Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 183

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a teacher
Green Fields has been operating in Tucson for 80 years as of 2013! This small, K-12 Independent School, accredited by the North Central Association, operates with the goal of fostering challenge, balance and inquiry through rigorous and nurturing educational programs. In addition to its classrooms our historic campus contains organic vegetable gardens, grassy fields and playround areas where students eat lunch, socialize and play, a chicken coop, a greenhouse, a geode-shaped art dome, mature trees, a gymnasium, baseball/softball fields, a soccer field and a track, as well as many historic and modern buildings. Small class sizes allow for individualized instruction by our experienced, professional staff, many of whom have advanced degrees in their area of specialization. Capstone programs at each grade level throughout the school provide opportunities for hands-on learning and character development. Students of all ages gain skills in leadership, communication and citizenship through the active learning activities provided by their caring teachers. There is a strong sense of community at Green Fields , and every student is valued,cherished and nurtured as an individual!

Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten at Green Fields this year and has had a fantastic experience! She has made wonderful strides in all academic areas (reading, math, science, civics), and has also been actively engaged in music, art, drama, Spanish and French. She has made lasting friendships and I have been impressed with the way teachers help children with negotiating and problem-solving with their peers. and The teachers are professional and experienced in developmentally appropriate instruction, but most importantly they care about each child, and the small class size (12 in kindergarten this year!) allows for close, individual attention and targeted instruction. The historic campus is full of country charm, right in the city-- and the organic vegetable gardens (vegetables are planted, harvested and consumed by students and their families), chicken coop, large, shady playground and mature trees make this school a child's wonderland! We feel part of the kindergarten 'family' of families, but also appreciated the sense of feeling welcomed to the larger school community. The values and practices at this school make it a rare educational gem!


Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
Greenfields is a great school. Our daughter has been attending for 3 years, what an amazing place. Many of the teachers are talented and passionate. Class sizes are typically small, but not too small. We encourage anybody looking for a good to school to try Greenfields.

Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
We made the switch to Green Fields this year, and have been very happy with the transition. The school has really helped us appreciate our son's uniqueness. He has been challenged academically, and is also exposed to drama, music, and art as a normal part of his curriculum. Sally Miller and Adam Kingery find each child's strengths, but do not ignore their weaknesses. Responsibility, accountability, compassion, and community involvement are also stressed, so I know my son is learning what it means to be a positive force, and that success requires discipline and focus.There is a true sense of community at Green Fields.

Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Being at this school has helped shaped my son's entire life. Not only is he challenged in a creative and academic way, he also is appreciated for his individuality. The faculty are experienced and caring. The class sizes are small. The school's sense of community is one of a kind, the lower school students mingle with upper school so that the children grow together. The tuition is high, but it's worth every penny. There is both need-based and merit-based financial aid available, which was very helpful to our family. There were previously some issues with finance and governance, however, these seem to have been resolved over the past few years thanks to a change of headmaster. I am so thankful that my child will graduate from Green Fields!


Green Fields Country Day School 3

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
Green Fields has several things going for it: small class size, challenging curriculum, and many good teachers. However, the quality of teaching varies, and there is arrogance and inflexibility on the part of the school staff, which results in changes not being made to improve and expand the school and issues with inadequate teachers or other matters not being resolved. Many have been there for a considerable period of time. There is a pecking order, and parents are not necessarily seen as partners in their children's education. Communication is spotty. The kids get along well with each other and accept differences readily, and this is a good school if your child is struggling with intolerance/bully issues at their current school. The tuition is very high, and you are also always asked for more money through constant fundraising activities. Tuition doesn't includ the week-long interim costs. The small size of the upper schools means that the children miss out on being around ndividuals from many difference backgrounds and life experiences.

Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
My son started here this year in the ninth grade. We have been blown away by the caring, attention and quality of the faculty, staff and student body at Green Fields! For the first time in years, my son is excited about what he's learning and wants to TALK to us about it. This is big, folks. The teachers are so attentive and helpful. It would be impossible for a child to fall through the cracks here. We feel very thankful to be able to send our son to Green Fields.

Green Fields Country Day School 5

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
A wonderful K-12 school with very low student-teacher ratios and exceptional teachers. Very happy kids wholove to learn!


Green Fields Country Day School 3

Posted July 24, 2012
- a parent
The school has a lot to offer; unfortunately, the turnover of staff, the controlling board, the very pricey tuition has left a lot of us stunned and confused. We hope it can stay open through our child's graduation and that someone does something to improve morale and quality of education.

Green Fields Country Day School 1

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
During our time at the school, we felt that Green Fields had many good teachers but many serious problems with finance, governance and administration. We wanted to keep our children there for the sake of the teachers (some of whom have now left), but we ended up deciding to withdraw them because of the leadership problems. Our advice to prospective parents is this: investigate carefully and thoroughly before enrolling your children. Good teaching is important, but it cannot guarantee the stability of the institution if other important things are not in place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Fields Country Day School
6000 North Camino De La Tierra, Tucson, AZ  85741
(520) 297-2288
Last modified Green Fields Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Green Fields Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top