Advertisement
Advertisement

Sts. Peter and Paul Catholic

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $157,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

This is school provides a safe atmosphere on campus. The kids here are warm and respectful, however transferring in from a private school from a different state, their technology use here is much behind from what we came from - the previous school gave each child an IPad to for their learning and not have to carry around heavy textbooks. It is so crazy to have a youngsters these days to be carrying heavy books in their backpacks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I have been a parent at Saints Peter and Paul School for over 8 years.. My family and I have had a very positive experience at this school. Over the past 6 months there have been awesome, sweeping changes to the curriculum. There is 21st Century technology in every classroom. The academics are excellent, and the Religious education is wonderful. The teachers are responsive and effective. Communication between the classroom and the home is at an optimum! They have a remarkable Resource Program that has helped my son very much! This school is very welcoming and goes out of the way to make everyone a part of the family. Choose Saints Peter & Paul School and your children will be going to Tucson's finest K-8 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

My wife and I have had three of our children attending Saints Peter & Paul since kindergarten. It a safe environment with good discipline. The education has been more than satisfactory. We also love the strong sense of community among the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

I have only toured the school, but I didn't like what I saw. Teachers seemed mean and more interested in me than the students. Class sizes were overwhelming for the teachers. Some children were not paying attention, which distracted some other students and the teacher did nothing. Teachers were unable to improvise. I saw 6th Grade boys and girls flirting in class. THIS IS A CATHOLIC SCHOOL! The teacher did nothing, neither did my guide. None of the staff I mett seemed particularly intelligent. At teh end of the day Catholic or not it is still a school. How can a bunch of idiots teach? I was expecting a lot more for what they wanted to charge me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I have two children at Sts. Peter & Paul. While the quality of education is stellar, I've become very upset by the new Principal and have noticed a number of changes that have me concerned. The Principal does not seem open or able to exhibit generosity of spirit, a shame in an educator and recently one of the best teachers left the school due to the management style. We pray the new Parish Priest will restore order and compassion to the administrators. We'd hate to lose any other teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

Furthermore, the vice principal, who was the only staff member who cared, is no longer going to be at the school! I am so glad my children are no longer attending this horrible school. What a huge waste of money! All of the time and money that we put into this school.....for nothing. Lessons learned - we are happy with the public school we have decided to put our children in. Sometimes it's good to have an actual school district be involved in upper staff decisions. Sts. Peter and Paul is no Catholic school - the staff are pagans!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

A generally rude and mean spirited staff from the top on down. They are very greedy in charging for every little thing including inventing non-refundable "fees." They take great delight in publicly humiliating both parents and children. They keep a lot of secrets from public view and get real uncomfortable and agitated when you ask them simple questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

Standard Catholic school of the last 50 years. Little seems to have changed. Pleasant, but a little staid or even boring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

My wife and I have three children at Saints Peter & Paul in grades, 2, 5, 6. We have been more than satisfied with the education our children are receiving. The standards for academics and behavior are high. The best thing about SSPP is the community among the families (and we're not very religious). People really look out for each other. We value the diversity too. It is really just a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Best school in Tucson. Great test results. Great emphasis on total student. I had two kids go through the school and it just keeps getting better. I recommend the school even if you have to drive clear across town, even past other catholic schools. Fantastic in every regard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My two grand daughters have been attending SSPP since kindergarten, currently they are in the 6th and 5th grades. This is an amazing school with high academic standards and a great deal of school spirit and enthusiasm.


Posted September 24, 2009

Very good school. I got a job at UMC across the street to make it convenient. I am very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

5 Children sent there and would do it again in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

My daughter attended SSPP for nine years (K through 8). Our experience has been outstanding. The curriculum,teaching, parental involvement make this school head and shoulders above others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Wonderful school. Great test scores. Great job imparting values. They do throw the troublemakers out. Very safe environment. I had two kids through the school who have done very well with their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I have been a parent at SS Peter and Paul for over 16 years. My oldest child is now at the U of A, and my youngest is still at SSPP. My children, my husband and I have had a very positive experience at this school. The academics are excellent, and the Religious education is wonderful. The school is very welcoming and makes everyone a part of the family. I will always be happy that we made the decision to send our children to SS. Peter and Paul Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I have had my son in this school for four years now. I have been very disappointed with the staff to parent communication. It hardly exists. There is only one teacher parent meeting at the beginning of the year. When you go in and try to discuss your concerns with the administration, you will receive a rehearsed answer from them: 'it is not in the handbook'. I have been very disappointed with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Being an alumni, I have to say my experience there was not a pleasant one. Many of the teachers simply can not teach the diverse student body. Being a bit advanced academically, I found many of my classes to be far too easy, while classmates of mine struggled to keep up with the work. There are some fantastic teachers to be found at this school, but unfortunately, not many. Art and music are taught, but are by no means stressed, extracurricular actives in general are lacking save for athletics. I would personally, not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

quality of academics is excellent, far above the scores of public schools in the tucson area. each child is given special attention and tracked carefully. there are programs for sports, music classes, art classes and extracurricular clubs. The parental involvement is very high, each family is required to give at least 66 volunteer hours per school year. I am very happy with this school. Saints Peter and Paul is one of the reasons I have stayed in Tucson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

My son has been attending SSPP for two years now and I love it! Teachers pay a lot of attention to their students. The school has a lot of extracurricular activities for the whole family to enjoy. Parent involvement is a priority within the school. The only suggestion would be to make their music and sports programs bigger.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 39%
White 26% 42%
Two or more races 15% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 11%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Tucson
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1436 N Campbell Ave
Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone: (520) 325-2431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT