Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winifred Harelson Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

87 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson is dedicated to the students as individuals not as a number or a seat in the classroom. They are a excelling school that teaches so that every child can learn at a higher rate. Harelson is no average public school it is the best. They offer fine arts and sports options for kids and they look for alternative ways for our students to learn. The teachers are truly the best and the administration is excellent also they are involved with the kids and interact with like no other school I have seen. The Peace Conference is great for the kids to learn how to be tolerate of each other and how to treat people with respect. Harelson is a great school and gives the tools they need to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

As a grandparent, I observed great results in all subjects taught at Harelson.


Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson is an excelling school that has a long tradition of strong academics (starting with the solid foundation provided by our kindergarten program thru our rigorous sixth grade program) and a wonderful arts program (from our extremely talend Art Teacher, Liz Caris, who finds and nurtures that artistic gene in every child to our musical program that get every child on stage at least one a year). Harelson teachers are passionate about education. Harelson teachers tailor their academic programs to meet the needs of each child and then nurture each to excell. Mr. Heinemann is a visible and hands on principal who within the first few weeks of school has learned the name of every one of the 500+ students and is well on his way to lerning the names of their parents. Harelson is a gem. We love Harelson and greately appreciate the dedication of its teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

As a Mom of a Harelson student we thought it was just another public school in our district map. Once my child started Kindergarten we realized what a wonderful school Harelson is, full of energy, positive teachers and administration that boost up children's moral & make them feel wanted, respected and eager to learn. They have done so much for my son it truly is an excelling school & I am proud to say my child attends Harelson Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I've never seen, and can hardly imagine, a more dynamic learning environment for young people than that created at Harelson Elementary School by its outstanding principal, Andy Heinemann, his capable, attentive, responsive and professional staff, and by a teaching corps that defines excellence at every level in the classroom. Each day, it seems, these teachers marshal the resources of knowledge, experience, creativity, discipline, humor and good cheer to engender precisely the exceptional learning environment that has come to define Harelson. As parents, we are profoundly grateful that our children are able to attend Harelson and we have been gratified over the years by the amazing resourcefulness of this organization to optimize every opportunity - despite trying economic times - on behalf of the students and their teachers. At each grade level, the curriculum offers variety, consistency, intellectual and academic challenges; it rewards legitimate achievement, encourages effort and it nurtures our children's innate thirst for growth and knowledge. Families could pay a great deal more for elementary education by opting for private schools but they would be hard-pressed to find any school - public or private - that exceeds the standards set by Harelson. Year after year, Harelson continues to earn its ranking as an 'Excelling School,' and it is deserving of every benefit and all the additional support it can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson has the best faculty and principal. They really care about our kids. My kids have attended other public schools in the past and they didn't compare to Harelson. Harelson has done an extremely well job with my eight year old and I am excited to see what they will have in store for my five year old when he starts next year. Keep up the good work Harelson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Harrelson goes above and beyond to help their kids advance in education and social awareness. The teachers/administration/staff seem to TRULY care about the children and their success.


Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson is the best elementary school our family has had experience with. The principal, Andy Heinemann, is very attentive. He gets to know his students and parents. I see him every time I'm at the school whether it's during school, at a band or music performance or any other function. It's so refreshing. We have had nothing but the best experiences with teachers. They clearly love their jobs at this school. I've seen great individualized instruction given to my kids no matter the number of students in the class. The school has so many opportunities for their students that other area schools don't have. Some I can think of are the 4th grade pit fire and going back in time for school, 5th grade camp, and 6th grade San Diego trip and Medieval Tea. I'm proud to say my children attend Harelson and will be sad to see the day that I no longer have a child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

We have been at Harelson for 4 years. There is not a day that goes by that we are not pleasantly surprised by how much the 'Harelson' community goes above and beyond. From the principal on down. Everyone is involved and committed to Excellence. This school is definetly excellent by choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Haelson is truly an amazing school! Mr. Heinemann, every teacher, and every staff member is committed to our childrens education and well being. Harelson will do everything they can to make sure the children grow and succeed. We are proud to be a part of the 'Harelson Family'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

As a grandparent and former teacher, I see wonderful results and hear great praise for Harelson. The events I have been able to attend have very enthusiastic students and parents.


Posted April 23, 2010

I love the interaction between the parents and the teachers and staff. The children are challenged with the core curriculum and stimulated with the art, music and physical eduation programs. Harelson executes with excellence and instills confidence in the parents and pride in the students.


Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson involves it's students in more high-level activities with more hands-on teaching than I've seen anywhere else. Why couldn't I have gone to Harelson?


Posted April 23, 2010

My son has attended three different schools and Harelson has been the best one. He has gotten the help that he needed from his teacher and other staff and has had a lot of support. He couldn't get all of this even from a private school (where I was paying so much for his education!). It is great to see the difference this school has made in my son's own self esteem, security, social growth and mental development. Everyone, from the kids, to the staff and parents are so supportive of all the children. The principal is great and is very committed to the success, in all levels, of every child. I promised my son that I would keep him in this school. He has improved so much, I am very happy and filled with such gratitude for all the help he has gotten. Harelson IS the best elementary school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson is not just a school - it's a family. The faculty & Mr. Heinemann are so completely dedicated to the school, the students & their families. I could not ask for a better Elementary School experience (unless, of course it went all the way up to 12th Grade!)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My grandson has attended Harelson since 1st grade. He is currently in 5th grade. He has some learning disabilities and thanks to the teachers at this school he has received the support needed to help him succeed in school. The teachers are amazing. My grandson's self esteem and social growth have been helped because of the staff at this school. Harelson is truly a community of caring teachers, principal and support staff. Harelson is an amazing school!


Posted April 23, 2010

Excellent educational environment with wonderful teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Our grand son started kindergarten there and is currently in the second grade, I have helped with track for 2 years there and have got to know several and attended several plays, seems very family oriented, teachers are helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

We came to Harelson from another school. My Daughter had a very rough time with bulling. Every member of the staff at Harelson went over and beyond to make my Daughter feel safe and wanted. She excelled at Harelson. The staff are fantastic and the school is beautifull and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

We came to Harelson from another state. The principal and entire staff went above and beyond to welcome them to the Harelson family. They are thriving in their studies and making progress beyond our expectations. We can't say enough about the entire staff all going the extra effort to help each student be the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

826 W Chapala Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85704
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT