Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lineweaver Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank Miss. Rita in the office! She is always there and always willing to help wherever she can. All of the students love her. I have been involved with this school for 8yrs now with both of my sons and she is still awesome!

Lineweaver Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a community member
The staff and students are working hard on respect responsibility and safety this year. Also including kindness in much of their daily lessons


Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a community member
Awesome leadership by principal, friendly excellent teaching and support staff including the counseling department. The OMA teacher goes above & beyond and monitors know all the kids!

Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
Amazing Leadership at Lineweaver. Possibly the best principal in the district. Also as parents we have been pleased with all the teachers our two students have had while there. I can think of no other school better fit to serve students.

Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school, alive and vibrant, full of parent participation and active teachers who go out of their way to help students achieve their very best. Our child had been at a TUSD magnet school that had perpetually falling (depressing!) enrollment, annual budget cuts and apathetic parent participation. It was hard, but we are so glad we moved. The principal is responsive, the PTA is fantastic, and the student-body is a great mix of kids. Our child is thriving in a way she never did before, and her 5th grade GATE teacher is absolutely amazing. She'll get to fly a plane through the Wright Flight program, and has been studying the physics of lift and force. The OMA Orchestra teacher is an amazing violinist and the PTA funds the OMA director - who is a true asset for the school. It offers choir, Student Council, a chess club, sports (track and field and cross-country), an "honors recorder" program, and much, much more. It's also conveniently located near Randolph Park for after-school activities through Parks n' Rec, and just a few blocks from the Columbus Library. Truly an educational gem.


Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a community member
Our granddaughter has been attending Lineweaver for three years and we have seen very positive growth for her both academically and socially. We are very pleased with the environment at the school.

Lineweaver Elementary School 2

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
My kids go to lineweaver Great School I thought so at first.. Every school has it's downfalls.. But this is no place to send your third grader for exceptional education.. I was proud to support the school but not so much now.. The lack of respect and lack of understanding for children with special needs is out the door. I as a parent witness aids, yell at special ed student, ignore them, disrespect them, and could care less if they are on the cell phone during class hours and doing their own personal matter on school time. The teachers that I have delt with in the past have been noting but great but once it turned third grade special ed.. It's gone down hill from there... They need to understand every child is different and need to teach and aproach each individual differently. I would tell all the parents to evaulate the teacher and the staff before considering putting your child in this setting if you have a child with behavior or special needs.

Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
My family loves Lineweaver. I have one child who is a graduate from there and one currently enrolled. It's a hidden jewel in midtown, with terrific teachers, a very ambitious and engaged principal, a wonderful fine arts program that makes music and art accessible to all children and a great after school program. The parents are very involved and consistently raise big dollars to support the school considering that it is not a school with a wealthy demographic. And, the GATE program is one of the best things going in TUSD. If I had to do it all aver again, I'd still chose Lineweaver!


Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
Since the new principal arrived, things are even better. Lineweaver has a very caring staff and great parental involvement.

Lineweaver Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Lineweaver is like an extension of our family. My kids look forward to going to school every day. The teachers are awesome!!!! The OMA program and OMA instructors are AMAZING! The before/after school program (Cub Club) is a fun, safe, and affordable option for those of us who have work schedules that conflict with school start and end times. I feel truly blessed to have my kids in such a GREAT school!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lineweaver Elementary School
461 South Bryant, Tucson, AZ  85711
(520) 225-6060
Last modified Lineweaver Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lineweaver Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top