Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richard B Wilson Jr School

Public | PK-8 | 1116 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

School is too strict and standards are low. My daughter is not challenged and finds subjects are too easy. There is a lack of parent communication, and staff and workers lack a lot of empathy. The students have no manners, are snobby, rude and cheat on tests. I dont recommend this school.


Posted July 30, 2013

I have 2 kids that attend Wilson, one in the middle school and one in elementary. I am very impressed with the teacher quality here, more than other schools I have had experience with. I love that they do many community activities such as a chilli cook-off in the fall and a spring festival every year with rides and games. The school is proactive about getting parents involved, and have good communication with weekly emails and facebook updates, as well as parent portal for the older kids to check their assignments and grades. Our assigned home schools are good schools (Mesa Verde and Cross), but we chose to open enroll our kids here (we live just acroos the road from the Wilson assigned attendance area) since it is such a quality school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

Lots of parental involvement. However, administrators lack communication skills, empathy, fairness. They love the parents that are always there but the working parents are treated like they are absent parents and their kids are troubled. Too quick to judge. Also, majority students anglo, lots of discrimination at the junior high level within students, lots of weed, too many latch key kids with money and too much alone time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I took my daughters out of a private school which cost me $24K a year for both and enrolled them at Wilson 5 years ago and could not be happier. The teachers are great, the administration is wonderful, and it has one of the highest parent participation rates in the country. I have yet to have a single bad teacher and feel that any concerns I have ever had are quickly dealt with in a professional manner. The curriculum is more than appropriate and both of my daughters who due to birthdays are actually a year younger than their classmates have tested at exceeds standards in all areas. I feel the test scores are due in a large part to the excellent staff at Wilson. Had I not lived near the school I would have opted to keep my children in a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

This school has the worst communication skills with parents and prospective parents. Administration shows area bias when open enrolling. I was told that since I live in Eagle Crest my child would not be a good "fit" there and to try Coronado. I simply wanted to put my child in a school where he had friends. So fair warning if you come from Catalina area those at Wilson k-8 think you are trash and should not attend


Posted November 22, 2011

This is a awesome school I have gone here 1 and a half years and it is wonderful


Posted August 16, 2011

Not so impressed. We moved from out of state and my kids were in all advanced classes and getting them put in the correct classes here was more than a hassle. They tested them and agreed where they needed to be but the communication between staff and departments is lacking. My 8th grader's schedule had to be sent back 3 times to get corrected. The office staff is not friendly or helpful and acts annoyed if you ask any questions. They charge for full day kindergarten (i guess typical for AZ) but if you choose to go with half day instead then your child misses out on Art, PE, Music, Library and Computer. If you end up going to this school just make sure you are a pro-active parent and skip all the middle men by going directly to the principle Mr. Hannah as that is the only way anything will get taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I attended Wilson as a 7-8 grader and returned later in life as a student teacher and then a teacher for a year. Grat experience from both perspectives and can't wait to get back there to teach in the future!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2009

Great school, great teachers, make this a wonderful school to transition to high school. I can't think of any aspect to even be critical of in my evaluation. We are proud that our children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

This school is excellent! I am in the 8th grade and I have been going here my whole life! The teachers and the education is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2009

I am an 8th grader at Wilson K-8 and it is an excellent school. The 3 years I have spent at Wilson have been both fun and educational. The school offers many extracurricular activities and takes a considerable amount of field trips. The school's show choir is amazing and has been my highlight at Wilson K-8. The honors classes are also great. I only have a few complaints about Wilson... First would be the teaching-style of a few teachers. Some teachers don't explain much and leave a ton of extra research to be done in the library and outside of school. There is also no time to go to the library and computer lab and the rules can be extremely strict at times. Overall, Wilson has been a positive experience and deserves a 4/5 rating.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

I have had four children attend Wilson and find it to be an overall excellent experience. The office staff is friendly and courteous and try to put the students at ease at all times. The teaching staff is of the highest quality. The administration is great and care about the well being of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I sent my children here and they love it they say that this is the best school, there teachers are very nice, all the acttivities here are creative, and the parents are pretty much involved in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

My daughter and son both attended Wilson. Although there is heavy parental involvement, many kids are treated like just another number if their parents can't be as involved. Certain teachers are allowed to treat children badly with principal approval. My son had his self esteem crushed here by a teacher who told him he was worthless and a principal labeling him as a bad kid because he got beat up on the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Everyone is fabulous here. The teachers are wonderful, the parents are so involved. My kids love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

Everyone is so friendly here! Great kids, great office staff, great teachers! A bit of a culture shock from the last amphi school where everyone was so critical and cliquish there was never anyone to talk to there. Best move we ever make
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

I attend Wilson School. I originally started in kindergarten, and am now in my nineth year there. Parents are very involved, especially in the elementary, MOST of the staff is great...especially all of the seventh and eighth grade teachers. [they are amazing]. Our administration at the school is somewhat invoved. Overall, the adults are great, but sometimes the students fall short. Personally, I am in every availible gifted class which can make it hard. While I am ahead of many, in the few classes that are considered 'gifted' the classes can often become boring. Lastly, I have been involved in things student council and NJHS. If possible join! It is deffinitally worth it! I have loved going to Wilson for my elementary and Middle school, and I would deffintally recommend it for students, but after my nine years I am deffinitally ready to move on to highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

I am a student at Wilson K-8. I have enjoyed most of my experiences at the school, and highly reccomend it for those new to the area. The teachers are fantastic and the grounds are amazing! We are very good at athletics too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2006

Wilson school offers the best teachers and office staff to work with your child/children and the parents. I don't have any negative thoughts for Wilson School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Overall, Wilson K-8 has been a positive experience for my child. The quality and enthusiam of the teachers is outstanding. My son, especially liked the teachers who treated him as a 'young adult' (rather than an immature kid)and appreciated his intellecual side and sense of humor. He was blessed to have teachers who demanded his best work and pushed him to succeed in various subjects. These instuctors inspired him to think with and open mind and to consider teaching as an adult. Thank you, Wilson
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 17% 42%
Asian 7% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2330 W Glover Rd
Tucson, AZ 85742
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT