Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winifred Harelson Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

87 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2010

I went to Harelson 20 years ago and now my son is in kindergarten there. I can't say enough about the quality education he is getting and the overwhelming devotion of the teachers and support staff. My 6th grade teacher in 1980 is STILL teaching at Harelson! It's an amazing learning environment and I am thrilled my son is so happy there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The principal is a great ambassador for this school . His accessability to both parents and students is a major factor in the 'family' feel of this campus. I appreciate the benefits of the liberal open enrollment philosophy even though we live within the boundary. The students are made aware of the high expectation of not just academic excellence but good citizenship as well. The teachers have maintained their professionalism and dedication to excellence despite all of the budget turmoil .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I went to Harelson from K-6th grade. It was a fantastic learning enviorment then and still is. The dedication and heart of the teachers and staff make this school one of a kind. I now have two boys who attend Harelson. Some of the teachers who used to teach me are now teaching my children. I wouldn't have my children attend any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers are top notch and very caring. My Grandchildren are in 1st and 2nd grade and are learning beyond their grade level. Teachers and Principal are the best. This school is doing the very best. My Daughter moved to this district for the school, also this school has a large number of open enrollment students. Which proves a point that is one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The parents are really involved, and the principal is very down to earth and manages the school well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Harelson school is great. My grandaughter loves it and is doing really well. I love that the kids get to be in plays every year and everyone participates. I enjoy visiting the school when I come to Tucson. The teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We love Harelson! I have two children at Harelson and can't say enough about how much the kids love school, and how much we love the teachers, administration and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Harelson is a wonderful, nurturing, caring environment for my girls to learn in. We feel part of a family at Harelson and could not imagine our kids going to any other school, public or private. Our principal is top notch and our teachers are incredible. The dedication and hard work put forth by the teachers and administration at Harelson is to be commended!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love Harelson Elementary School! We moved to the district just so my kids could go to school there! The teachers are great, it has a great reputation, and it is a beautiful campus. It has one of the best principals around, always involved in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school feels like a family. As a teacher at this school I have built relationships with students and families that have carried on far beyond the school year. I continue to watch these children grow and learn and have become a part of their lives. It feels like a community and I am blessed to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers really care about the students and their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school is so devoted to it's students! The teachers and staff always go above and beyond for the good of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Fantastic Principal and Teachers. Love everything about it and so does my daughter. I also love the garden on the school grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My grandchild lives with us and we are very pleased with the progress and healthy environment she has received her first year here at Harelson. Her 4th grade teacher has been outstanding and we and our grandchild could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Winifred Harelson Elementary is the best! The cooperation between administrator and staff is tremendous!


Posted April 26, 2010

I open-enrolled my children at Harelson, because of its reputation for excellence. I have never been disappointed. The teachers at Harelson are incredibly committed to giving each and every student a quality education. They are masters of differentiation, making sure that each student is getting what they need at their level. These teachers work tirelessly before and after school to be their very best when their students are in class. They are enthusiastic and strive to make learning fun! They go above and beyond to stay in communication with parents, and are available for questions and concerns. The administrative staff is so welcoming to parents and they are an integral part of why the school runs so smoothly. Last but by no means least; Mr. Heinemann does a phenomenal job as Principal. He knows all the students by name, as well as their parents. His leadership is driven by his desire for excellence and his heart. He truly cares about the Harelson Community as a whole; the students, parents and teachers. His goal to ensure that every child gets a quality education is present in everything he does. When a school is lead by that example, it s no wonder Harelson is an Excelling School for the 7th year in a row! You would be hard pressed to find a more dedicated group of educators, and in the current environment in Arizona in regards to education, seeing these teachers and administrators give 150% every day is inspiring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I feel like the teacher and the administration really care about their student's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love Harelson School because of Ms. Wherry, the Nutcracker and Wizard of Oz presentations, the field trips, the many creative and stimulating learning experiences and the love and support of both friends and teachers enjoyed by my grandson, Max.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Harelson is a wonderful school, full of talented teachers and dedicated staff. The principal is very involved in every aspect of the school and knows the students by name. My children have strived there and I couldn't think of a better place to send them for elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers and administration truly care about the success of the students. It feels like one big family! My son has had the most wonderful teachers that are passionate about what they do. I'm very grateful that I am able to have him enrolled at Harelson!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

826 W Chapala Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85704
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT