Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
376 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Mother Of Sorrows School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a student
I love this school. There is a great sense of community, and my child is excelling. I also volunteer my time and I'm glad to do so. For everyone who said they try to nickel and dime you, they must be doing something wrong. I go on the field trips and help in the classroom or after school for the sake of MY CHILD, I have more than enough volunteer hours so I never get charged extra. We also have a full scholarship. We have had the same families together for 4 years now and they are all great and welcoming. This isn't a school for you if you find involvement difficult.

Our Mother Of Sorrows School 1

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
We have had our students here for several years and we have been very disappointed with both teachers and the principal this year. It seems as if things are getting worse and no one holds the teachers accountable for their actions. We will not be returning next year. This is not worth the money, kids are bullied and favoritism in classes.


Our Mother Of Sorrows School 1

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
This school is all about the money, they will nickle and dime you for everything. They brag about CTSO money and that is all the principal is concerned about. They started a new system for tracking "volunteer" hours and it's just another way for them to make more money. The office staff is unorganized, principal is arrogant and teachers are dinosaurs. Keep looking...this is not the right choice.

Our Mother Of Sorrows School 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
My family is very happy here....the curriculum is up to date, most teachers are happy and effective, technology is on par with public schools, and the principal seems to value fine arts (they have a music and art program....not a lot of time, but any is better than none!)

Our Mother Of Sorrows School 1

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
This is a TERRIBLE school. The teachers are always yelling and I don't even think they like children. When I walk in the hallway, I always hear yelling. All this school cares about is money, not the children. The staff is un-organized, and they aren't very patient with the kids. Some kids are rude and annoying. I have to actually teach my child when she comes home, for she learns NOTHING at school. The principal does actually nothing, and the parents are required to volunteer a certain amount of hours or pay more. I mean, we have jobs, you know! We can't waste or time volunteering just so we can pay less! I moved her to Soleng Tom, and she is an amazing student there. OMOS is a complete waste on money. Don't go there!


Our Mother Of Sorrows School 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school since pre-school. My experiences over the past 11 years have been nothing but positive. The academic excellence, parent/teacher involment, and Catholic faith is a strong building foundation for this school. I am proud to say that my child attended this school. The discipline and self worth she has learned about her character and faith truly makes me believe that children can act accordingly in life. Thanks to OMOS and our parenting skills, my daughter is truly prepared for what high school brings. It has been a pure blessing and the best investment I have made regarding her future.

Our Mother Of Sorrows School 3

Posted October 15, 2011
- a parent
All 4 of my boys attended OMOS (1 attended the Preschool only). We have since left but I have to say Mrs. Feaman and all of the Jr. High teachers were terrific. I also have to say the Ms. Nitka and Ms. Ezzre were also terrific. I do think the curriculum should be revamped from time to time because my younger children were bringing home the same exact work as my older children did in their grade. The art program was wonderful and my boys miss their school. Overall we had a good experience when we were at OMOS.

Our Mother Of Sorrows School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
We came from another state with previous experience in public school, charter school, and home schooling- in an effort to challenge our kids. OMOS has really been a Godsend both in terms of educational standards and quality and responsible, community formation! If you are looking for a new school, this is a great choice!


Our Mother Of Sorrows School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
I have two children who attend OMOS. I took them out of TUSD in 2009 due to all of the issues that the public schools were having. My kids have learned so much, however, it hasn't been a piece of cake. There are commitments that apply to attending this school. I am okay with that. I have really grown in the matter of , "being more aware". I read one of the reviews listed and it stated "you get out what you put in". That hits it right on the head

Our Mother Of Sorrows School 5

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
I could not be more thrilled with the school and community experience here for our family. The principal is educated, intelligent, fair-minded and easy to work with. The faculty are supportive and encouraging to my children, and the staff are very responsive to our needs. Absolutely worth the financial sacrifice to send our children here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Mother Of Sorrows School
1800 South Kolb Road, Tucson, AZ  85710
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (520) 747-1027
Last modified Our Mother Of Sorrows School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top