Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Drive Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

LOVE this school!!! coming from another school, Sunrise has been such a relief because it's very great academically and the kids are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

The Chinese immersion program is great. This is the best program in Tucson right now for native English speakers to learn Chinese.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

Sunrise is a great school. My child has had the opportunity for extended learning, where each child is taught at their level in the classroom. My child has the advantage of having physical education, art, music, and Spanish. My child loves that the teachers are caring and I love that the teachers are educated in their fields of study. Even with the transition to a new principal this school continues to excel. My child has attended this school for 3 years and we have had nothing but positive experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

This school is excellent. My child loves the teachers, the staff, and the after school opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Mrs Bergerson, the 3rd grade teacher does a good job. My son really likes her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

The first year of the Chinese Immersion program is going well so far. My son loves the program and is eager to learn more. Hats off to the English and Chinese teachers in First Grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

Have been disappointed by this school. The principal and 16 teachers have left the school this year. What does this say about how it's being run? My son's teacher clearly hated her job and had ridiculously high standards for grading. My child did not enjoy a single day of his year and did not feel encouraged or motivated by the monotonous worksheets requiredevery day. Parents seem to form groups that stick together and do not welcome newcomers. A lot of effort is being put into a Chinese immersion program, when more basic problems need to be addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

Sunrise Drive has many places to improve. My child was tramatized by one of the teachers. I filed a complaint to the District and never heard a word. The lack of open dialog is disappointing. My child's teacher this year is adequate. She teaches to the middle and has a difficult time reaching children outside the bell shaped curve. The Principal is also more focused on moving on to here new job at a private school than addressing concerns brought to her attention. There are good teachers but my child does not have one this year. Hoping for better leadership next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

Sunrise Drive is a well organized school. The teachers are wonderful and the Principal is outstanding. My daugther is very happy attending this school. She feels that the parents, teachers and students are all very nice. Grade level teachers work well together, they work as a team. This is our third year there and I believe my daughter is receiving an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

This school has been amazing for our son. His teacher wrote us notes, emailed and called us for good and bad behavior or work. Dr. Sherrill, the principal, is involved, caring and really great. The 'specials' are things he comes home and talks about all the time. And we loved the fact that, as new parents to the school, other parents and the FFO really went out of their way to welcome us, find things for us to volunteer at and just make us part of the 'family.' I wish we weren't moving out of state...or that we could take the school with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

Sunrise is a great, family environment with an exceptional principal and teacher pool. All the instruction is individualized, so what my child exceeds in is targeted in his curricula, and what he struggles in is also addressed. I am so impressed, and I've had my children in many different schools in various states. While the funding in AZ is atrocious, you can see where the money is being prioritized and I actually feel like my son is getting a better education here than in some districts back east.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2010

We feel so fortunate to be members of the Sunrise Drive community. My children are both thriving and the teachers are exceptional. I love that instruction is individualized and that my children are expected to achieve at their ability level. Although the state funding in AZ is pathetic, the Foothills community supports the schools with bond and capital overrides so the schools are able to have computers, arts, music, etc. Calling the parents and staff racist is ridiculous. My children are mixed race and we have not experienced anything but encouragement for them to share their customs and celebrate diversity. In fact, I am thrilled by the diversity of the school (racial, economic, special needs) and the welcoming and loving atmosphere. Students, staff and parents are expected to be kind and respectful at all times. Parents are encouraged to volunteer. As an active volunteer at this school, I can honestly say that the very few kids I have witnessed not thriving at Sunrise are those who are not able to follow societal rules or function in any setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

African American parents beware! Very racist school. Glorified daycare is what the kindergarten is....Great school for white children, but no place for minorities.....the parents are racist (not all), and so are the staff (not all). If you do not want your child to suffer from low self esteem, and mental issues do not leave your child here....Very happy to be out of there....the after school program is nice though.....The funny thing is that most of the parents that do not live in the area who are from the open enrollment are more snooty than the people that live in the foothills. (very funny). We lived in the area, and they didn't and we were treated like we were on welfare......otherwise....I'd say spend the money on a good private school, or take your child to a school where people of color are treated equally. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

Sunrise Drive is exceptional in so many ways. The public school funding situation in Arizona is appalling, but this school is bursting with gifted and dedicated teachers. The principal, Julie Sherrill, is outstanding and somehow manages to know every student's name. They take wonderful field trips, do amazing art projects and have a gorgeous student garden running along the length of the school. My kids love it here. The posts below mentioning Laurie Patton are right - she is incredible, and she is one of many teachers who really shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I move my child out of tucson school district and what a difference! The teacher are loving. The kids love the lunches. They have lots of activites. Lots of families that participate. They have extra reading and tutoring. Small classes. Fun school spirit and field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

My son is graduating this year. He been here since kindergarten. There not one bad teacher. They have extracurriculum activities. The best lunches. Lots of fun activites. They celebrate holidays. My favorite is halloween. Real fun! They have onsite before and after care. Great test scores! They treat your kid as an individual. Free bus service too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

I am a little surprised by some of the reviews I have read. I am disappointed in many ways with SDES but mostly with the lack of resources available to the kids and the dated materials they use. The school lunch program is way overpriced and my child comes home starving every day. There is very little communication from my child's teacher and not much comes home in the backpacks. I have yet to see 1 art project from the 2008-2009 school year. Catalina Foothills may have been the best school district in the past, but certainly is not currently the best. I would also warn you if celebrating holidays and important dates are important to your family, consider another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

This is the best school district in tucson. This is coming form someone who moved from anther state and search for the best place to live in this city, and this school district has the best reputation. This particular elemntary school is the best of district 16. If your moving to Tucson, move near this school. They seem to have lots of money from donors to give to students in learning resource such as reading classes and music and sports, science, etc.. Nice big campus with new buildings and playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

Outstanding school in every way. The teachers are all world-class and the parent support is unbelieveable. My kids love it here and I appreciate the time and energy that everyone puts into their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Very positive principal. Hires truly otstanding teachers. Many nice families who care a lot about their kids' education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 577-5049

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 E. Sunrise Drive
Tucson, AZ 85718
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 209-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Khalsa School
Tucson, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT