Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winifred Harelson Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 503 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

87 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

Quite simply, sending your child to Harelson, is like having a wonderful family educate your child. Harelson is not 'just a school.' The teachers, support staff, families, and students all work together to make Harelson one of the most unique learning environments in public education. High expectations=high achievement. Fantastic teachers, and wonderful students are what you will find at Harelson. It is truly a campus filled with caring, respectful, and responsible human beings trying to make this world a better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Harelson teachers have high standards. They believe that children can rise to the lofty expectations set before them. Harelson is a school that families want their children to attend because of the nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Everyone at Harelson Elementary School cares about the health and wellbeing of every child enough to give 110% to each student every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The teachers are the best! They are exceptional in every way! They work long hours and give their hearts and souls to the children.


Posted April 23, 2010

The teachers at Harelson are amazing! They put in so much time and do everything they can to make sure my children succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This is the absolute best school I can think of ever sending my kids to. They challenge and encourage the children to strive for the next big goal all the time. My son has advanced and excelled in reading and math and is currently above his grade level. The experiences and activities, curriculum, and staff are amazing and the school more than deserves this money......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I love Harelson Elementary School because of the community the parents, teachers, staff and students have built. Harelson families know what it takes to help these youngsters grow and learn to become our future leaders, teachers and eventually parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My husband went to Harelson as a child and wanted our kids to go there as well. As an excelling school I had no reservations choosing Harelson for our kids. It has proven to be an amazing school with the greatest teachers and principal! The teachers are very creative in figuring out ways to give the best education with the little funding they get. The principal is always out there with the kids checking on them and being involved with their activities. I love this school and our kids do too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Working at Harelson is like coming home. Everyone that I come in contact with, whether it be a student, a parent, a co-worker or the principal, is welcoming and happy to be a part of such a caring community. Even with all of the cuts in education, you can't take away the spirit of this amazing school. Go Bobcats!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2010

At Harelson, students are the focus! Parents, teachers, administration and staff work together to help students achieve amazing growth and become responsible citizens. From the Kindergarten Rodeo to the 6th Grade Musical, every grade level has programs that excite students and bring out their creativity. I wouldn't want my children to attend any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We are incredibly fortunate to be part of such an amazing community at Harelson! By nurturing, supporting, challenging, leading and growing our children with the help of an amazing staff of gifted teachers and strong leadership from our administration, there is an overwhelming feeling that we are ALL a part of what makes our school stand out among the rest. With every passing year, we become a closer community, brought together by our love for our children and our common goal to help them strive to be their best selves. Many talk about what we do not have in this challenging time, but what we DO have is a community that will rally together and help our children and our teachers. We are proud to be Bobcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Harelson is a caring, loving community with high standards of excellence for all students! It's the best and I've taught in six different schools in three different states.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I have never heard a negative comment about Harelson. The teachers, staff, principal and parents are stupendous! Amazing atmosphere of caring and dedicated people. My daughter excels and is truly happy in this nurturing environment. I give the school an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Our family loves Harelson. We've had fantastic teachers who have taken the time identify my child's strengths and weaknesses. We're also very impressed that Principal Heinemann knows every child in the school by name. My child loves the library and is fortunate to be at an elementary school that shares a library with a middle school. We look forward to many more wonderful years to come at Harelson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Harelson is the first school I taught at and I would gladly teach here until the day I retire! The students are truly the best, the parents are involved and supportive, and the teachers care about each other and most of all their students. Harelson is a genuine community where every member is important and valued. If you want to see a happy school, come to Harelson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Harelson has the reputation for being a school that produces well educated, future citizens of the world. We are an Excelling school and we have teachers and parents who work together to provide the best education for their children. It is a community school and we see ourselves as one big family! I have taught at Harelson for over 15 years and it ranks as one of the best public schools in America! I am proud to teach at Harelson!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2010

Harelson is an excelling school. For those of us that know that there is more to a great school than a lable based on test scores, Harelson is wonderful. The faculty and staff have a great sense of balance between rigorous academics and nurturing activities. The school promotes community and student/parent/faculty involvement and interaction. What a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

We moved here in 2008 after a horrible kindergarten experience in Texas. My daughter hated going to school there. We never saw the principal and the teachers seemed disconnected. When we moved I decided to look for a school where people liked the principal and out of all the schools we chose Harelson. It s been the best experience. The teachers here are incredible and it s not just a school it s a community. My daughter is in 2nd grade but still quotes her 1st grade teacher. Her second grade teacher has instilled a love of reading in her that she didn t have prior to school starting. I am so excited for 3rd grade and I have another child entering kindergarten next year too. We have moved a second time since coming to Arizona and we moved across the street from another great school but there s no way I m giving this up. We now open enroll and drive to Harelson each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Harelson Elementary School is like one big family. Teachers, parents and students all work together to create this family friendly environment that is excited to learn and grow together.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2010

Harelson is an awesome school - all the teachers are exceptional and really care about the education of kids. Admin staff is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

826 W Chapala Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85704
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT