Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marion Donaldson Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
All of the staff at Donaldson are amazing! We have had only positive experiences with all of them.

Marion Donaldson Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely AMAZING staff at this school!!! We switched from home schooling out of state due to a poor experience at public school in our small, rural state to public school at Donaldson. We thought in a good-sized city like Tucson we wouldn't have a good experience, but both of our children love it and are thriving. The staff here are the most caring, compassionate, and nurturing people. We feel so very lucky to have found such a wonderful school so full of people who truly care about their students AND families. If I could give TEN stars I would!!


Marion Donaldson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Miss Greenberg and Mrs. Jacobs because they learned how to teach the way she learned and showed her how to blossom as a student and that means the world to me as a parent. A big thank you to them!

Marion Donaldson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I believe that they do. I volunteer in the classroom one time a week and I see first hand what they do for the students and if you want to see what they do please see for yourself.

Marion Donaldson Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My child is in the special needs but also integrated into the other classroom with the other students in the 1st grade and I love that the school does that because it helps her feel accepted. The teachers at the school are amazing and really should get recognized for the hard work that they put in everyday because they do work hard for their students. They have assemblies every month and do spirit weeks and each class tries to win a spirit stick it is quite cute. My daughter has not felt more comfortable at a school than she has at Donaldson. I would not put her anywhere else but here. One thing that I wish they could add and I know that they wish they did have too would be more sport activities and clubs for the littler guys. She has learned to be herself and learned to be part of the community of her peers and be a part of a team.


Marion Donaldson Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
I've had 3 children attend Donaldson and have always found the administration and teachers willing to find ways to academically challenge my child. In the last two years there have been many more activities and opportunities for the students. I love the after school clubs. It is a very welcoming and caring community.

Marion Donaldson Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Seven years into my 2 girls at Donaldson. Both my girls have had a positive learning and social experience at this school. Could not ask for anything more. Change in leadership a few times with the current Principal being in her second year. The teachers have all been fabulous for my girls. The school has a small, secure feeling to it... Love it.

Marion Donaldson Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
This school is on top of what is going on in the community. They are always having dinner nights out at Subways or even other restaurants. The PTO is getting better in including the younger children as my daughter is in Kindergarten. I know in preschool last year they were not included in many of the school fundraisers that they were having. The nurse there is always ready to answer any questions that you are having. We also have a new principal this year so haven't had any problems so far.


Marion Donaldson Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
Donaldson Elementary was a major let down. The teacher my son had was very helpful in the beginning but at the end of year ended up acting like the staff and principle, gossip and very inappropriate comments made to my 6 year old about me, his mother. My son complained of others kids bullying him and when I brought the issue up to the staff and teacher they would pretty much say my son was lying and that there were no issues of children bullying. Last year Kindegarden had tuition and after major medical issues and major surgeries I could not afford it and the one staff member that was helping me put together payment plans and taking some tuiton off ended up resigning and I was back to being harrased by the principle about making payments to tuition in full. I later found out that the principle had the power to help with the tuition and even lower the amount owed but with me would not lower the tuition at all. When I visited the principle regarding my issues with the school and the comments the teacher and secretary in office were making to my son she only wanted to bring up tuition owed and decided to take my son out of full time K to part time starting that min.

Marion Donaldson Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
great teachers, safe school, responsible teachers, nice students, all very talented. safe school bus drivers!!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marion Donaldson Elementary School
2040 W Omar Dr, Tucson, AZ  85704
(520) 696-5000
Last modified Marion Donaldson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marion Donaldson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top