the planet. Later that day the teacher told the class that some kids didn't approve of rules so they had the option of going to private school. That same day I found my daughter a different school, and she never went back to Hendricks. I am really disappointed in that school. Mrs. Popson is a mean teacher, and Mr. Wells doesn't care about his students. It is very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

J. Robert Hendricks Elementary School is the best in town. My daughter made Honor Roll all year. We are sorry to see Mrs. Twohill leave, I hope the new principal is as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

This school will tap into all of your child's potential. The communication between teachers and parents is wonderful. Your child will glow with self pride. This is truly a remarkable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

The teachers and Principal at Hendricks are Wonderful! Our 3 boys are thriving there. Kindergarten is All day. The atmosphere is happy and positive. Excellent PTO. Many family events. They still have Music, Library, PE and Computer Classes which you can't find at many schools these days!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I am very unhappy with the quality of education my son has received this year. I think the teachers provide very poor feedback. The feedback my child has received is either not enough or negative. I am very unhappy and I am considering changing my son to another school. I know that I am not the only parent that feels this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

This school is the best ever i loved going there everyone is verry verry friendly! Mr.Trausch is the bet teacher i had (only boy teach i had) And mrs. Davies is so nice and friendly : ) but has now retired! ill miss Mr.Trauh and Mr.Wolf the most! not to menchion Mrs.Two Hill the principal! is sooo nice and kind! Mrs. Anthony & Mrs. Mc!!! best conclier ever! lol!!!! I love U all!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2006

I think this school is one of the best in Tucson referring to academics, music, choir, orchrestra, sports and extracurricular activities, I am so happy my daughter goes to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Hendricks Elementary school in Tucson, AZ is the best! I can't say enough about it. The quality of academics, the availability of extracurricular activities is awesome! The kids have so many opportunities available. The staff is awesome too. I know the parent involvement is great. As I am one that volunteers too. You can't find a better school district to be a part of. Flowing Wells School District along with Hendricks Elem., Flowing Wells Jr. High and Flowing Wells High school is the best you will ever find. Keep up the good work Flowing wells!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Fantastic school, very active parental involvement, wonderful staff...wouldn't hesitate to recommend this elementary school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 25, 2003

I cannot put into 150 words what a wonderful school Hendricks is. Students and parents are treated with respect, dignity and honor. The teachers truely care about their students' success. The kids feel like they belong at Hendricks and it shows in each smiling face. Parent involvement is awesome. Parent teacher communication is made easy, friendly and welcomed. Hendricks Hawks do indeed soar with pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2003

I think this school is the best in Arizona!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 40% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 690-5612

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 W Orange Grove Rd
Tucson, AZ 85741
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT