Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Secrist Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 427 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2010

We cannot recommend this particular school to any exceptional child family! We found Zero tolerance policies to be zealously guarded and enforced regardless of circumstance or student category.


Posted May 26, 2010

My daughter is finishing up her second year today. She has done extremely well. She has excellent teachers and we have been very happy here. My son will be starting there next year with his sister. I am sorry to hear of the post below.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I am a very involved parent and I feel Secrist is a great school. My daughter is in her second year under open enrollment. I initially chose Secrist (over Gridley) for the low population (around 500 students). The student - teacher ratio is about the same as other neighboring TUSD schools. With the exception of one or two, teachers and office staff have been wonderful. The assistant principle stays on top of everything. She has attended many if not all of the sports events, and has always been available when needed. She truly seems to care about the students. My daughter loves the school. Teachers and staff have been quick to respond to any concerns I have had. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

Jim Christ (principal) is very rude to both parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Disjointed staff and an equally uninterested and arrogant principal. I would not recommend Secrist!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I just completed my 3rd year teaching a core class at Secrist. As a teacher, I am highly certified and have my Masters degree. Secrist is a neighborhood school, a best-kept secret, the smart choice. The teachers work extremely well together; leadership is very supportive. This is a wonderful school to teach in and to learn in; the student body is remarkable. Secrist offers an extensive library, multiple sports, GATE classes, Language Arts Honors, Spanish, Math, Science, plus many extracurricular classes. PTA & parent support have skyrocketed the last two years. Come see why we enjoy going to school everyday. We care.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2008

This school is absolutely great. I love the atmosphere and the learning environment is the cleanest of all middle schools! (This is true, they have won the Cleanest School of the Year Award 4 years in a row now) It's really easy to make friends and everyone finds a group of friends to hang out with so no one is left out! The teachers are great too! Overall, Secrist is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

The school has a wonderful staff that really cares about the students. There are many activities for students to get involved in from fine arts to athletics. Academics are stressed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

This school is excellent! Secrist Middle school has nice and encouraging teachers that will help you every step of the way. As a student here, I have to say the grading scale is very good here. I managed to get all A's all of my three school years here and maintain a 4.0 grade average. The only reason your child would fail here is if they don't TRY! I know that if you didn't do an assignment here, the teachers would send you to lunch detention so you can finish it and get at least an F with 50 points on it. If you didn't understand or do the homework you could come in before school or during lunch time to get that homework done and still get full points! So I say go for Secrist, great teachers, great staff, and a great Principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2007

I am going to 8th grade and I have learned a lot. I has many friends,I told my parents that I can make friends easy.The teachers are nice.It's a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2005

I do like this school. The teachers do seem to care and so does the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 42%
Hispanic 41% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sunshine Turner
Fax number
  • (520) 731-5301
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 South Houghton Road
Tucson, AZ 85730
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 731-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Allsport Academy
Tucson, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT