Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lawrence W Cross Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 793 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2008

This is an absolutly awful school! The campus is obvisously very old, and is very poor quality. The teachers are very lazy when it comes to homework. The first year of cross my child got his ipod, wallet, and cell phone stolen. The only thing returned to him was his wallet with no money left in it. the only thing the administration did to help was tell him to be more responsible with his items.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

I love this school the teachers are so welcoming and warming. The band class is really good too. Every year they go to disneyland and pagent of the bands and have come in at least first or second place
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

this school is absolutly awful the kids that go there are very bad behaved and thats probably because of the awful teaching and monitoring
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I love cross middle i have gone there for 3 years now and i love it, the only complant i have is that the navy tean fir 6th grade is too easy. Other wise it is a good school, they are getting more parents involved with the school and it is a really good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2006

My daughter really hates this school. The teachers are sub-par; the academics are rather easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

My son seems to enjoy this school and so far this year has been going well. I have not gone to the school as much as I would like but the times I have gone everyone is very helpful. I think the school is doing good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2003

We are so pleased to be a part of a public school that provides Teachers who care about the students. Ms. Valentine and Ms. Balsa are two of the most dedicated teachers and such a blessing! They go that extra mile for the kids. My son tells me they teach updated information and I hear nothing but praise for the teachers at Cross Middle School!


Posted March 3, 2003

My daughter was in special education. She had a hard time with school but was encouraged by her counselor who spent extra time with her during her classes and stayed with her to see her through graduation. I can't say enough about Mrs. Herrera.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 W. Chapala Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85704
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT