Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winifred Harelson Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

87 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

Harelson is a great school. My grandson is in kindergarten and he just loves going to school. His teacher makes each day fun and exciting. The school provides a real sense of community. We look forward to 6 more years at Harelson. Kudos to all the staff for their wonderful attitudes and willingness to provide a quality education.


Posted October 14, 2013

Andy Heineman, the principal, is absolutely amazing. He is very dedicated and cares about the Harelson community. He sets the tone for the teacher's expectations of the students. We have been very pleased with our 2 years at Harelson. I would like to see a school garden and foreign language offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

GREAT SCHOOL!!! Teachers go out of their way to make sure students understand what they are learning. Principal is always present & open to concerns & questions. Overall excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Harelson is not just a great school, but also a wonderful community of families who want the best for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Harelson has a terrific parent, teacher, student community. There are a variety of activities and events that the kids can join and are suitable for all ages. The Parent Teacher Organization is committed and passionate about helping in anyway they can. I am proud to be a Harelson parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Harelson has teachers, students and parents that are dedicated to child development and education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

We currently open enroll our son at Harelson and plan to enroll our daughter in the Fall due to the wonderful experience we have at Harelson! Harelson teachers and principal excel at knowing each child as individuals and not just a 'body of students'. From the teachers learning each child's strengths and weaknesses in the classroom, to the principal knowing each and every student's name, help each child feel special! The level of parent involvement and charm of the school campus make this school a true community for the children and their families! We are proud to attend Harelson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

It is a safe, clean school with caring & nurturing faculty and staff. The principal, Andy Heineman is amazing--he is always present at all events and moving throughout classrooms, even helping the parent pick-up line move smoothly in the afternoons. All 3 of my children have attended here and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The principal, staff, and teachers really care about our kids and enjoy working with them. They work hard to give our kids the best education at each grade level. We love Harelson!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Great things start at the top, and Prinicpal Heinemann makes great things happen at Harelson (of course, with the utmost support and help of an excellent staff and great PTO)! Every single teacher and faculty member that I have met in the past four years has been extremely committed and passionately involved in creating not just great students, but fine young individuals. The academic standard is excellent, but not at the expense of the arts. Harelson is one of the few schools that still maintains an art program, music, athletics, and an abundance of extra-curricular programs such as chess and track. We are an open enrolled family. For approximately three of our four years at Harelson, I drove my sons from our home in Sahuarita to Harelson (nearly an hour drive each way) and it was well worth it! The high standards and quality of education at Harelson gave us cause to rent out our home in Sahuarita and move closer to the school. If you have a chance to get your child into Harelson during open enrollment, don't hesitate! It is excellent school with outstanding people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

We are so blessed to have so many great teachers and a great principal all in one great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

High expectations, engaging curriculum (the three Rs as well as sports and the fine arts), and committed teachers comprise Harelson's warm, inviting climate. The long waiting list says lots about the school's committment to excellence and quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Harelson is the best elementary school anywhere. The teachers are amazing giving 200% day in and day out. The Kindergarten and First Grade programs are amazing and give our kids the base they need for further success. The extra curricular offerings are awesome with chess club, track, and science club being a few of the electives. Every child gets to perform on stage at least once a year with the end result being very poised, confident sixth graders. The Reading Room is a very unique but effective help with our struggling readers. Everyone, from the administration to the teachers to the monitors to the cafeteria staff truly love the kids at Harelson. My child feels uplifted and special on a daily basis. It is truly 'a village' that surrounds each and every student. Harelson is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Harelson is a great school. They give attention to each child, and make sure that everyone is successful. The teachers are always willing to do whatever they can to help the kids in any way.


Posted May 2, 2010

Fabulous school. in this day of budget crisis, it can use all the help it can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Harelson is not only a school, it's a family! The parents, students, teachers are all amazing!!!!!! The students excel in their academics and fine arts! A truely magnificent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

We love the teachers at Harelson. Our daughter loves going to school on a daily basis. The extra programs and events they offer creates great memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Great teachers. Parents are very involved with volunteering in schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Harelson is an amazing community of great/caring teachers, active/involved adminstrators, and engaged/caring parents. Harelson has all the ingredients of a top notch school (public or private). With a notable percent of open enrollment, many families choose Harelson as though it were a private school. We are one of those families and are very pleased with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This school is not only wonderful in teaching academics; but, the teachers who are at Harelson really truly care about the students. It is the love and respect that they shower toward the students that encourage them to want to excel and do the very best they possibly can. The fun and loving environment is empowering and the pride shows in the student at Harelson.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

826 W Chapala Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85704
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Learning Lab
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT