Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Secrist Middle School 1

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
Two months after a "specialty bullying taskforce" is implemented and it seems NOTHING has changed, accept a new interim principal that cannot manage this school either! BULLYING, RACIAL SLURS, and SEXUAL HARASSMENT are daily issues my daughter has faced and it's ONLY HER 4th DAY here since moving from out of state! They've put my daughter (who's receiving special education) on the wrong bus, reprimanded her for ditching when she was unsure of where she should be. They have changed her schedule 3 times in 4 days. They are clueless to her IEP and will not allow her to continue advanced courses due to lack of attendants! Class disruptions are a constant problem. Secrist gets an "F" in my book when it comes to creating an environment that is conducive to learning.

Secrist Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2010
- a community member
We cannot recommend this particular school to any exceptional child family! We found Zero tolerance policies to be zealously guarded and enforced regardless of circumstance or student category.


Secrist Middle School 4

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is finishing up her second year today. She has done extremely well. She has excellent teachers and we have been very happy here. My son will be starting there next year with his sister. I am sorry to hear of the post below.

Secrist Middle School 4

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
I am a very involved parent and I feel Secrist is a great school. My daughter is in her second year under open enrollment. I initially chose Secrist (over Gridley) for the low population (around 500 students). The student - teacher ratio is about the same as other neighboring TUSD schools. With the exception of one or two, teachers and office staff have been wonderful. The assistant principle stays on top of everything. She has attended many if not all of the sports events, and has always been available when needed. She truly seems to care about the students. My daughter loves the school. Teachers and staff have been quick to respond to any concerns I have had. I highly recommend this school.

Secrist Middle School 1

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
Jim Christ (principal) is very rude to both parents and students.


Secrist Middle School 1

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Disjointed staff and an equally uninterested and arrogant principal. I would not recommend Secrist!

Secrist Middle School
no rating

Posted December 18, 2008
- a teacher
I just completed my 3rd year teaching a core class at Secrist. As a teacher, I am highly certified and have my Masters degree. Secrist is a neighborhood school, a best-kept secret, the smart choice. The teachers work extremely well together; leadership is very supportive. This is a wonderful school to teach in and to learn in; the student body is remarkable. Secrist offers an extensive library, multiple sports, GATE classes, Language Arts Honors, Spanish, Math, Science, plus many extracurricular classes. PTA & parent support have skyrocketed the last two years. Come see why we enjoy going to school everyday. We care.

Secrist Middle School 5

Posted September 24, 2008
- a student
This school is absolutely great. I love the atmosphere and the learning environment is the cleanest of all middle schools! (This is true, they have won the Cleanest School of the Year Award 4 years in a row now) It's really easy to make friends and everyone finds a group of friends to hang out with so no one is left out! The teachers are great too! Overall, Secrist is great.


Secrist Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
The school has a wonderful staff that really cares about the students. There are many activities for students to get involved in from fine arts to athletics. Academics are stressed

Secrist Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2007
- a student
This school is excellent! Secrist Middle school has nice and encouraging teachers that will help you every step of the way. As a student here, I have to say the grading scale is very good here. I managed to get all A's all of my three school years here and maintain a 4.0 grade average. The only reason your child would fail here is if they don't TRY! I know that if you didn't do an assignment here, the teachers would send you to lunch detention so you can finish it and get at least an F with 50 points on it. If you didn't understand or do the homework you could come in before school or during lunch time to get that homework done and still get full points! So I say go for Secrist, great teachers, great staff, and a great Principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Secrist Middle School
3400 South Houghton Rd, Tucson, AZ  85730
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (520) 225-6060
Last modified Secrist Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top