Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Tucson, AZ
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a teacher
Mansfeld is in its first full year of being a Magnet school and already we are seeing tremendous changes on campus. Students are connecting Science, Technology, Engineering and Math to all of their coursework. We are seeing students engaging in engineering practices to solve issues in social studies and conducting field research in PE (deflate-gate testing) to name just a few. Teachers are also collaborating more and connecting learning from 1 classroom to the next, allowing students to connect deeply to information in a variety of ways. STEM has been the start of something tremendous at Mansfeld!
1 person found this helpful

Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter has been absolutely happy and challenged academically at Mansfeld. She is involved in robotics. Girl Power club/Red Cross Club, Science olympiad, and band, playing oboe. She loves all her teachers. The students are doing some incredible school projects, in social studies for example. The reward field trips to the university are a big motivator. She has felt safe. Many good electives choices. GATE and AP classes. Great STEM nights!
1 person found this helpful


Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
Our son is very excited to attend next year. He is a math and science kid and the offerings here are right up his alley.
1 person found this helpful

Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
Mansfeld has just become a STEM Magnet school. This means teachers are creating integrated units focusing on how science, technology, engineering, and math play roles in all disciplines. Students are now being asked to demonstrate their learning via real world projects and problems, not just through tests and written essays. In addition, Mansfeld has had more student growth than the district average in every grade level and on both reading and math benchmark exams. Our high school credit algebra students performed nearly twice as well as the district average on the March benchmark this year (2013-14). If you are an involved parent, with a child who truly wants to excel, then Masnfeld is the place for you!
1 person found this helpful

Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
Our school, Mansfeld Magnet Middle School is a family that includes the staff, students, and their families. We recently had a student pass away and the students organized a "student" get together at a local park to acknowledge, honor, and share remembrances of that student. Very powerful! We have the benefit of tutoring from the University of Arizona students for our students to help give them a boost with academics. We would appreciate more community and parental involvement.
1 person found this helpful


Mansfeld Middle School 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
My school is a great place to explore and learn! We have great teachers who care about the students and are willing to go the extra mile to ensure their success. There are a number of after-school activities and interesting elective offerings. We also have a GATE Flex program and quite a few high school credit classes available for 8th graders.

Mansfeld Middle School 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
Mansfeld Middle School is in a curriculum planning year before implementing a STEM magnet program during the 2014/15 school year. Their planning year has been so productive that the district has adopted many of their tools for curriculum integration to use with our 19 other magnet schools around the district. Once the Curriculum and Instruction Department saw these amazing tools, they adopted and modified them to use district-wide in the implementation of the new ELA framework. Mansfeld has proven itself to be a district leader - and they are still in a planning year! As well, applications from students outside of Mansfeld's neighborhood have increased by 3x from 2013/14 school year to the 2014/15 school year. Mansfeld is a campus that is full of potential - and ready to shine!
1 person found this helpful

Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
We chose a public school for our child for him to be exposed to a diverse community, with plenty of choices for electives and after school activities. Mansfeld Middle School has provided that for him. The Principal is great and he talks very well of his staff. The teachers are prepared for class and are willing to help the kids that need extra help. They give the kids the grades they earn and if a child works hard to improve themselves, they reward them. They really are there to help the kids succeed. We have been very happy with the Mansfeld School and look forward to the next year.
1 person found this helpful


Mansfeld Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son is finishing up his 6th grade year at Mansfeld Middle School, and he's enjoyed his first year there very much. He is enrolled in GATE classes, and the teachers are excellent. Mansfeld offers a great GATE FLEX program, and wonderful electives, as well as opportunities with the University of Arizona such as field trips and pen pals with U of A students. Is it perfect? No, but the leadership and teachers are dedicated which makes a positive impact on the education and middle school experience. My son is looking forward to another fantastic year for 7th grade.

Mansfeld Middle School 4

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
Mansfeld Middle School has been a breath of fresh air! The school has teachers, administration, and support staff who work hard to do the best for the children. The school has implemented many positive reinforcements for the students. The Bulldogger program is fantastic. In these economic times, the school struggles to maintain extracurricular activities. Support from the community is needed. Increased parental involvement would make this a much better place for the children to attend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mansfeld Middle School
1300 E. 6th Street, Tucson, AZ  85719
(520) 225-1800
Last modified Mansfeld Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mansfeld Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top