Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 503

5 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


90 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Winifred Harelson Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
Harelson is a great school. My grandson is in kindergarten and he just loves going to school. His teacher makes each day fun and exciting. The school provides a real sense of community. We look forward to 6 more years at Harelson. Kudos to all the staff for their wonderful attitudes and willingness to provide a quality education.

Winifred Harelson Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Andy Heineman, the principal, is absolutely amazing. He is very dedicated and cares about the Harelson community. He sets the tone for the teacher's expectations of the students. We have been very pleased with our 2 years at Harelson. I would like to see a school garden and foreign language offered.


Winifred Harelson Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
GREAT SCHOOL!!! Teachers go out of their way to make sure students understand what they are learning. Principal is always present & open to concerns & questions. Overall excellent school!

Winifred Harelson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
Harelson is not just a great school, but also a wonderful community of families who want the best for their children.

Winifred Harelson Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Harelson has a terrific parent, teacher, student community. There are a variety of activities and events that the kids can join and are suitable for all ages. The Parent Teacher Organization is committed and passionate about helping in anyway they can. I am proud to be a Harelson parent.


Winifred Harelson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
Harelson has teachers, students and parents that are dedicated to child development and education

Winifred Harelson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
We currently open enroll our son at Harelson and plan to enroll our daughter in the Fall due to the wonderful experience we have at Harelson! Harelson teachers and principal excel at knowing each child as individuals and not just a 'body of students'. From the teachers learning each child's strengths and weaknesses in the classroom, to the principal knowing each and every student's name, help each child feel special! The level of parent involvement and charm of the school campus make this school a true community for the children and their families! We are proud to attend Harelson!

Winifred Harelson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
It is a safe, clean school with caring & nurturing faculty and staff. The principal, Andy Heineman is amazing--he is always present at all events and moving throughout classrooms, even helping the parent pick-up line move smoothly in the afternoons. All 3 of my children have attended here and I would highly recommend it to anyone!


Winifred Harelson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
The principal, staff, and teachers really care about our kids and enjoy working with them. They work hard to give our kids the best education at each grade level. We love Harelson!!

Winifred Harelson Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Great things start at the top, and Prinicpal Heinemann makes great things happen at Harelson (of course, with the utmost support and help of an excellent staff and great PTO)! Every single teacher and faculty member that I have met in the past four years has been extremely committed and passionately involved in creating not just great students, but fine young individuals. The academic standard is excellent, but not at the expense of the arts. Harelson is one of the few schools that still maintains an art program, music, athletics, and an abundance of extra-curricular programs such as chess and track. We are an open enrolled family. For approximately three of our four years at Harelson, I drove my sons from our home in Sahuarita to Harelson (nearly an hour drive each way) and it was well worth it! The high standards and quality of education at Harelson gave us cause to rent out our home in Sahuarita and move closer to the school. If you have a chance to get your child into Harelson during open enrollment, don't hesitate! It is excellent school with outstanding people!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winifred Harelson Elementary School
826 W Chapala Dr., Tucson, AZ  85704
(520) 696-5000
Last modified Winifred Harelson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Winifred Harelson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. Top