Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 755

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Utterback Middle School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
So far I rate quarterback 2 due to the fact that my son was stabbed with a pencil by another student and was told oh,your a boy you'll be fine here's a bandaid.didn't get sent to a nurse or anything!! Then when he was getting bullied he defends himself finally and he gets suspended for nine days,without even an investigation!!

Utterback Middle School 1

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
This is a horrible school! Most of the staff are bullies they don't care about the students. They are quick to blame the kids for anything but take no responsibility for their actions. They don't have many permanent teachers. And they don't even have a GATE program.


Utterback Middle School 4

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
I really love Utterback & the performing arts and dance is awesome and the academics are pretty good! Something I would definitely improve is the principal. She is hardly ever spending time getting to know students at all. The vice principal is more involved and seems like she is more of a principal. My daughter started there and she barely met the principal a month after she began. The principal also is very unprofessional when it comes to appearance. She dresses way too causal as if she was going to run errands during a weekend. The school is great but that principal needs to go.

Utterback Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, the 8th grade class this year, will not be ready for high school. Poor leadership, and lack of effective teaching greatly contributed to Utterbacks D rating. The performing arts program is adequate, but the academics fall far below what is expected from any middle school. The school needs much improvement. The district really needs to change the principal if they have any hope of helping the incoming students.

Utterback Middle School 2

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
Utterback has some fantastic teachers but the new principal needs some serious help! The previous principal retired after 29 years at Utterback and the school has gone down hill. This is my child's second year at Utterback and so far has had to deal with bullying by not only the students but the teachers as well. Academic wise..yes, they are struggling but i do believe that the teachers really stress the importance of learning in a group setting instead of individual learning. The amount of math omework given is outrageous probably due to the fact that they are failing in the Math scores. I am not sure if will send my child back for 8th grade due to the strong fact that he does not feel safe at Utterback. The school is in a very bad neighborhood infested with known gang crime and the neighborhood kids go to that school. That said, if a "clean up" were to take place, Utterback would be thriving and vibrant once again but alot of work needs to done and i hope it is!!


Utterback Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2011
- a community member
I completed my student teaching at Utterback. I was thoroughly impressed by the collaboration between teachers and the high caliber of projects students were producing. I enjoyed the diversity. The project based learning helped the students develop problem solving skills, learn to work together in a team, and use their creativity. There is a lot of emphasis on multiple intelligences, so each student is able to learn in the way that works best for them. The band program is amazing!

Utterback Middle School 5

Posted March 03, 2011
- a community member
Utterback Is A Wonderful School ! Yeahh Every School Has Mean Teachers And Mean Principals Its Just The Life Of School There Isnt One Pefect And Nice School,, But Utterback Is Really Dope ! Like It Is A Fun And Interesting School , I Can Count On This School Because Its The Bombest School Ever ! Dont Ever Say That Utterbacks Dumb Or Utterback Is This Or That Because Literaly Every School Is The Same Yeahh Utterback Can Be Annoying By The Teachers And Stuff But Their Just Doing There Jobb ! And No One Can Judge A School By How They Act ! Its Just School And Your Gonna Have A Tougher Life And School As You Get Older So Yupp Thankss ! :D

Utterback Middle School 1

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
Utterback is a really bad school. Every thing good they say about the school is a lie! They don't care about our education(students) they only care about making the school look like it's wonderful and all the kids are happy and that all the teachers and the principals are nice. But that's not at all true, teachers don't even have respect for the students and they give up on them eaisly. Also the principals are very rude and they don't let the students defend themselfs because to them they are always right and your very wrong! I've been at Utterback for 3 years 6-8 and the school has gotten worse. I really think that the school should get new principals because the current ones are very bad leaders. If any parent is thinking about sending their kid to Utterback i suggest you think again because your child will not be happy!


Utterback Middle School 4

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
Utterback is a wonderful school. They incorporate aspects of art and creativity in all of their courses. Students are challenged to 'think outside the box'. We move frequently, so my son has changed schools almost every year. He has been enrolled at some wonderful schools. However, this is the only school he ever said he liked. The music and visual arts programs are extraordinary. The academics are on the weak side, but motivated students can get a very solid education.

Utterback Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 13, 2009
- a student
Utterback is a great school. It is the only school I would ever want to go for middle school, the academics are great. But the performing arts is amazing. I am in dance and drama and I just love them. This school teaches you that not only academics are important, but that performing arts is important as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Utterback Middle School
3233 S. Pinal Vista, Tucson, AZ  85713
(520) 225-3500
Last modified Utterback Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Utterback Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top