Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marana High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

This is a great school that suffers from many misperceptions. The students are kind and caring. The staff works hard to meet the needs of the students. There are many AP programs, Science Olympiad, Academic Decathlon type programs that challenge the brightest students regardless of what the school's reputation says. It is a safe campus. Teachers are held to a high standard. If you have questions go talk to the administration and teachers. You will be surprised at the great things this school is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

I will be a senior this year. I'm excited and nervous to leave. I don't feel prepared for college or the world. The class sizes are large. Some teachers go above and beyond while others....do not. They school picks favorites and there are a lot of fights/drugs. The schools motto is "caring and effective". Personally I'm tired of hearing the principal tell us how much she loves us. There is a lot of extracurricular activities though. I can't say how the sports teams are because I've never joined one. The fine arts are and music are awesome though. we have academies that are supposed to help guide us to our future careers but honestly they don't do anything. Maybe this year will be better? I doubt it though.


Posted September 12, 2013

The administration at Marana High School plays favorites and gets involved in teen drama. They discriminate against kids who come from disadvantaged backgrounds. The athletic director is really bad about making it difficult for certain kinds of kids to participate in sports even when they meet all requirements. The principal is not responsive to parents and ignores problems. I would not trust a child with these people. Some of the teachers are really great, but the administration does not support them or respect their opinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

I am a a former student and graduate of Marana High School (MHS). I am beyond grateful for the encouragement, pressure, expectations and more importantly- guidance that this public school not only offered but provided to me. Only graduating 3 years ago (2008); I am almost completed with my Bachelors Degree, work for the Federal Gov't (for over 2 and a half years) and was a brand new homeowner at age 19. Parents can only push a child to do their best to an extent; MHS's devoted teachers pushed even further. Each student makes a school their own; but at MHS it was hard to not have higher goals. I have always needed "pressure" due to a lack of motivation; MHS had that. Peer pressure, Academy pressure, instructor pressure, pressure to represent yourself, your Academy and your Instructors in a high manner. I am VERY proud to have been a Marana High School Tiger and even more proud to have been in the Marana MedStart Academy. The academics really do help a student focus on a future far beyond high school and even college- they force a career (not a job) to be set in every students' mind. This was a very powerful tool. The student diversity was healthy and respectful to each other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2011

I am a parent of a freshman and at the begining of the school year when parents were asked to attend the opening enrollment, it all sounded great I was excited to think that my son would have resources at hand to help if he were to fall behind in a subject. He has needed extra help and the school promised me that they would be there and keep communication open between myself and the teachers. That has not worked out so well. I see his frustration and its difficult as a parent to stand by. They claim there students are college ready but what about the here and now. One step at a time this is his first year in High School and he already feels lost in his work. Wheres all the resources that was promised at the begining. No student left behind......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

this school does not deserve a rating. teachers do not grade properly, academies aren't doing anything, and there is no challenging academic programs
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2010

I am a ex-student of Marana High School. I graduated in 2007. I must say while the school is great 'socially', academically the school needs severe improvement. When I attended Marana I took a CP classes, graduated, only to still test lower in college. I was very disappointed and did not feel that Marana High School prepared me for the future or college. I am not getting ready to graduate from college, and I must say it has been a struggle. My sister now attends Marana and from what I hear it has not changed much, if anything it sounds worse!! I wish you all good luck at Marana High School.


Posted April 4, 2010

This is a great school for a college-bound student. Marana High School has made excellent efforts to identify and track excelling students. Additionally, they have an academy system which allows students to thrive in a small learning community. The wide variety of course offerings this high school has is tremendous, and insures your high school student will be ready for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

I am a senior of this high school and I am proud of it, but at the same time I am not. The quality of the education at this school is average, but that is depending on what kind of education and from what kind of teachers you are going to get. Some teachers are above excellent, and some teachers are not. There are times when the student may get frustrated because of way the teacher may teach, but the student has a lot of resources and opportunities to get over such obstacles. Drugs are prone, fights are common, but there are things in Marana that really shines out. The amount of help available is more then accommodating, and many teachers are willing to go out of their way to help. Students who are unable to find such teachers just simply did not try hard enough, that is all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2009

I am a now a current 10th grade student at Marana High School. I also feel like I get no help from all of my teachers. The better teachers do shine out better then the ones that dont. Last year was not the best year with all of the fights but i hope that this year will be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

Ive been going here for two years now and i am not happy, i feel i have no help in my classes and i feel i am and will not be ready for college if i stay at this school for much longer
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2007

My son is going there for 2 years almost now and I am not very happy with the school. I ben trying to get help from the principal but with no luck and help , some of the teachers try very hard and some dont even care about there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Overall, the school is ok and will probably get better with the influx of middle class families into the Marana area. My oldest son, who is about to graduate from ASU, was not at all well prepared for the rigors of college, so that was disappointing, but he ended up doing fine at ASU, though not because of preparation at high school. Extracurricular activities abound, but participation, particularly in football, is limited. Many students are from farming/ranching families and are prone to participating in animal husbandry and rodeo.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12000 W. Emigh
Tucson, AZ 85743
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 616-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



A. C. E.
Marana, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT