Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Townsend Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 555 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2012

Thank God, Townsend had a new administrator. I hope he is a leader who cares, and believes in treating students with respect. Before, he arrived I feared some students were being prepared to enter the criminal justice system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

I was a student that attended Townsend 2 years ago, when it was only middle school. I attended it for all 3 years. I had no problems making friends, in fact I felt like my whole class was some sort of family. We all got along really well and cared for eachother. But the teachers we're okay. If they weren't busy yelling at us, they we're busy talking about something other than the subject we were learning. But as far as I'm concerened I still learned all I needed to learn for the next years. People talking down on this school have no idea what it's really like to go there. Ask a kid who stayed there all 3 years as well, I bet they would say they enjoyed it as well. Yeah, we might have a high trouble maker rate, but we're just kids. Get over yourselves. And as far as uniforms go, I don't know about others but it sure made my mornings better by already knowing what I had to wear.


Posted April 17, 2011

My son attended this school. Everything at this school is polar. Either amazing or horrible. ie: 6th grade teachers - amazing - 8th grade teachers horrible out with all the 8th grade core teachers! English language program - wonderful, student uniforms horrible. uniforms are a nice idea, but they causes more problems than it is worth. Some of the outstanding things the school has to offer started out great and soon are dwendling due to lack of support. If your child still attends this school, maybe it is time you contacted the teachers and see how you can help make it better. The school always has opportunities for parents to volunteer fundraising, help with Amazing sports partipate in cultural events, or maybe even donate a few supplies. I was sad that I donated so many supplies and it seems like I was the only one. This school needs strong parent leaders to get in there and make sure their kids are being taught right - don't be snowed by the teachers find out for yourself. It is fixable. Korean language and culture classes (NICE), and they also have an exchange program with S. Korea. Needs a leader that will put the hammer down and bad teachers out so the good ones can work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

This school is not school its military camp! What ever you do DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL! All the staff members are to busy to answer the simple questions but oh god if your child does not have his shirt tucked in he's in TALL(Townsend Alternative Learning Lab)REPEAT DO NOT SEND YOUR KID TO THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

I went to townsend for all three years of middle school. Personally, i hated it, i hate it with all my heart. Most of the teachers are bitter and not helpful. The uniforms don't help their look either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2009

I am a student and I personally like this school because of the freindly staff and environment.I spent my first year as a 6th grader there and, of coarse i had a few problems with making freinds and being bullied a bit but everyone does ocasionally...I am now going into 7th grade and am very excited to see all my freinds and teachers from last year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

My son hads been in this school since 6th grade and he has been push to do his best. I am sorry to hear that my son won't be able to go next year for 8th, because Townsend will be all 6th grade only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

Do not send your kids to Townsend. Both administration and teachers are overwhelmed, school is understaffed, and and challenging curriculum is lacking. Some of their best teachers have disappeared. My daughter lasted one semester, and then we were gone, on to a better school. Not great dialogue between parents and school leaders, busy making careers not kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My daughter entered Townsend as a new 6th grader from out of the area. Principal Ms Barbara Kohl made a special point to be friendly, welcoming, and quickly recognized and assisted us in getting my daughter into the high-performing 'House' program, where my daughter has adjusted and made friends. Unfortuneately, TUSD wants to make Townsend all 6th-grade starting the 2010-2011 school year so my daughter, Ms, Kohl, and the House program are getting the rug jerked out from under. I'm told the 7th-8th graders will be sent to Doolen, where they do have a GATE program for high-achievers, but it's apparently a pretty grim environment. I'm trying to transfer my daughter to Dodge....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

Townsend Middle School is awesome! My daughter loves her teachers. She made many friends quickly. She looks forward to school everyday. As a parent and a physician, I am very impressed with the quality of education she is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Disorganized school, teachers overworked, administration does not really discipline students. They talk, but do nothing about hallway bullies. No real academic challenge. I had my child there less than 2 weeks. So glad to be gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

Townsend has come a long way in the past few years, but they still have a lot of work to do. There is a distinct separation of achievers vs. non and I did not feel like there was appropriate energy spent on reaching out to parents. I had to take a very, very strong stance to enroll my child in the more challenging classes with no encouragement from staff. I felt like my child (and therefore others like him) was stereotyped and 'mainstreamed'. There is just a feeling of apathy there right now, so if you want your child's time there to count, you have to be extremely proactive as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

I am currently a student at Townsend Middle School. I personally think that it is not a school to send your child. Over the last two years, the students have been somewhat dangerous, and the teachers are not teaching my very much. I went to Magee in the 6th grade, and everything that I learned there, I am just learning now in the 8th grade. The teachers are usually too busy dealing with the bad students, that I am not learning anything. Even though these points are true, I have had a few teachers that do know what they are doing, and have taught me some things. Also, mostly all students make freinds. Overall, I would not send your child to Townsend because many students are not learning too much.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 42%
White 28% 42%
Black 11% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 232-7901

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2120 N. Beverly
Tucson, AZ 85712
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 232-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT