Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tucson Magnet High School

Public | 9-12 | 3127 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

My child had a multitude of complaints about the learning environment. The teachers turn the other cheek when it comes to misbehaving students in the class room. The students own the school. She showed me videos of some teachers with fear in their eyes, just trying to get through the day. My Daughter did say that the academics are great, and that they offer a lot of good classes. The school is very big with a lot of students and it has a beautiful campus. Students need more discipline in this school it affects other students who are trying to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

During my year at Tucson High I went through many new experiences. As everyone says this school has many opportunities but you have to reach for them. In high school your expected to do so, I personally did not like the environment, or most anything about it, at all. I made few friends & struggled through the easiest classes because of stress both at home & at school BECAUSE of school. There is some diversity but the ethnic group's are very unbalanced. The teachers you get could be either great or terrible and often both staff and students have terrible attitudes & teaching skills. You either be willing to try to work with the school (which I did at first, & now I'm trying to switch out) or simply go with the flow, meet new people and make new friends. As for the education MANY students don't even try to do their work, often did not care about their education & rules are not enforced. Drugs are done in the open, harsh language surrounds you & fights are not uncommon. I personally did not like this school at all but it really depends on what you do, what you make of it, and how you act.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2010

This school is an amazing place to work. Its incredibly diverse and offers a variety of classes for the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2010

As with any school, Tucson high has its occasional dud of a teacher, and it has the same drama, drugs, etc problems that anywhere would if you get a bunch of high school kids together. But it also has some really amazing people in its faculty and really outstanding programs. My four years there was exceptional; as a magnet school for arts, science, and technology, it has something for everybody. I had four great years filled with photography, drama, art, even weaving. Every year Tucson high sweeps the state photo competition and usually goes on to nationals. Others went on to compete at the international level for the science fair through the Research Methods course that lets you research anything you want and give you the option of pairing with a UA scientist as a mentor. I'm so glad I had the good fortune to attend.


Posted February 21, 2010

As a freshman at Tucson Magnet High School I believe that my experience thus far has been debatable. Although I have met some remarkable teachers and students sometimes I just don't enjoy going here. A major part of my classmates really don't care about there education, and sometimes I feel that I am surrounded by a bunch of idiots. The education is good, the extra curricular activities are amazing but the student body is lacking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

The school is the best school my children have gone to. I have 5 children and my last two school age kids are at Tucson High. It is by far the best school with the most caring teachers and principals, the most fine arts programs and sports and many other extracuricular activities. They are also very careful with the safety of the students. I am very glad my kids go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love my high school, that is the oldest in the state of Arizona. When I attended it was Tucson High School. My alma mater excels because of its diversity and the classes, that offers magnet programs in Science, Mathematics, Technology, Visual Arts, and Performing Arts. The rate of graduates going on to higher learning is one of the highest in Tucson. I maintain a very close relationship with my THS.


Posted December 16, 2008

I have been going to Tucson High for 3 years now. it has a lot of people and drama. if you make friends with everyone, you wont have problems. Some teachers aren't very good though. I don't think the staff knows what they are doing. They would give me classes i don't even need. Ones that i've already passed. I only like this school because i know a lot of people here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2008

My child has learned a lot, the teachers are great they tell me what i need to know and they enforce the rules provided by the district. My child is now in honor classes thanks to his teachers, he was in AE classes before, but now im so proud. Its all thanks to the schools teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I am a alumni of Tucson high including my mother and other family members. My baby brother is a freshmen there. I think this is one of the best high schools out here in Tucson and I think a lot of students benefit from the programs there and learn a lot. The school is really big and there are may student who attend and you still manage to get the whole high school experience. There are a lot of dedicated teachers and its a very secure school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

We moved here from Colorado. One son started high school here; one first attended Mansfield Middle before Tucson High. The older son is a natural scholar; at THMS, he was in GATE classes, took Honors, AP classes & was active in Mock Trial. Great preparation for college! My other child played sports and took vocational courses (easier) so I saw every side of this school. I attended all parent/teacher nights, etc. I love this school! The teachers, with few exception, are devoted and caring; the counselors were good. The principals fluctuated; I can't address the leadership there. The very diverse school environment is very valuable. The one downside is that parental involvement was not encouraged. I had always volunteered before but rarely was there an opportunity here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

My child had an excellent educational experience at Tucson High. She was very pleased with her teachers, who encouraged her to learn in ways that were not just continual rhetorics of memorizing for tests. The art, dance, photo departments are spectacular- although the quality has declined in recent years with a new principal who has desecrated the art department with unnecessary censorship. However, I think that since the school is so large, it is important that the students/parents become well aquainted with their teachers- otherwise your kid can fall in the cracks. Also, my child found the learning experience most enriching in the AP and honors and GATE classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 24, 2005

a bit ghetto, not enough APs probably the best school in tucson there is a lot of diversity some devoted teachers and pride all around town
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2003

This is a top-notch school. My daughter is now a junior and my son is a freshman, and both have received a countless amount of support in their academic lives. There are numerous special interest classes including steel drum band, ballet, jazz dance, tap dance, modern dance, guitar, film, film acting, stage management and a lot more. The selection of academic classes is also amazing. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 43%
White 18% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Abel Morado
Fax number
  • (520) 225-5221

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 N. Second Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85705
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



City High School
Tucson, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT