Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Utterback Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

I really love Utterback & the performing arts and dance is awesome and the academics are pretty good! Something I would definitely improve is the principal. She is hardly ever spending time getting to know students at all. The vice principal is more involved and seems like she is more of a principal. My daughter started there and she barely met the principal a month after she began. The principal also is very unprofessional when it comes to appearance. She dresses way too causal as if she was going to run errands during a weekend. The school is great but that principal needs to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Unfortunately, the 8th grade class this year, will not be ready for high school. Poor leadership, and lack of effective teaching greatly contributed to Utterbacks D rating. The performing arts program is adequate, but the academics fall far below what is expected from any middle school. The school needs much improvement. The district really needs to change the principal if they have any hope of helping the incoming students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Utterback has some fantastic teachers but the new principal needs some serious help! The previous principal retired after 29 years at Utterback and the school has gone down hill. This is my child's second year at Utterback and so far has had to deal with bullying by not only the students but the teachers as well. Academic wise..yes, they are struggling but i do believe that the teachers really stress the importance of learning in a group setting instead of individual learning. The amount of math omework given is outrageous probably due to the fact that they are failing in the Math scores. I am not sure if will send my child back for 8th grade due to the strong fact that he does not feel safe at Utterback. The school is in a very bad neighborhood infested with known gang crime and the neighborhood kids go to that school. That said, if a "clean up" were to take place, Utterback would be thriving and vibrant once again but alot of work needs to done and i hope it is!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I completed my student teaching at Utterback. I was thoroughly impressed by the collaboration between teachers and the high caliber of projects students were producing. I enjoyed the diversity. The project based learning helped the students develop problem solving skills, learn to work together in a team, and use their creativity. There is a lot of emphasis on multiple intelligences, so each student is able to learn in the way that works best for them. The band program is amazing!


Posted March 3, 2011

Utterback Is A Wonderful School ! Yeahh Every School Has Mean Teachers And Mean Principals Its Just The Life Of School There Isnt One Pefect And Nice School,, But Utterback Is Really Dope ! Like It Is A Fun And Interesting School , I Can Count On This School Because Its The Bombest School Ever ! Dont Ever Say That Utterbacks Dumb Or Utterback Is This Or That Because Literaly Every School Is The Same Yeahh Utterback Can Be Annoying By The Teachers And Stuff But Their Just Doing There Jobb ! And No One Can Judge A School By How They Act ! Its Just School And Your Gonna Have A Tougher Life And School As You Get Older So Yupp Thankss ! :D


Posted December 10, 2009

Utterback is a really bad school. Every thing good they say about the school is a lie! They don't care about our education(students) they only care about making the school look like it's wonderful and all the kids are happy and that all the teachers and the principals are nice. But that's not at all true, teachers don't even have respect for the students and they give up on them eaisly. Also the principals are very rude and they don't let the students defend themselfs because to them they are always right and your very wrong! I've been at Utterback for 3 years 6-8 and the school has gotten worse. I really think that the school should get new principals because the current ones are very bad leaders. If any parent is thinking about sending their kid to Utterback i suggest you think again because your child will not be happy!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2009

Utterback is a wonderful school. They incorporate aspects of art and creativity in all of their courses. Students are challenged to 'think outside the box'. We move frequently, so my son has changed schools almost every year. He has been enrolled at some wonderful schools. However, this is the only school he ever said he liked. The music and visual arts programs are extraordinary. The academics are on the weak side, but motivated students can get a very solid education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

Utterback is a great school. It is the only school I would ever want to go for middle school, the academics are great. But the performing arts is amazing. I am in dance and drama and I just love them. This school teaches you that not only academics are important, but that performing arts is important as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

Utterback has a beautiful campus. It also has a wonderful magnet program in fine arts. My best years have come from that school, because of all the different types of students. The Staff and administration are very friendly and start to become family. I will never regret going to Utterback. I never got homework and that was a problem for me because once I hit high school I was not prepared for the homework, test, and notes. Give this school a chance I loved it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

This school has wonderful teachers that dedicated there lives to the education of the students. The Performing Arts teachers are one of the best ive ever seen. This school teaches students things that the wouldnt learn untill high school. There are some flaws in the system but this school is safe. They have round the clock school security and they have cameras. If anything ever happened they would know what to do. The colorfulness of the walls in the school is excelent children who want to succeed in Arts can learn how to do it before there evn ready
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I am a student at utterback it is so awesome even the education its a great school u get to play all kinds of sports after school and meet new people. There band is awesome to and i was scared that i was not going to meet any people.Some people say that utterback is a bad school but its not.If i could go any were i would go to utterback!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2008

Utterback is a great place for kids and is working to get better! The arts programs are excellent and the academics are getting there. If you would like your child to learn how to think and problem-solve beyond what is on a multiple choice test then this is the place to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2008

My child is in the 6th grade, what a huge mistake we made, when we selected Utterback! We are going to let him finish the school year, but he will not be going back. Teachers are absent on a regular basis and do they do not have substitutes to cover for them. They just put the kids in other classes which are already to full. Think long and hard before you alllow your child to attend Utterback Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

My son currently attends Utterback Middle School. I was initially very impressed when I toured the school, but am extremely disappointed in the experiences I've had with this school thus far. Huge safety and discipline issues at this school! Also, overall there is very poor communication! No PTA and none of the core staff is willing to participate in Site Council meetings. No interest in parent involvement at this school. Band and some of the other encore (elective) classes seem good, but Utterback is lacking academically. This school had the highest expulsion rate last year in TUSD (500 kids!) and is currently an underperforming school. Definitely wouldn't recommend and am looking for another school to move my son to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

This School is a discrace to T.U.S.D it is a very unsafe school. Its Location is bad and the principles are very rude and do not listen to parents or students. This school is not good on acdemics and teachers dont take the time to speak to the students and make sure they understand everything! I Took my child out of this HORRIBLE School after first quarter and i strongly reccomend sending your child to a different school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

Academics are not the greatest here, but it's a performing and creative arts school. The Bands are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

i love this school because it lets me express my feelings in dance or in other ways for other kids!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

This school is horrible in all levels. There is no communication among parents and the principal. I would never recommend this school. Just horrible! I do not feel my son is safe in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Great Availability of music, art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

I went to a dance performance here the other night and I was highly impressed. The hallways are beautifully decorated with student's artwork and bright colors. I'm seriously considering sending my daughter to this school. Carol Lee Sausa
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 43%
Black 9% 5%
White 8% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 225-3501

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3233 S. Pinal Vista
Tucson, AZ 85713
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 225-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT