Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mesquite Elementary School

Charter | K-5

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

Mesquite is an excellent school. My two children both attend and have excelled there. The teachers are too notch. I would highly recommend Mesquite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

#1 school in the Vail District and the Vail School District is ranked at #1 in Arizona. A+ twice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

i attended this school when i young overall it is the best school i have been to the faculty was great the food excelent and the education program was superior than all others i have been to


Posted June 18, 2010

Over-all, I'm very pleased with my child's progress with this school. If I were to offer one suggestion, however, it would be that I'd like to see the teacher to parent communication line a little more, well, 'more'... There are times when I feel a bit out of the loop of what's going on with my child's classes. At my child's previous school, updates on what was going on came home every Monday stating what was on the agenda for the week. And then, every Friday another update came home with a brief overview on how my child did during the week. I really liked that, during the weekend we could review anything that my child may have had trouble with, and start reading about some of the upcoming studies to get a jump-start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I have three children that all attend Mesquite. We have been at this school for five years and we love it! Mesquite is an excelling school and has just received the 2nd A+ rating. Mesquite is the only school to have received it twice... let alone two years in a row!! I would give Mesquite 10 stars if I could!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My daughter has attended Mesquite under the 'open enrollment' program for 3 years now. My daughter has some learning challenges and all her teachers have worked with me to make my daughter's learning experience a positive one. I have had very open communication with all 3 of my child's teachers. She currently has Mrs. Hollywood and I could not be more please with her progress! Although our school does several fund raisers a year they all benefit the children and the school. The PTSA at our school is always willing to explain the reason for the fund raiser to anyone who asks. The field trips are not part of the PTSA, but come from the general fund and that has been cut drastically. This is true for all public schools in AZ right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My child is in the 1st grade. She has had a hard time adjusting to the amount of work and testing this school does. The teachers don't make the parents feel apart of the school. Half way through the year and have not had one program put on by the kids or field trip. But, every week is a new fund raising program going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I am so happy with my child at Mesquite! My oldest just finished 3rd grade. Ms. Irby is the best teacher I have seen! She builds their self esteem while teaching in a caring productive environment. My daughter cried when the year was over and wanted to stay back to be in her class again. My youngest starts kindergarten there this next year, and I was very impressed with the kindergarten round-up. She was so scared but they made her comfortable and she is actually looking forward to starting school. I would recommend Mesquite to anyone! They run a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

Excellent school - beyond excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

Coming from an excelling district and school in Ohio, this district pales in comparison, but I believe it's the best offered in this area. My son strived to be 'average' in OH, but here is all A's and one B. He had required an IEP before, but here, was transitioned out because it was not needed, which I believe is related to the easier curriculum-the challenge is missing. I'm pleased my son is doing well and no longer requires add'l help, but I wonder at what cost. Will he be prepared for the next school? We are military and move frequently, so I am very aware of the potential for difficulties later on. It's not as much about this district or school, but the school system in general in AZ. Overall, the teachers are great and very caring. They encourage parental involvement and are prompt to return messages and address concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

My son attended the preschool here. The staff is amazing. The amounts of knowledge that he learned while attending was exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

Good academics. Developing extracurricular programs. Great parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

My kindergardner and third grader go to this school and I have absolutely loved it. There is a lot of homework given. There is a lot of parent involvement. I am very pleased with the results my children get from this school. I just wish they had uniforms next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Great School! Excellent staff & teachers. My child does real well at this school and my child has an I.E.P. This school follows all its resposibilities and takes learning seriously!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

Mesquite elem. offers families a wonderful educational experience. There is terrific activities throughout the year. 'Bell to bell' learning is encouraged. We have a 'special needs' son and this school is great about providing him with services. We also love the year-round schedule!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

I have had 2 children attend this school for two years. I have been extremely pleased with the staff, leadership, and programs. One daughter started here in the preschool program for special needs children. It was a wonderful experience. For kindergarten she had progressed so much that she was discharged from the special needs program. The only thing I would like to see improved is the program for accelerated students. They do have a program, but it is only for a very select few students. My son didn't quite make it into the program. But, he could have benefited from a few extras in another way. This has been an incredible school, and now that we are moving out of state I am having a very hard time finding a school that can even come close to the quality of this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

For 5 years our child has attended Mesquite he has rec'd total encouragement in all aspects of his learning. He has rec'd outstanding guidance and understanding from all of his teachers, and he has continuously been encouraged to recognize the importance of education, self-discipline, hard work and excellence. In the Stanford test he has scored in the top 2 percent nationally in 3 areas and in the top 5 percent in the remainder of the areas he was tested. He is in the 4th grade and has been assessed at reading at the 5.9 grade level. What more can you say?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 30% 42%
Black 6% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9455 E. Rita Road
Tucson, AZ 85747
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 762-2040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT