Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Rose Academy

Charter | 9-12

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2014

Great school...if you want your kids goofing off online and looking at porn all day. My kid earned ONE HALF of a credit all year. After all the arguments, he told me they would use "proxy" sites and surf wherever they wanted...and nobody cared. Occasionally kids got kicked out, but THEY DO NOT MONITOR YOUR KIDS ONLINE. The first time it was brought to my attention about only having a half credit was two weeks before school was out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2014

My daughter does not fit in with traditional schools. She has ADHD and Aspergers and keeping up with all of the directives was tough. At Mountain Rose, she stays on track, gets the work done at her pace and passes her classes. I closely monitor her work and it is not easy. She is forced to read, write papers, and go through and learn lots of material. It is a perfect solution for her unique challenges. It is an outstanding solution for kids that need an alternative setting for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

This school has high teacher turnover. It's not a great environment to be a teacher because they don't give you much educational or philosophical freedom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 15, 2011

This is a self-paced computer school and the kids are allowed to play video games all day. Not very academic.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 24, 2010

I am a student in mountain rose academy, I've been in and out of schools not because i was a tourble maker but because I WAS NOT HAPPY at all. All my others just didnt understand me AT ALL. i was in a point of giving up and droping out but my mom made me go to mountain rose if i wasnt underage i wouldnt of came, but i was glad i did. the students there dont bother me, the teachers never leave your side untill you understand. the best part is that you get to pick a time to come in. the times are 7am to 12pm, 12pm to 5pm, 5pm to 10pm... if you are unhappy in a normal school then maybe this school is for you..the only thing left to say is.... THIS SCHOOL IS AWESOME!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

The reason I love Mountain Rose High School, is because we moved to Tucson, Az., 3 years ago and my son who was then 16, really had no interest in school. I was determined that he should get his high school diploma and found this high school. The interest that the teachers take in the students is amazing. My son's attitude towards school changed and even though he was seriously behind in his studies, the teachers motivated him so much that he finished high school at the time that he should have. This was even with his father passing away, a few months before graduation. What is my son doing now? He is attending Pima Community College and will be getting his Associates Degree next year in BioChem and he is hoping to get accepted into the UofA premed program. All this from a teen who hated school and had gotten behind. Thank you Mountain Rose for motivating my son and making him believe that he could do it!!! I am forever in your debt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

This is a great school for my two children to attend. Both were behind on credit, but one of my sons was able to graduate a whole year early. The teachers are helpful with their one-on-one attention and the principals and administration are amazing at answering questions and helping fit their school to each student's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

My wife works full-time and so could not attend a traditional high school. Mountain Rose helped her get her diploma. A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 34% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3686 W. Orange Grove Rd. 192
Tucson, AZ 85741
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 797-4884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT