Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

University High School has plenty of resources that a student can go to to get help. As a student I know because I find myself using these resources whenever it i getting hard to keep up. For example if you are struggling on any level in math you can always go to math tutoring on mondays tuesdays and thursdays. UHS is a great school that offers lots of assistance available if the student asks for it. As a junior at University High I have experienced my highs and lows but I know that help is available and it's possible to get straight A's if you put in the effort.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2013

As a parent of a Sophomore,I need to say this school is a role model school for whole US for being in Top 50 nationwide high schools. 100% students population is bound to college every year with drop rate 0%. last year scholaships tottled at 31 millions. excellent, very well experienced teachers, AP Curricullum leads to their success every year. I am really happy that my kid is in UHS and he is having his education very well including improvement in academics. also want to say, UHS has high ranking BAND and Ochestra and athletics and sport teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

I am impressed with the way University High School (Tucson), keeps approximately 73% of it's student body population throughout the four years. To begin with 245 students, and end up with 178 graduating students (see above) is great. However, some schools, like Basis-Tucson, keep only 35% of it's population; using the same formula I used. Stats came from USNews Reports. This should matter to parents; the level of support your child will receive over their 4 year journey. Will a school really stick by your child when times get tough, or will they sell them out for rankings before they are seniors? I look forward to sending my child to UHS-Tucson this next year, the #1 high school in the state, with a low attrition rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

My daughter just started August 2nd and I am already very impressed. She has attended both private and charter schools and never been challenged like she is here, and it is just the first week. The parents get homework too. Every teacher sent home a class syllabus(including drama) with very clear rules and expectations for the students that had to be read and signed by parents as well. My daughter has done nothing but rave about teachers and curriculum and always wants to be there an hour early to take advantage of the multiple advising opportunities available. For the first time in years she is excited about school and eager to get there every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

Excellent school with great teachers and students. Good balance with a difficult curriculum, but not overworked to allow time for extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2011

I have just attended my child's graduatioon from this school. After the ceremony I asked every graduate I knew if it was worth it, and without exception the answer was a resounding "YES". It IS competitive, and it takes hard work, but I feel it is likely the best education in a city where education quality is poor. The teachers do a good job with minimal financial help, and my son and I are grateful for the opportunity. The graduates (176 I think) qualified for over $26 million this year. That is a wonderful accomplishment so stop complaining!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

I am a student and I have to say that this school is an amazing idea that was poorly executed. Gifted students DO need a place to go, and this school works for that, however academically they don't care about what you want. Just because we are gifted doesn't mean we want to be forced into several AP classes every year. Also the entrance exam only lets in smarter students. Smarter does not mean they enjoy busywork... we want challenging work. It's a better deal to go to the local high school and get easy A's than be forced to take intense classes to get C's which make you ineligible for scholarships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2010

As a student at UHS I found only one good teacher. The other teachers were some what rude. The students (with only a few exceptions) are also rude and think they are better than everyone else. The curriculum is challenging but I found that I got a good, if not better education at the school I switched to. Also they keep expanding the incoming class size so the standards for the school are dropping.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2010

UHS is an excellent school, with exceptional an exceptional fine arts program. Most of the teachers are hard-working and committed, and all the students are extremely bright. Not to sound elitist, but if you do not screen the entrance program to a school by IQ tests and grades, the students will not be top-notch like they are at UHS. The minority proportion unimportant, as it is not biased either way. It is very fair in this way the students who test in deserve to go to a school much more then a person who scores lower than a child just because they are a minority. Students should be accepted based SOLELY on the intelligence level and grades. About the classes, they are very intense, expecting high school freshemen to be able to cope with final exams, midterms, and a large homework load. This is good though, because it challenges students to the maximum of their abilities. The only problem that I can see is that the lecturing and taking notes aspect of the entire program is a bit much. Extremely creative and very artsy people may find that this is not the school for them, whereas academic students will be very pleased with both the curriculum and the other students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2010

UHS students are a bright, hardworking, dedicated group, which unfortunately allows some pretty lazy uncaring teachers to skate by on the laurels of their students. My son often relies on other students, or us, to help him understand the material. He has teachers who spend the class period on the Internet rather than lecture. Teachers have written condescending remarks on his papers when he hasn't performed as well as the other students in the same classroom. Because there is only one french teacher regular french students are thrown into the same class with AP students and all are expected to perform at the same level. The admin is so over-burdened they can't remember who you are even while you are exchanging emails one day to the next. If all the teachers were dedicated to helping these kids succeed they could do so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

As a first year parent all I can say is-"It's about time my student has been challenged!" Hooray for UHS as a whole!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school is nothing spectacular. The leadership sees students only by their test numbers and not by their potential. I worry about our future generation when schools that have the resources to really reach out and support kids, like University High, decline that right to teach affluent A students. All students should have the right to attend a school that can prepare them for college and university. I hope that with the crushing recession, University High lowers their Elitist ways and teaches students as students, not AIMS Exceeder hopefulls. There is more to say about a school than just their test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I am a currently attending freshman at UHS, and let me tell you, it is a huge change!! I have to keep telling myself that I only have to make it through one more week, and then I'll know everything there is to know about how the school works, and every week I am wrong. Most (nearly all) of the teachers are very kind and understanding and willing to help. Some are simply overloaded with too much stress. The campus is nice (nothing spectacular) but the fine arts are amazing!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

I am a parent who had 2 sons attend University High...I consider the Education they received and their College preparedness excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

University High School is the best school to meet my children's needs. I have had three attend. The faculty are great at working with the student's unique learning styles. There are a wide rage of extracurricular activities available. It has been described as a community of learners. Almost every graduate goes to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

I'm another UHS grad. It's a truly great opportunity. It's true that some of the teachers are less than excellent - which will remain the case until teaching is valued more and those who would love to teach are paid enough to afford to live on the salary. For the most part, the students' intellectual equals are college professors if they are teachers. There are those outstanding, motivated teachers who make their classes amazing, too, though. The real benefit is in the students around you. Every student is extremely bright. I went to an Ivy League school after UHS, and was the only one I knew who was unimpressed by my college classmates. Their SAT scores were lower than my high school classmates' and they had fewer sports championships. My friends were diverse both racially and economically, regardless of the supposed racial breakdown of the school. I am grateful I chose UHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2009

Best high school education I have ever experienced and heard of, the teachers are outstanding and the students are truly dedicated to learning and pushing themselves to their fullest.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2009

This is a excellent school. Some of the other reviewers say that the teachers do not care, or the students are mainly white and do not accept those of different backgrounds. I believe that this is not completely true. Of course at EVERY SCHOOL there will be a teacher that isnt as good as the others. Majority of these teachers are some of the best educators I have met, in these classes, the students are mature enough to talk about mature topics, be worldly aware and focused on their life ahead. And looking down on people? There are many minorities, i personally am a minority, and NO ONE has ever looked down at me because of it. I have friends who are brazillian, hispanic, african american, european, indian, etc. As a mature group of students I do not see the level of racial slurs and such as that of other campuses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

I have mixed feelings about UHS. Great opportunities to strive there; then again I see the flip side too. Some teachers think the kids made it into UHS they should know everything so they teach very little. You have your teachers that really teach & love to watch their student flourish. Elite group of students that get into UHS if that was true my child should not have made it into UHS, we re not from middle/upper class as one poster expressed that the UHS students were from. I believe UHS has a tendency to add undue pressure to students especially the freshman. High school is a great change & with some of the pressure that is added it can make the change rather overwhelming. Not all the UHS students are extremely motivated or bright. There are students there for a lack of a better word of normal intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I have to agree that there are, unfortunately, a number of uninspired teachers. About half of them are smart, dedicated, and devoted to teaching students something more than they'd receive in a conventional classroom. The other half range from 'mediocre' to 'flat-out angry.' UHS does not handle 504 plans well. My chronically-ill child was promised all kinds of assistance that never materialized. His illness was treated as more of a behavioral issue than an actual disease, as if it was his fault that he was sick or at the doctor's office so often. We didn't ask for compassion; just for compliance with the 504 plan. We received neither.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 232-5901

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

421 N. Arcadia Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85711
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT