Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Grove Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 600 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

How can the staff at Orange Grove middle school allow or permit a child to return to school after this child brought a water bottle filled with Vodka to school???? Only thing done about it was expelled for a month. WOW!!!!!! Parents be aware that the staff at orange grove do not care about the well being of your children. They only care about their status and pay " which isn't much by the way " but are not qualified at a real school that has ethics.


Posted January 23, 2014

I have a child in 7th grade at Orange Grove Middle School, and I LOVE it. She also loves it! The school and learning environment are wonderful -- excellent teachers, great band, strong athletics, lots of technology that is well-integrated into the classes, etc. I can't say enough good things about the education my child is getting and especially what smart, kind, creative, and caring teachers she has. They really seem to love their job, and they actually make learning fun for my child -- imagine that!!! Even when an issue comes up -- which is very rare -- everyone sincerely seems to care about fixing it. Exactly what a great middle school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

This is an awesome school it is the best around every one is nice the teachers are very qualified there are so many after school classes that are great and not to expensive it is the best middle school there is out there you should come.


Posted May 23, 2012

i would not recommend this school. It has quite frankly been the worse school experience I have had with my three children. My son has been constantly blamed for things that he did not do, as he is outgoing and has tended to be the class clown. The principal marked him for three years for anything and everything around the school. He almost has a nervous breakdown his final few weeks of school The school counselor is great and a good. MY son was t tested and he was off the charts academically. The teachers are very good and academically sound and seem to care about their students. Girls are favored and get away with inappropriate dress code and behavior without any actions taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

A lot of behavioral problems at this school since open enrollment began. Kids get tossed out class, suspended, expelled, and are disrespectful to teachers. It's hard for kids who really want to learn. The dress code is not enforced and girls come to school dressed very inappropriately. Most bathrooms are locked b/c of graffiti.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Recent frequent turnover in the administration. I was very excited when my child transferred to this school in 6th grade, but found the environment to be more competitive than supportive. While some of this is to be expected as children advance through their school years, labeling children problems when they are not being adequately challenged in their classes, being bullied or suffering other aspects of being a newer student in a very clique-ish district can't be ignored. As a parent, I did not voice my concerns the first year. This past year it became necessary to address some issues that were for the most part ignored. This might partly be due to the unstable administration. Looking forward to the change next year and hoping this might bring a more open and supportive atmosphere back to the campus of this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Stressful and exhausting are probably what sums up this school most of the time for me while the academics process I feel is at times superior for our grade level it usually is either easy,hard or just not given enough overview on what the task at hand is during class. Students with behavior issues are often given warnings and referrals as we call them but eventually teachers and administrators stop caring causing a very peer conscious atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2009

this school is a very good school with a great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

This school happens to be a very good school with students much more mellow here than my precious school in California, I feel that there definitely time for us to socialize and there are dances here, but they are known as 'Socials'
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

Orange Grove is a very supportive enviroment for the young teen interested in excelling academically. The teachers are often seen supporting students at after school functions and make every opportunity to encourage and mentor this important period of our childrens lives. We moved from Chicago and are so pleased to meet many Tucsonans who fondly recall the middle school years at Orange Grove. The school has high expectations of the students. The respect the students show the teachers is unparrelled in any middle school setting I've observed as we selected a school for our daughter. Orange Grove students have a proven track record of becoming leaders in valued community activities. The sustained positive interactions with the principal and the dean have fostered a safe enviroment for our young people to develop the life skills they need to continue standing up to peer pressure while enjoying a strong academic enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

There are too many classes in one day for this age group and the time for the classes are short so the student skims and has to catch up at home. Classes start too early for the teenager. Children do not have time to socialize. This is a school with competitive parents that push their children acadamically and do not think of the social side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I happen to go to this scool and think it is the best. I love all my teachers and fellow students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2006

Orange Grove Middle School is one of the best in Arizona! The teachers are very creative in engaging the children. There is a band program, which I really like, and the instructor is great and knows how the get the kids into it. The children carry eight classes, and Spanish or French is one of the required class, as is PE every day, which I think is great for the kids. The schools performance in science, reading and math are all great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

It's an alright school. Probably one of the top public school's in Tucson. It has pretty good education, but lacks social oppurtunites, such as recess or dances.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2005

This school places a strong focus on rigorous academics. The history and english departments have an innovative approach to teaching humanities.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 5, 2003

ogms adminsitrative team works with staff and parents to create an academically challenging, safe environment for students. an active family/faculty organization ensures parent involvement in a many aspects of the ogms community. teachers work in teams to monitor/guarantee the success of each child on campus.


Posted April 26, 2003

The discipline in this school needs improvement. Its amazing how many times one student can disobey teachers, harrass other students via telephone and still be able to attend with minimum consequences. My child will not be back next year.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1911 E Orange Grove Rd
Tucson, AZ 85718
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 209-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT