Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Magee Middle School 4

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
Magee has a great orchestra program. The social studies teachers are top-notch as well. There are several extended field trips available ($) with extra learning that are offered each year. Although this is a middle school, if you want your sixth grader to have a traditional single-teacher classroom, that is also available. Downsides--some students don't control their behavior. Some classes can feel chaotic, although most do not. The previous principal was excellent and it is hoped the new one will be the same. We're glad we have chosen Magee for our three children.

Magee Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 21, 2016
- a student
Because I am up all night trying to get my homework done before I go to bed


Magee Middle School 2

Posted January 21, 2016
- a student
Because everyone gets bad grades and the bathrooms are dissecting to the point where no one wants to use the restroom

Magee Middle School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Magee has been a wonderful school for my child. The teachers care about learning and will go to great lengths to ensure that kids are understanding and keeping up with lessons being taught. The communication between teachers and parents has been fantastic. There are many extra curricular activities for kids to join and the coaches are dedicated and positive across the board. The administration is great at communicating and responding when there are needs and the teachers have a wonderful way of creating a positive and enriching environment in their classrooms. Like all schools, there are challenges within the student body but the staff is committed to keeping the campus safe and a great place to learn.

Magee Middle School 3

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
The principal at Magee lacks commitment and vision for the school. His frequent absences and lack of commitment to improving the school is obvious and the students and staff suffer for it. Thankfully, the assistant principal is excellent as well as most of the teachers. However, until Magee has a principal that wants to make a difference in the lives of students, Magee will remain an average school.


Magee Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
Magee continues to thrive and maintain enrollment, despite the budget cuts and lack of staffing from the State of Arizona. The staff goes above and beyond the call of duty to help, when you ask for help. The school administration is visible and listens to concerns and works to rectify them as quickly as possible. I can only imagine the great things Magee could do if the state of Arizona actually funded public education and not charter schools.

Magee Middle School 1

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
I have desperately wanted my daughter out of this school for the last 6 months. I was looking for other options and I came across a couple of charter schools but they were full and had waiting lists. After some thoughts, I really didn t want my daughter at a charter school and I wanted to support the traditional public school system. My daughter had come from Collier and it was an excellent learning experience for her. When she went to Magee she became miserable and she just was not excelling to her capacity. I have an older son who attended Magee and did extremely well and he is now a Sr. at Sabino . I think the main problem is the leadership at Magee. The principal just does not care about the students and their education. He looks angry all the time. The front office is often rude and looks miserable too. Magee needs to replace the administration to be successful again. I am happy to say my daughter will attending the new Sabino JR high next year for 7th with a real leader Mr. Munger. Sorry Magee is not a current quality school.

Magee Middle School 1

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Magee Middle School is run more like a JV detention center rather than an school. If you want to prepare your child for such a future, then by all means register them at Magee. They implement their school policies like criminal statutes rather than to promote learning. They finally did away with the punitive "Pride" program after so many complaints but the mentality still persists. Recently they had a session to punish the whole 7th grade. God only knows for what. If you voice your concerns expect your child to be targeted and staff to become adversarial. Thank goodness for the community Sabino High School recently opened up a Jr. High program in the area. Its a "blue ribbon" "A" rated school.


Magee Middle School 4

Posted March 16, 2015
- a teacher
The principal and teachers care about the students and care about their learning. Magee is a good middle school.

Magee Middle School 4

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
They have a great staff and strong leadership. The facility could use some upgrades, which is common in TUSD. For Tucson middle schools, Magee is one of the best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Magee Middle School
8300 East Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ  85710
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (520) 225-6060
Last modified Magee Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top