Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Drive Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 516 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2008

Our child is just finishing Early Kindergarten. We could not be more pleased. Her entire class has learned reading, writing and math. They have an excellent foundation to continue forward with their education. Their teacher Mrs. Mulay is at the very top level of teachers. We have found the principal Dr. Sherrill to be involved with the students and responsive to us as parents. A few reviews complain about the fundraising. The fundraising is necessary. The state dollars do not provide enough fiscal resource for the school to be able to accomplish all that the school does. The Early K curriculum has been reading, writing, math, Spanish, art, music, computer lab, PE, decision making processes and taking personal responsibility. The most important aspect has been that the children are given individual attention and confidence. We feel that our child is receiving a private school education in a public school setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

I have a daughter in first grade at this school. We think it is a wonderful school. She was struggling with reading through Kindergarten and the first part of first grade, but because of the extra attention from her Kindergarten teacher, Laurie Pennington, her first grade teacher, Allyson Jacobs, and the reading specialist, Laura Patton, she has now caught up with her classmates. All the teachers seem to be wonderful and Dr. Sherril seems very hands on. She seems to know almost all the students and takes interest in future students. My younger daughter starts Kindergarten next year and she can't wait. I know she will also get the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

I was expecting the same positive experience from this school that we had at Valley View Elementry. This is not the case. Sure if your child dosent have any special needs and your family has money this school would be great for your child. With a total inclusion classes you would expect teachers to be prepared for handling and teaching special needs children. I have had nothing but issues and dont feel that any extra effort has been put towards my sons education or well being. I would not suggest putting your child in this school if they have any learning or any other type of disabilities. This school definatly caters to families with money and children that do not need any special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

My child attended Sunrise for a short period of time, initially I was under the impression that this was an excellent school in all aspects. I soon found out that Sunrise lack tools imperative in providing children with a healthy social environment. Some parents desperately need a lesson in cultural sensitivity 101.' Sunrise needs to know when a child enters the world and interacts with different cultures, ideas and perspectives, the outcome of these challenges are not going to be based on how much money you posses, but on the content of your character. Sunrise needs to put more effort into broadening their intellectual horizons by thinking outside the box, and not basing their morale on parents putting money into the' FFO Treasurer's box.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Sunrise Drive is an exceptional school, and I certainly agree with the posting below that Dr. Sherrill is a very talented principal. She does a great job communicating, is open to parent suggestions and is clearly a highly qualified academic leader. My children have also benefited from the quality and depth of the staff. I can't say enough about the wonderful teachers there...they really put a tremendous amount of dedication into their classrooms. I'm not sure if it's appropriate to mention specific names here, but Ms. Speelman, Ms. Pennington, Ms. McGroaty, Ms. Morrissey, Ms. Lane, Ms. Patton, Ms. Sherman, Ms. Marx, Mr. T and Bari Ross have all contributed greatly to my kids' education. There isn't enough thanks in the world for all that they do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

We think Sunrise is fantastic. While I agree that teachers are certainly 'teaching to the test', this is a product of No Child Left Behind and the bazillion related assessments (Dibels, AIMs, etc.) that have been mandated by the powers-that-be. Most of the teachers that I have come to know at Sunrise work 60+ hours each week to provide the best differentiated lesson plans they can while staying within the prescriptive curriculum. I also have to respectfully disagree with the last review; the current principal, Dr. Sherrill is very talented & has a great repertoire with the kids. It is the quality of the staff that really makes Sunrise great -- the reading specialist, art teacher, and school counsellor are all really wonderful, dedicated individuals. The perpetual fundraising IS a pain...sure would be nice if we diverted some of our federal defense budget to eradicate the need...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

I find the other reviews a bit surprising! The current principal is not involved with the students and I have spoken to numerous parents who find her ability to handle difficult situations inadequate. This school focuses on 'teaching to the State tests' and I find most of what my child has learned has been in a vacuum with little-to-no focus on building upon concepts. Each year, there is a 'teacher shortage' that is remedied by some kind of fundraising effort to provide another teacher (the community is supposed to be grateful for this lack of District budgetary planning)! The PE program at Sunrise is Terrible. The music and art programs are excellent. I only hope my child will not be too ill-prepared when he enters middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

This school has a nice well rounded curriculum in math, language, art, and music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

I was very pleased with the education my 2 children received at Sunrise. The advanced math program was excellent and my son tested in other schools at 3 grade levels ahead of his actual grade. The theatre arts is the only area needing major improvement. There were no school plays and the multi purpose room is not suited for school productions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I have had my son for 3 years now in Sunrise and I am very happy with the school, he has extended math and the academics is good. I do miss that there was some more language, there is no spanish at all and he spoke it, when we arrived, now he doesn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

Sunrise has many advantages due to the affluent involved parent base. The music, art, and PE programs are excellent. The principal is very open and dedicated to the students. However, the level of in-class acceleration for high students is dissapointing. Be prepared to recieve tons or fundraising and PR flyers from the district with little accountability or suppport for needs of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

Fantastic in all regards: Dedicated teachers who know the proven methods and skills of teaching, love what they do, and show the kids great care and love. Sunrise also has great leadership, awesome parental involvement, amazing kids, a great after school program and is nestled into a beautiful setting. I wish all kids could attend a school like Sunrise.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 17% 42%
Asian 14% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 577-5049

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 E. Sunrise Drive
Tucson, AZ 85718
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 577-5325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT