Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pueblo High Magnet School

Public | 9-12 | 1706 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

this school is simply the best. it is way better than Tucson high I recommend this school too everyone. it has fine academics and great mariachi bands.the kids get so much help from there teachers and they help meet the potential. if you want your daughter or son too succeed I recommend pueblo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

Pueblo has a strong community of teachers who are willing to help students meet their potential. When I recall attending Pueblo I remember teachers always pushing me to become a better student and to achieve my goals. Being an alumni of Pueblo High School I have heard expansion of many of the programs there (specifically from the science department) but have not kept up with recent accomplishments of students or faculty. As for the bad reputation I can say this with absolute certainty; the bad reputation only exists because of a small percentage of students who are not keen on success. As for the mariachi program, they are pretty good. Just wish I could say the same about some of their athletic teams (and i say that with love :) )


Posted September 7, 2012

This high school literally has the best mariachi in the nation. Like, literally. They always have. The newest band director told me he heard about the mariachi program YEARS before he heard of the actual school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2012

i like school, i like school, this school is amazing and fun to go to. the environment is amazing and the teachers are very nice and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2010

Publo high magnet school a great school. Great principal, great teachers and awsome students. Pueblo's principal has the potential to take good responsibility. Teacher are always ready to teach and students are ready to learn. GREAT SCHOOL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

I'm a former student. I only stay for 1 year. Thanks god i didnt stay more time. Before i came to Pueblo, my middle school teachers recommend me to go different school. I couldnt tranfer different school because three generations in my family came to Pueblo. The teachers teach the subject poorly. i didnt learn nothing they were rude. i went to private school in the mid-west. I notice the different. I was happy i graduate in different school. If you cant moved out tucson. I believe you should go Marana or Tucson H.S accoding to my teachers recomendation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2010

I'm a student at Pueblo Magnet High School, and I transferred to Pueblo from a Business Magnet school in San Antonio, Texas. When I first came here I thought it was the worst thing to happen to me because I was forced to move and I didn't hear many positive things about Pueblo. But after the years, I've grown to LOVE Pueblo, and if it was up to me now I would have NOT changed the past because I've become a better student and a better leader because of Pueblo. They invited me in with open arms, and now I'm President of 3 clubs including Band, DECA and the African American Culture Club, a member of the National Honor Society, and Winter Guard. Not only that, but I'm enrolled in 2 AP (rigorous) classes. It's my Senior year, but I'll be a WARRIOR FOR LIFE! =D
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2006

Im a former student from Pueblo and I believe that it is a grets school. A lot of people talk bad about the school only because of where it is located, but the location doesnt change the quality of the school, students, or staff... I had a lot of substitute teachers tell us that they were amazed by what a great school it was despite all the bad comments they had heard. I personally learned a lot. My teachers were awesome, they were very helpful and fun, but at the same time had the discipline I needed to get a good education. All my siblings and other family members have also graduated from this school and they feel the same way. Dont talk bad about the school until you've been there, it'll change your mind. Pueblo might have a bad reputation, but its truly a great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2003

I was a student who graduated in 1989. I was given the opportunity to learn, however was never pushed by family nor teachers. Some teachers cared, however most did not. It is a tragedy to see that some teachers have just given up with this generation. I read the papers and see that Pueblo High School does not get high marks. Give the teachers a raise and treat them like human beings and I guarantee you will get results.


Posted September 24, 2003

This school is such a great school. So many people talk bad about this school but they will never know what its really like until they actually step foot on the campus of Pueblo.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 89% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
White 4% 42%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 S. 12th Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85713
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cape School-Jail
Tucson, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT