Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Green Fields Country Day School

Private | K-12 | 183 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Green Fields has been operating in Tucson for 80 years as of 2013! This small, K-12 Independent School, accredited by the North Central Association, operates with the goal of fostering challenge, balance and inquiry through rigorous and nurturing educational programs. In addition to its classrooms our historic campus contains organic vegetable gardens, grassy fields and playround areas where students eat lunch, socialize and play, a chicken coop, a greenhouse, a geode-shaped art dome, mature trees, a gymnasium, baseball/softball fields, a soccer field and a track, as well as many historic and modern buildings. Small class sizes allow for individualized instruction by our experienced, professional staff, many of whom have advanced degrees in their area of specialization. Capstone programs at each grade level throughout the school provide opportunities for hands-on learning and character development. Students of all ages gain skills in leadership, communication and citizenship through the active learning activities provided by their caring teachers. There is a strong sense of community at Green Fields , and every student is valued,cherished and nurtured as an individual!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2014

My daughter is in kindergarten at Green Fields this year and has had a fantastic experience! She has made wonderful strides in all academic areas (reading, math, science, civics), and has also been actively engaged in music, art, drama, Spanish and French. She has made lasting friendships and I have been impressed with the way teachers help children with negotiating and problem-solving with their peers. and The teachers are professional and experienced in developmentally appropriate instruction, but most importantly they care about each child, and the small class size (12 in kindergarten this year!) allows for close, individual attention and targeted instruction. The historic campus is full of country charm, right in the city-- and the organic vegetable gardens (vegetables are planted, harvested and consumed by students and their families), chicken coop, large, shady playground and mature trees make this school a child's wonderland! We feel part of the kindergarten 'family' of families, but also appreciated the sense of feeling welcomed to the larger school community. The values and practices at this school make it a rare educational gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

Greenfields is a great school. Our daughter has been attending for 3 years, what an amazing place. Many of the teachers are talented and passionate. Class sizes are typically small, but not too small. We encourage anybody looking for a good to school to try Greenfields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

We made the switch to Green Fields this year, and have been very happy with the transition. The school has really helped us appreciate our son's uniqueness. He has been challenged academically, and is also exposed to drama, music, and art as a normal part of his curriculum. Sally Miller and Adam Kingery find each child's strengths, but do not ignore their weaknesses. Responsibility, accountability, compassion, and community involvement are also stressed, so I know my son is learning what it means to be a positive force, and that success requires discipline and focus.There is a true sense of community at Green Fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Being at this school has helped shaped my son's entire life. Not only is he challenged in a creative and academic way, he also is appreciated for his individuality. The faculty are experienced and caring. The class sizes are small. The school's sense of community is one of a kind, the lower school students mingle with upper school so that the children grow together. The tuition is high, but it's worth every penny. There is both need-based and merit-based financial aid available, which was very helpful to our family. There were previously some issues with finance and governance, however, these seem to have been resolved over the past few years thanks to a change of headmaster. I am so thankful that my child will graduate from Green Fields!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Green Fields has several things going for it: small class size, challenging curriculum, and many good teachers. However, the quality of teaching varies, and there is arrogance and inflexibility on the part of the school staff, which results in changes not being made to improve and expand the school and issues with inadequate teachers or other matters not being resolved. Many have been there for a considerable period of time. There is a pecking order, and parents are not necessarily seen as partners in their children's education. Communication is spotty. The kids get along well with each other and accept differences readily, and this is a good school if your child is struggling with intolerance/bully issues at their current school. The tuition is very high, and you are also always asked for more money through constant fundraising activities. Tuition doesn't includ the week-long interim costs. The small size of the upper schools means that the children miss out on being around ndividuals from many difference backgrounds and life experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

My son started here this year in the ninth grade. We have been blown away by the caring, attention and quality of the faculty, staff and student body at Green Fields! For the first time in years, my son is excited about what he's learning and wants to TALK to us about it. This is big, folks. The teachers are so attentive and helpful. It would be impossible for a child to fall through the cracks here. We feel very thankful to be able to send our son to Green Fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

A wonderful K-12 school with very low student-teacher ratios and exceptional teachers. Very happy kids wholove to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

The school has a lot to offer; unfortunately, the turnover of staff, the controlling board, the very pricey tuition has left a lot of us stunned and confused. We hope it can stay open through our child's graduation and that someone does something to improve morale and quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

During our time at the school, we felt that Green Fields had many good teachers but many serious problems with finance, governance and administration. We wanted to keep our children there for the sake of the teachers (some of whom have now left), but we ended up deciding to withdraw them because of the leadership problems. Our advice to prospective parents is this: investigate carefully and thoroughly before enrolling your children. Good teaching is important, but it cannot guarantee the stability of the institution if other important things are not in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Just read the review from 5/20, and want to give some other thoughts. GF recently celebrated its 75th anniversary in Tucson, and several of the buidings have historical significance. My daughter's classroom is the same that was used for the original boy's school students and has vaulted, beamed ceilings and a fireplace, even. A multipurpose room was recently built and the designers incorporated anoriginal adobe wall rather than tearing it down. I personally prefer this aesthetic to pre-fab--but really, those are simply personal aesthetic choices. What really counts is the quality of instruction. Learning doesn't have to take place in new classrooms, or in classrooms, period! GF kids learn in the greenhouse, the riparian area, the chicken coop, the Friday farmer's markets, the the athletic fields, and the stage, AS WELL as in the classrooms. Finally, I doubt that ANY great teacher is paid what they are worth, but it's true that our beloved teachers at GF accepted a pay decrease two years ago to help keep the school healthy. This speaks volumes to the committment they have to Greenfields and its students. Trust me, Greenfields is not going ANYWHERE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

My son Carlos attended Greenfields from 6th grade on. He was privileged to have teachers such as Mr. Dorson. Mr. Teller, Ms. Cordieer and Mr. Haskett. Mr Haskett inspired him so that he studied English literature at Wesleyan and dedicated his honors thesis to him. This is the best school in Tucson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

My child started at Green Fields in 9th grade and has been there for almost 2 years now. The community (parents, students in the same grade, students in other grades) surrounded her with acceptance and inclusion from the first day we visited. The teachers are very good, and the classes are small enough that they each know exactly what is going on with each student. I receive e-mails from teachers when test grades are exceptionally high, and if they are of concern. These are always personalized with detailed description about my child's performance. The teachers are available in person after school and by cell phone and email in the evenings for extra help. One period each week is a Study Table time for the entire high school so any student can meet with any teacher for extra help or additional questions. The teachers set high standards, and then help each student strive to reach those. I am very pleased with the educational and extracurricular experience at Green Fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

It seems that parents these days are in a big hurry for their kids to grow up. They are forgetting the absolute fundamental portion of growing up. Childhood. Forcing math facts and worksheets onto young children will teach them how to memorize and how to make their parents happy. It will NOT teach them essential life skills to survive in this world. Green Fields School excels in exposing children to all of the many wonderful aspects of being a child. They play in trees, in mud, in paint. They learn about art and music and theater by doing. They learn math by counting eggs the chicken coop or rows of corn in the greenhouse. They watch rockets launch, they write poetry inspired by flower gardens. They take nature walks. They participate and win science fairs, Shakespeare competitions and state vocal competitions. Children are nurtured and encouraged to be their best at whatever they try. This school is an amazing place. Once you step foot on campus, you never want to leave. It is a very special place, for very special children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

If you are looking for a school with outstanding teachers, small class sizes, challenging, authentic curriculum, and a nurturing community, then Green Fields is the school for you! Students from lower school to upper school are involved in project based, higher level learning experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Our daughter has attended GFCDS since the seventh grade and she really loves her school. Since it is a smaller school, there are numerous opportunities to participate in any activity that she wants to do--high school chorus musicals, athletics [she has played basketball, including in the state tournament, volleyball and softball], student government, national honor society. With much smaller classes than in the public schools, she knows her teachers well and is preparing for her upcoming transition to college. One of her favorite aspects of the school is the large, open, green campus. The cost has been well worth the education and the whole school experience that she has been receiving. We know that it is far superior to what she would have received in a public school setting. Based on our experience, we would recommend Green Fields to any parent/student/family that is looking for the whole enchilada in a K to 12 education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Green Fields has provided a wonderful environment for my son to grow as a student and citizen. The school community embrace him and challenge him every day. His teachers adjust the curriculum to match his individual needs as a student, while creating an environment for all of the students to flourish together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

If a total education is what you are looking for, then Green Fields is for you. My daughter has flourished here and will continue to as long as we are in Tucson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

I attended Green Fields CDS from 7th grade through high school. I couldn't be more thankful for the one of a kind education I received. I am happy to hear that many of the same teachers I had are still teaching, and the same wonderful programs are still being offered. I recently had my first child and if I am still in Tucson when he is school age I will do my best to see that he attends Green Fields.


Posted April 3, 2011

I have had children at Green Fields for 6 years. It is a superior school. It is not perfect and it is not for everyone. There are so many other schools jumping over each other to cater to students' minds, to dwell on academic standards and teach to the test. If that is what you want in a shiny new physical plant, then go elsewhere. But if you want more for your family and your child, Green Fields is as good as it gets. GF has very strong academics, but it also tries to meet the needs of the whole child. I don't know of any other school in town that does this half so well. Yes it is expensive and yes it has some flaws. You are not going to find fancy facilities here; but you will find 3/4 of a Century of rich history. GF is a school where parent involvement is high and you can make a difference in ways you could not dream of doing at other schools. The teachers are incredibly talented and dedicated. The students are well-rounded and happy, and given many more broad opportunities than they might get elsewhere. The same students who win science fairs are out on the soccer field and acting in school performances. Our kids are there, despite the cost, because they deserve it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 North Camino De La Tierra
Tucson, AZ 85741
Phone: (520) 297-2288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Carden of Tucson
Tucson, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT