Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fountain of Life Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 128 students

We are best known for Christian education.

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $113,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

This is an amazing school that feels like a family. The teachers are great and really care about their students. They take the time to get to know every child at the school. Each child is a child at this school and not just a number. My child struggled upon first arriving at FOL School due to the class size at public school. The teacher saw this and offered to work with him after school. I would recommend FOL School to anyone looking for a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

My daughter has attended this school for 12 years and will soon be moving on to high school. She has received a well-rounded, Christian education which will help her continue with academic success. She has been taught to be a self-confident, caring young lady who thinks of others before herself. I will always treasure the education that she has received during her time here and I know that she will use the caring foundation that she has received through the rest of her life. The teachers and staff are beyond belief the way they care for each and every one of these kids. Fountain of Life School is a true family and they will always remain true in our hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

Amazing school! I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants a highly academic school as well as Christian values. My children have learned so much and are far ahead of their public school friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I used to go to FOL I liked it. Mrs.Steele was my Preschool teacher and she was the nicest teacher ever! I left mainly because it wasn't the school for me I wanted a school that challenged me more. When I went there it was fun all the teachers were nice and when you walked in you felt like you were at home!


Posted March 15, 2010

Fountain of Life is an amazing school. My two children both attend, and the quality of education is incredible. The school has a new principal who is wonderful. I would highly recommend FOL to anyone looking for a Christian alternative to public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I was referred to Fountain of Life by my daughter's previous daycare. The day I walked on to their campus, we felt right at home. My daughter has been there since she was 3 yrs. old and now in the 4th grade. I would never consider taking her anywhere else and I will be very sad the day she is no longer able to go there as this school only goes through 8 grade. The values and education that she has learned there are priceless. This is truly a 'family' oriented school where almost everyone knows each other and all parents watch out for each others children. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality education for their children. They do a wonderful job of balancing a christian education while providing a safe fun enviornment!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

I have to agree with the previous reviews. This is a wonderful school. My daughter is also in the Junior Kindergarten and has learned so much. Mrs. Steele is such a great teacher. It amazes me to see how she interacts with the children. I would highly recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

This school is an overlooked treasure! The facilities are excellent with a safe and secure campus. The teachers are excellent all with many years at the school. Our daughter is in the top of her class and enjoys learning more every day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

My daughter is in Mrs. Steele's Jr. Kindergarten class and is quickly advancing with writing and reading skills. I'm pleased with the encouragement she gets for academics, and the promotion of values that help her with decision making. This is a healthy environment all around, with all school staff working their hearts out for the benefit of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

My child's 3rd grade teacher ms summersett is fantastic! Principal schultz will always greet parents and students by their names. Family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Very good on Christian values. Good family atmosphere, with lots of activities for the whole family. Education quality is middling, and the teachers are not very parent-focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

My daughter attended there in kindergarten and first grade. She is in thrid grade now. All I can say is this school was awesome...teachers were in control and took the time to really teach.. They knew their students and saw the potential in each student when learning their daily studies..I had to leave due to the fact that I moved and no longer could drive that far to attend any longer...but my daugther to this day says that was the best school she has ever been in! If she had her choice she would be going there right now. Somtimes I debate whether or not the drive is that bad knowing that she will be in a great school.That is a satisfying thought. So we will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

I have been very happy with the quality of education that my son is getting. My child gets the one on one attention he needs to succeed. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

My children have attended Fountain of Life Lutheran School for over eight years. The administration and staff are very caring and class sizes help students grow in their Christian faith. I know that whem my children go to school they will come home every afternoon with new knowledge and a positive attitude about their accademic, musical and athletic experiences. The facilities at the school are exceptional. A new middle school building was recently built and the elementary school's building recently renovated. A new security fence outlines the perimeter of the school to give everyone the sense of safety and security. If you want your children to have a safe and rewarding Christian education then please contact the principal to enroll your children. This has been a wonderful school for my three children over the years and I am confident you will find the same for yours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Fantastic. Wonderful Christian school with an emphasis on Scholastics. Test scores are remarkable. Great Computer and Music programs. Small class size each with an aide. Every grade from pre-k to 8th grade is great. They have hands on projects that are amazing, most public schools don't have projects as challenging in high school. The kids are fantastic they are learning a lot and have great self esteem and attitudes. If you want a fantastic, wonderful education for your kids with caring teachers in a Christian environment this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Hispanic 4% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Physical Fitness State Champions (2011)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. David Falkner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Drop In
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (866) 508-3020

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We offer smaller class sizes and excellent communication between parents and teachers. At FOL School, we want to partner with parents in their child's education and we strive to build a strong sense of family within our students, parents, and staff members.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $5000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University High
Desert Christian High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

710 S Kolb Rd
Tucson, AZ 85710
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 514-7688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT