Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain Rose Academy 1

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Great school...if you want your kids goofing off online and looking at porn all day. My kid earned ONE HALF of a credit all year. After all the arguments, he told me they would use "proxy" sites and surf wherever they wanted...and nobody cared. Occasionally kids got kicked out, but THEY DO NOT MONITOR YOUR KIDS ONLINE. The first time it was brought to my attention about only having a half credit was two weeks before school was out.

Mountain Rose Academy 4

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
My daughter does not fit in with traditional schools. She has ADHD and Aspergers and keeping up with all of the directives was tough. At Mountain Rose, she stays on track, gets the work done at her pace and passes her classes. I closely monitor her work and it is not easy. She is forced to read, write papers, and go through and learn lots of material. It is a perfect solution for her unique challenges. It is an outstanding solution for kids that need an alternative setting for school.


Mountain Rose Academy 1

Posted May 15, 2011
- a teacher
This school has high teacher turnover. It's not a great environment to be a teacher because they don't give you much educational or philosophical freedom.

Mountain Rose Academy 1

Posted May 15, 2011
- a teacher
This is a self-paced computer school and the kids are allowed to play video games all day. Not very academic.

Mountain Rose Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2010
- a student
I am a student in mountain rose academy, I've been in and out of schools not because i was a tourble maker but because I WAS NOT HAPPY at all. All my others just didnt understand me AT ALL. i was in a point of giving up and droping out but my mom made me go to mountain rose if i wasnt underage i wouldnt of came, but i was glad i did. the students there dont bother me, the teachers never leave your side untill you understand. the best part is that you get to pick a time to come in. the times are 7am to 12pm, 12pm to 5pm, 5pm to 10pm... if you are unhappy in a normal school then maybe this school is for you..the only thing left to say is.... THIS SCHOOL IS AWESOME!!!!!!


Mountain Rose Academy
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The reason I love Mountain Rose High School, is because we moved to Tucson, Az., 3 years ago and my son who was then 16, really had no interest in school. I was determined that he should get his high school diploma and found this high school. The interest that the teachers take in the students is amazing. My son's attitude towards school changed and even though he was seriously behind in his studies, the teachers motivated him so much that he finished high school at the time that he should have. This was even with his father passing away, a few months before graduation. What is my son doing now? He is attending Pima Community College and will be getting his Associates Degree next year in BioChem and he is hoping to get accepted into the UofA premed program. All this from a teen who hated school and had gotten behind. Thank you Mountain Rose for motivating my son and making him believe that he could do it!!! I am forever in your debt.

Mountain Rose Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
This is a great school for my two children to attend. Both were behind on credit, but one of my sons was able to graduate a whole year early. The teachers are helpful with their one-on-one attention and the principals and administration are amazing at answering questions and helping fit their school to each student's needs.

Mountain Rose Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2004
- a parent
My wife works full-time and so could not attend a traditional high school. Mountain Rose helped her get her diploma. A great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Rose Academy
3686 W. Orange Grove Rd. 192, Tucson, AZ  85741
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (520) 797-4884
Last modified Mountain Rose Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12
Top