Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,035

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pistor Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a community member
Ok, I just started Pistor this year and am in the bilingual GATE program. I love ALL of my teachers, and am really pleased with my education!! Pistor is an amazing school, and if you want to believe the other comments and not send your child to this school, go ahead, but I extremely LOVE Pistor and I believe your child would too. Go Panthers!!!=)

Pistor Middle School 2

Posted May 06, 2011
- a community member
You only have to read the reviews by students and unfortunately many parents to see that writing is not a subject which is taken very seriously in this community. I've spent time in the classrooms and while this school is head and shoulders above Valencia and Hohokam (not much of a distinction), the level of achievement in basic writing is distressingly low. Of course society needs people to labor at fast food places, dig ditches, and populate prisons, but if you have higher aspirations for your kids, you should consider other options. These comments don't apply to GATE programs, which are across the board quite good at TUSD.


Pistor Middle School 4

Posted November 19, 2010
- a community member
Pretty good school the teachers are good the prinipals are ok but the school feels like a JAIL!!!!! You can hardly do anything to do with sports unless your on a team or in P.E.. What really gets me mad is that you arnt alowed to play football. As we joke around the school is so conserned with saftey that they dont let us have any fun. Overall great at teaching and education but 2 fences to enclose the school Just seems like it is a jail.

Pistor Middle School 1

Posted April 27, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pistor Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 16, 2009
- a parent
I have had two children go through Pistor. Both were in the GATE program and involved in various music programs: band, choir, dance, etc. The teachers, especially the music teachers, did a wonderful job and both children are now excelling in high school. Some very involved parents and of course because of size some very poor parenting. The teachers overall do a good job and the admin. was always there when I was at the school. The GATE program was outstanding and remains so today.


Pistor Middle School 2

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
So far I have not been to impressed with the principal, assistant principals, & couselors. It seems that everytime you bring something up that happened you the innocent seem to always get in trouble also. The 6th grade teachers are great they seem to be involved with the students I wish I could say the same for the administration part of the school

Pistor Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a student
i went there for three years and was in gate bilingual the teachers i had were really good or at least decent i really liked pistor but staff are not the best there unreasonable at times and really strict some teachers are not good at all principle is good but is always busy' and never has time to help parents when they need to there are a lot of downs and maybe a few ups..like gate and chorus dance ect. overall this in my opinion is an exceptional school.

Pistor Middle School 3

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
I am so disillusioned with this school. My child is in 8th grade and although some of the teachers are nice and really seem to enjoy teaching, a few of them are just plain mean-spirited and seem to be just looking for reasons to give infractions or detentions or bad grades. Teaching is not always black and white and it's not all about getting your school up to performing or higher. There are students who may need extra help or who don't have the same resources that others may have. There is a way to be firm with children without being mean and making them feel like they are worth nothing. Perhaps some of that precious teacher development they have on early out Wednesdays should be devoted to teaching the teachers how to be human beings.


Pistor Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
i love pistor its fun and the teachers really do care if your grades are failing!!!i dont care what other people think about it sometimes they just dont really discipline you but it really is a very good school!!

Pistor Middle School 1

Posted August 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pistor Middle School
5455 S. Cardinal, Tucson, AZ  85746
(520) 225-6060
Last modified Pistor Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pistor Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top