Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pistor Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1035 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2011

Ok, I just started Pistor this year and am in the bilingual GATE program. I love ALL of my teachers, and am really pleased with my education!! Pistor is an amazing school, and if you want to believe the other comments and not send your child to this school, go ahead, but I extremely LOVE Pistor and I believe your child would too. Go Panthers!!!=)


Posted May 6, 2011

You only have to read the reviews by students and unfortunately many parents to see that writing is not a subject which is taken very seriously in this community. I've spent time in the classrooms and while this school is head and shoulders above Valencia and Hohokam (not much of a distinction), the level of achievement in basic writing is distressingly low. Of course society needs people to labor at fast food places, dig ditches, and populate prisons, but if you have higher aspirations for your kids, you should consider other options. These comments don't apply to GATE programs, which are across the board quite good at TUSD.


Posted November 19, 2010

Pretty good school the teachers are good the prinipals are ok but the school feels like a JAIL!!!!! You can hardly do anything to do with sports unless your on a team or in P.E.. What really gets me mad is that you arnt alowed to play football. As we joke around the school is so conserned with saftey that they dont let us have any fun. Overall great at teaching and education but 2 fences to enclose the school Just seems like it is a jail.


Posted December 16, 2009

I have had two children go through Pistor. Both were in the GATE program and involved in various music programs: band, choir, dance, etc. The teachers, especially the music teachers, did a wonderful job and both children are now excelling in high school. Some very involved parents and of course because of size some very poor parenting. The teachers overall do a good job and the admin. was always there when I was at the school. The GATE program was outstanding and remains so today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

So far I have not been to impressed with the principal, assistant principals, & couselors. It seems that everytime you bring something up that happened you the innocent seem to always get in trouble also. The 6th grade teachers are great they seem to be involved with the students I wish I could say the same for the administration part of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

i went there for three years and was in gate bilingual the teachers i had were really good or at least decent i really liked pistor but staff are not the best there unreasonable at times and really strict some teachers are not good at all principle is good but is always busy' and never has time to help parents when they need to there are a lot of downs and maybe a few ups..like gate and chorus dance ect. overall this in my opinion is an exceptional school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I am so disillusioned with this school. My child is in 8th grade and although some of the teachers are nice and really seem to enjoy teaching, a few of them are just plain mean-spirited and seem to be just looking for reasons to give infractions or detentions or bad grades. Teaching is not always black and white and it's not all about getting your school up to performing or higher. There are students who may need extra help or who don't have the same resources that others may have. There is a way to be firm with children without being mean and making them feel like they are worth nothing. Perhaps some of that precious teacher development they have on early out Wednesdays should be devoted to teaching the teachers how to be human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

i love pistor its fun and the teachers really do care if your grades are failing!!!i dont care what other people think about it sometimes they just dont really discipline you but it really is a very good school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

I'd say good teachers ,I have no trouble in school honor roll all 4 quarters, its just that some of the student are lazy and wont get of their behinds and do any work ,but I went to this school all three years 6th 7th and 8th so i know what I'm talking about. They take dress code to seroius its kind of stupid .Over all I think its a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

Very poor school. The student can expect a dumbed down education. The goal seem to be to provide students with the illusion that they are receiving an education which will enable them to compete when in actuality, it only sends them down a path to academic mediocrity. This school was the single most influential factor toward our decision to home school our children. Tucson Unified School District has now installed chain locks on all school access gates so that it is not possible to access school grounds. That to me does not bode well as to the worthiness of this school as a place where a student can feel safe. The assistant principal and a school monitor recently visited my home asking if their students had been littering my yard which I had to answer in the affirmative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I am very disappointed in this school. As a caring parent I have received no support from the teachers. My once straight A student is now failing and the teachers don't seem to care. One of his teachers has said constantly how busy she is and how she doesn't have time to input grades or contact parents. By the way she is the 3rd language arts teacher he has had this year not to mention he has had 2 or 3 different math teachers. They cant even keep teachers! I refuse to send my son to this school for two more years and will do everything I can to get him into another school. I suggest to any parent wanting to send their child to Pistor Don't!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

What parent envolvement? This school is so concerned with their damn dress codes that they spend more time with that than teaching the kids! The bullying goes on and on despite their meager efforts to preach to the kids. If I had my choice neither of my children would have attended this poorly run school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

Pistor is a great school that has very dedicated teachers. The school has had many changes in principals, however not a single one left because of PISTOR or the STUDENTS. This year we are lucky enough to have a returning prinicpal who is very progressive and active. I have seen many of the teachers give it there all everyday and then 25% more on top of that to facilitate learning for the students. This school has more students than any other middle school and is provided much less by the district. It operates with 1200 students and only 3 monitors. The monitors work with all heart, but that many students is a tough job. Pistor also has a full time gate class and also bilingual gate class. The Band, orchestra and chorus teachers could not be more dedicated to these students if they tried. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

My children have been going here for about 5 years. The quality of education is terrible. Parent involvment is non-existent as is the leadeship of princpals and teachers. The number of kids that have been suspended continues to rise every year. It seemed the teachers have absolutely no control over the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I beleive all and all that Pistor is a pretty good middle school. There are a few things that occur that I totally disagree with for instants, - It is my understanding that when a child receives a poor grade from a test that he or she is aloud to re-take the test to try and acheive a better score. Well the kids know that they get two chance so they don't give 100% the first time around. They will have a very rude awakening when they get into High School and College to find out that there are no second chances. I think the only thing that they are learning from this is how to procrastinate, I truly beleive that you learn by mistakes. I think for the most part that nothing good can come out of this form of instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

Pistor has gone through a lot of great changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 86% 43%
White 6% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 908-5411

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5455 S. Cardinal
Tucson, AZ 85746
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mccorkle Pk-8
Tucson, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT