Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2008

This school can prepare you for college and increase your chances of getting a scholarship, but in other aspects it's not a great school. In a school district where 30% of the students are white, UHS is 60% white; 'minorities' are only 40% of the student body while the district is 70% non-white. Most of the students are smart and work hard, but so are people at many schools. It seems to me that many in UHS look down on people that don't share their background, and they don't understand the great opportunities that have allowed them to get to this school. Not everyone in this school, but many people nonetheless, are here because they come from a relatively stable, supportive, middle- to upper-class background. It seems that going to this school gives you the opportunity to meet a certain kind of people, and I think it's important to experience more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

UHS is successful because it enrolls bright and extremely motivated students. Sadly, this pool of talent is badly served by many of the school s faculty. To achieve real greatness, UHS needs to hold every member of its teaching staff to the same high standards expected of its students. Unfortunately, that is not the case. Many of the faculty members are mediocre and uninspired. They resemble plow horses trying to teach thoroughbreds to race. Most students learn early on that their peers can often provide more assistance than most of their teachers will offer them. The real tragedy rests in the missed opportunites that a first class faculty could provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I, too, graduated this past May - and look back upon my experience at UHS with a certain fondness. Amazing teachers, a supportive Administrative staff, and incredibly unique friends - UHS leaves little to be desired. There's always someone to turn to for emotional support, and although the homework load does sap time out of your schedule, you learn to work around it or work with it. And rarely is the homework, busywork. The arts, although occasionally forgotten, are not neglected. Both music and drama are absolutely wonderful, with large scale productions, and competitions on alternating years. Though I sporadically participated in various clubs, the clubs are very solid. Few clubs are 'sit-around-and-do-nothing' clubs, most require as much passion as the classes - from console gaming to break dancing. Rincon and UHS get along quite well. I received College credit for most of my AP's. Perfect for those serious about getting somewhere with their education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

I graduated this past May, and I loved every bit of my four years there. Some teachers did leave something to be desired, but I would have been bored at any other school; at UHS I found a club that fit my interests and that I was active in for four years, I was active in the orchestra, and I was with people who were on my intellectual level and who could help me move forward rather than holding me back. There is still plenty of creativity among the faculty and students there, and I had a blast. Even Rincon's football team has improved, and I got to see some of my UHS friends play on it. And the Parents' Association and various booster clubs did a great job at staying involved. It's for people who are intellectually well above average, and that's how it should stay.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2006

U.H.S. can be a viable learning experience, but only with the right perspective. Please realize that there are diverse brands of 'smart' in the world and that academia encompasses a sliver of these, not necessarily the majority. If students (and teachers) incorporate this simple philosophy into studies at U.H.S., the synthesis of intelligence and common sense might make something (someone?) wonderful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2006

Best high school in tucson. Great teachers and students. I like their academic programs that help students achive great score on sat, therrfore, better college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 27, 2005

Wonderful academics! The teachers and students are very supportive. It is possible to recieve college credit after attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

This is a great school for high achieving students who are VERY competitive. The parents are not too friendly but you child will recieve a great education and probably a scholarship for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

In my 2, going on 3 years at UHS I have loved it. The diversity the school offers creates a great atmosphere and opens us up to all cultures. For the most part the teachers are very excepting and open to all the students and also respect their fellow co-workers. The fact that we (the students) are given the chance to study with other students who are talented and push themselves is very captivating, something I never would have been able to experience at any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2005

This is my second year here are UHS and I love it! While it is true that sometimes we can be overwhelmed with homework, it's nothing we can't do. It is a great school that I would glady reccomend to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2005

This school has lost several great teachers over the years due to leadership or lack of it. Too much lecturing is going on, not enough creativity. Many of the most creative and most qualified teachers have left. They must have been bored here, like my own child. This is turning into the magnet school for the Advanced Placement program. What a pity. This school has declined since my oldest child attended 10 years ago. It used to be a powerhouse, but is now just struggling to maintain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I thought this school taught me a lot about myself and my academic career. I learned how to become a productive person in the world and how to use my lessons learned here in the outside world. Even to this day, currently being in a different school and state, I compare all my other schools to this one.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 3, 2005

Academics are very important at UHS, and they give students a lot of good stuff. I like UHS. It's really nice, but my son hates it because he says the people are very boring. Music and art programs are decent same with sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

This school needs more diversity. It needs its own location other than Rincon's facilities. This school cannot be compared to other public schools because it is not open to the public...you have to test to get in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2004

I went to high school here. It was a great college prep school. A lot of AP class offerings. Major clubs were chess and Spanish clubs. No football.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2004

Wonderful academics that provide students the opportunity to prepare themselves for college. Students often have an incredibly easy freshman year in college because UHS prepares them so well. They obtain an incredible work ethic and learn so much at this school. The teachers are incredible. The teachers know how to relate to the students so well and push them so much. This school is unique in that all of the classes offered are either honors or AP. Teachers prepare the students for the AP exams and most students have many college credits by the time they graduate. A wonderful school that any hard-working and motivated student will succeed at and grow to love.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2004

University High School in Tucson is by far, one of the most college preparatory and prestigous public schools I have seen in a long time. Its 19 AP classes and/or all honors core classes, mixed with numerous extracurriculars give another name for enrichment. I have observed students who graduate from it guaranteed with some college to go to, and for many years a fractional amount has ever not gotten any type of scholarship. It is a lot of hard work, but students learn so much, and grow as well-rounded, disciplined, hard-working, prodigous individuals. What I find fascinating is that the students who attend actually worry about missing school, even when they are sick. They still manage social activity while busy with lists of task to be done for school and extrcurricular stuff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2004

I would have to differ on the review comment that students would do 'good' wherever they were placed. While they might do OK, the learning environment certainly determines whether they are challenged and therefore excel. University High meets those needs with administration, teachers, and students that work together and challenge each other to meet the highest of standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2003

The students are really neat because they go through screenings and are the top 1.5 percent of the city, but the teachers don't go through screenings like the students and aren't the best in the city. The administration at the moment is really selfish. In an article in the newspaper recently they took the credit for how good the students did on standerdized tests. The truth is, these students would do good in any environment you would put them in.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 232-5901

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

421 N. Arcadia Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85711
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT