Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lineweaver Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 479 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

Amazing Leadership at Lineweaver. Possibly the best principal in the district. Also as parents we have been pleased with all the teachers our two students have had while there. I can think of no other school better fit to serve students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

This is an excellent school, alive and vibrant, full of parent participation and active teachers who go out of their way to help students achieve their very best. Our child had been at a TUSD magnet school that had perpetually falling (depressing!) enrollment, annual budget cuts and apathetic parent participation. It was hard, but we are so glad we moved. The principal is responsive, the PTA is fantastic, and the student-body is a great mix of kids. Our child is thriving in a way she never did before, and her 5th grade GATE teacher is absolutely amazing. She'll get to fly a plane through the Wright Flight program, and has been studying the physics of lift and force. The OMA Orchestra teacher is an amazing violinist and the PTA funds the OMA director - who is a true asset for the school. It offers choir, Student Council, a chess club, sports (track and field and cross-country), an "honors recorder" program, and much, much more. It's also conveniently located near Randolph Park for after-school activities through Parks n' Rec, and just a few blocks from the Columbus Library. Truly an educational gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

Our granddaughter has been attending Lineweaver for three years and we have seen very positive growth for her both academically and socially. We are very pleased with the environment at the school.


Posted January 11, 2013

My kids go to lineweaver Great School I thought so at first.. Every school has it's downfalls.. But this is no place to send your third grader for exceptional education.. I was proud to support the school but not so much now.. The lack of respect and lack of understanding for children with special needs is out the door. I as a parent witness aids, yell at special ed student, ignore them, disrespect them, and could care less if they are on the cell phone during class hours and doing their own personal matter on school time. The teachers that I have delt with in the past have been noting but great but once it turned third grade special ed.. It's gone down hill from there... They need to understand every child is different and need to teach and aproach each individual differently. I would tell all the parents to evaulate the teacher and the staff before considering putting your child in this setting if you have a child with behavior or special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

My family loves Lineweaver. I have one child who is a graduate from there and one currently enrolled. It's a hidden jewel in midtown, with terrific teachers, a very ambitious and engaged principal, a wonderful fine arts program that makes music and art accessible to all children and a great after school program. The parents are very involved and consistently raise big dollars to support the school considering that it is not a school with a wealthy demographic. And, the GATE program is one of the best things going in TUSD. If I had to do it all aver again, I'd still chose Lineweaver!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Since the new principal arrived, things are even better. Lineweaver has a very caring staff and great parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

Lineweaver is like an extension of our family. My kids look forward to going to school every day. The teachers are awesome!!!! The OMA program and OMA instructors are AMAZING! The before/after school program (Cub Club) is a fun, safe, and affordable option for those of us who have work schedules that conflict with school start and end times. I feel truly blessed to have my kids in such a GREAT school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My granddaughter gets a good education in academics and the arts at Lineweaver Elementary


Posted September 30, 2009

Lineweaver is involved in the OMA (Opening Minds Through the Arts) program, and my daughter who has attended the school since first grade has just absolutely flourished because of this program. The school provides a 'no bullying' theme all year round. Except for this year, because funding in the district has been cut, a counselor would go around to the classes and give useful community tips and advice on how to be a good neighbor. The teachers that I have encountered are enthusiastic and involved in the school activities during and after hours. We are stationed overseas this year, but my daughter still feels like Lineweaver is her school. That surely says a lot about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Great teachers! And the GATE program


Posted September 29, 2009

I find that Lineweaver is a very nice school. The teachers and staff of the school are very nice and make time to speak with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We are an OMA (Opening Minds through the Arts) school and houses an all day GATE (Gifted and Talented Education) program. We mix neighborhood kids and 'magnet' kids for the best for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

School quality and morale seem to have diminished in the last couple of years. Not sure if it's due to new administrator and/or related to budget cuts. Would like to see principal connect more with the children. Great teachers though!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Many concerns haven't been responded to by the principal. Not many fighting in the best interest of the child, parent feedback isn't valued. NO graded work has been returned this year, GATE grades seem arbitrary. GATE options in TUSD are very limited and not very encouraging... we're stuck here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Lineweaver integrates the GATE program and the general ed programs nicely. The OMA program is tops. Lineweaver does not do well with 504 plans or IEPs for children with the need for extra support. Home/school communication is brief and often lacking in vital information. Child advocacy is not number one in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

Strong teachers in general( Kinder teachers exceptional!), strong academic scores, fantastic GATE ( Gifted and Talented Education) program, Opening Minds through the Arts school, P.E. teacher, amazing PTA, and top notch music program ( top notch music director)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Pretty good, for a public school in Tucson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

We have had a rough year. The school itself is a friendly place, and the children seem well behaved. But our concerns aren't well addressed by the current principal. Hopefully, this will change, but until then, we remain concerned. Also, the quality of the GATE education is rather less than impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Very good GATE program, 5th grade teacher exceptional. Some students in GATE have behavior problems requiring medication. Their behavior can be very disruptive. Lots of after school activities and after school care available. Music program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

We have had three children attend Lineweaver, and have been very happy. They have an outstanding music program funded by tax credit dollars. The faculty is very good to outstanding, and the school has quite good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 43%
White 37% 42%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 232-7701

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

461 South Bryant
Tucson, AZ 85711
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT