Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunrise Drive Elementary School 3

Posted December 13, 2014
- a parent
We used to love Sunrise Elementary. This is my child's 4th year at this school, it's been a rocky semester. Sunrise has had three principals in the past 4 years. It also emphasizes the Chinese immersion program and the English only classes are crowded. My fourth graders class has 33 students in it! The teacher is good but overwhelmed. We like the cultural diversity and the new playground. The new principal is friendly and knows children / families. The district needs to firmly cap enrollment to allow excellent teachers to educate not simply teach to the lowest standards and keep kids safe in over crowded classrooms.

Sunrise Drive Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
LOVE this school!!! coming from another school, Sunrise has been such a relief because it's very great academically and the kids are happy.


Sunrise Drive Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
The Chinese immersion program is great. This is the best program in Tucson right now for native English speakers to learn Chinese.

Sunrise Drive Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
Sunrise is a great school. My child has had the opportunity for extended learning, where each child is taught at their level in the classroom. My child has the advantage of having physical education, art, music, and Spanish. My child loves that the teachers are caring and I love that the teachers are educated in their fields of study. Even with the transition to a new principal this school continues to excel. My child has attended this school for 3 years and we have had nothing but positive experiences.

Sunrise Drive Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is excellent. My child loves the teachers, the staff, and the after school opportunities.


Sunrise Drive Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Mrs Bergerson, the 3rd grade teacher does a good job. My son really likes her.

Sunrise Drive Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
The first year of the Chinese Immersion program is going well so far. My son loves the program and is eager to learn more. Hats off to the English and Chinese teachers in First Grade!

Sunrise Drive Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Have been disappointed by this school. The principal and 16 teachers have left the school this year. What does this say about how it's being run? My son's teacher clearly hated her job and had ridiculously high standards for grading. My child did not enjoy a single day of his year and did not feel encouraged or motivated by the monotonous worksheets requiredevery day. Parents seem to form groups that stick together and do not welcome newcomers. A lot of effort is being put into a Chinese immersion program, when more basic problems need to be addressed.


Sunrise Drive Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
Sunrise Drive has many places to improve. My child was tramatized by one of the teachers. I filed a complaint to the District and never heard a word. The lack of open dialog is disappointing. My child's teacher this year is adequate. She teaches to the middle and has a difficult time reaching children outside the bell shaped curve. The Principal is also more focused on moving on to here new job at a private school than addressing concerns brought to her attention. There are good teachers but my child does not have one this year. Hoping for better leadership next year.

Sunrise Drive Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
Sunrise Drive is a well organized school. The teachers are wonderful and the Principal is outstanding. My daugther is very happy attending this school. She feels that the parents, teachers and students are all very nice. Grade level teachers work well together, they work as a team. This is our third year there and I believe my daughter is receiving an excellent education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunrise Drive Elementary School
5301 E. Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ  85718
(520) 209-7500
Last modified Sunrise Drive Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunrise Drive Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top