Advertisement
Advertisement

Castlehill Country Day School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

RUN!..and don't look back. Every negative post 100% accurate. Positive ones likely solicited. No refunds: If a child is pulled, there is something behind a parent willing to forfeit payment. No sense of community. Parents embattled in a never-ending game of "one-up". Noses held high. Zero economic diversity, subsequently kids have hefty entitlement/behavioral issues and, since parents insist on handpicking their child's playmates to ensure optimum exposure to the 'elite', they are incapable of interacting with each other on their own terms. Arrogance palpable. HM readily available for questions, tours, endless words of encouragement, -then vaporizes once paid. (No sighting for months and not so much as a phone call as to why we pulled our children). With our FULL tuition PAID IN ADVANCE, this should be very telling. Even tried to encourage us to enroll 1 of our children IN A LOWER GRADE because there wasn't a "spot available" at the time. This was pushed in every way imaginable from "You don't want your child to be the youngest, do you?", "We teach at an accelerated level so it would be the same as" to "This is our standard policy based on child's birth date". ARE YOU KIDDING ME?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Wish the administration would give us a good reason to stay and spend 10 k. So much attrition so many teachers quitting and the constant shuffle of moving teachers around is disturbing. Front office often makes us feel we are being a pain when asking questions. Making money seems to be a priority over kids and parents. Maybe this was a great school once but would advise to look for alternatives as we will for next year. Constintently nickel and dimed. Where does all the money go?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

Castlehill is an AMAZING school! I disagree with every point the reviewer on August 28th, 2012 made. The office staff is so welcoming and friendly, the teachers are fantastic, and it's a very diverse group of kids. We couldn't be happier at this school, it met every thing on our long list of desires for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

Castlehill turned out to be unable to live up to it's reputation. I feel the school has gone downhill in recent years and it shows with the number of parents pulling their children from the school. The arrogance is palpable yet unfounded. Class sizes are small which is nice in the beginning, but as children age they need to be around more children and children of diverse backgrounds as this is what the "real world" is all about. Castlehill certainly keeps them in a bubble. The office staff always made me feel I was bothering them when I came in to ask for assistance or to simply buy tickets for an event or make a payment. Very unfriendly! They charge $400 to register each child. The question is where is this money going? The infrastructure is crumbling with old playground equipment and modular classrooms. The entry off of Craycroft Rd. is uninviting with a vinyl sign displaying the school name and a chain-link fence running around the property covered with green landscape fabric. For a top-notch school the appearances are frankly embarassing. There are much better alternatives in this community. Constant fundraising and requests for money are another downfall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

We recently moved to California and we cannot find a school comparable to what we had at Castlehill. All the teachers were fantastic. My kids come home from their current school saying how much they miss all there was to offer at Castlehill. The art, music, science, spanish...everything exceeded my expectations. There is lots of parent involvement and you feel special and welcome there. Arlene was always there for me when I needed her and she continues to be a resource for me even after we have moved away. It is a wonderful place to be. Highly recommend!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Incredibly disappointed with the administration and the school. The worst private school my children attended. Do not waste your time and money and look for other alternatives. I should have listened to other disappointed parents that pulled their children from this school. I am now one of the many. Do your research and look for other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

Average at best! Do not be fooled by their geographic location they have no affiliation with the neighboring middle and high school. Their teachers are drastically underpaid. If your child is average or the status quo it is probably fine. But if your child has any issues they do not have the expertise, staff or ability to handle. If you child excels they also cannot keep up or match up and do not have the faculty to maximize your child's growth. There are so many good charter schools and other private schools in town that this should be toward the bottom of your list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

The preschool program is excellent. The leadership is pathetic. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the teachers are wonderful for the most part. However, the kids are not well disciplined and chaos often rules as a result of the lack of leadership. The learning environment is stifled because many of the kids cannot sit in their seats for more than five minutes. Some of the children were inappropriate in a variety of ways, and the school leadership never intervened. This is a school with solid teachers, a great preschool, and wonderful potential. We recommend public school or other private schools in the area over this unhealthy environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Our child started in Pre-K and went all the way through. Before choosing CCDS, we visited every single other school that Tucson has to offer. CCDS felt like home and we never regretted it. The teachers are outstanding and our child is now one of the most academically gifted students in high school due largely in part because of the foundation that CCDS gave to our child. NOWHERE else will you see teachers put in the extra mile for your child or for the parents either. The Art, P.D., Spanish, Music, Science and Computer courses are phenomenal as well. They have a ZERO tolerance for any bullying. Good luck finding a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

First of all I have to say right off the back that the low score has NOTHING to do with the teachers who are great but the headmaster and the exasperated cost for tuition and the "clicky-ish" demeanor and attitude that alot of the parents have. The way they act, you would think you were entering a sorority house!!!!! if I could take the teachers out of that environment and place them in another school, that would be ideal. Unfortunately great teachers alone could not keep me from continuing there, if you do your research like I did you WILL find private schools that offer quality education without having to mortgage the house!!!! don't be fooled by those who are saying how great the school is while conveniently leaving out how very expensive it is, lack of parking space, crowded halls and just a "better-than-thou" attitude so many of those parents have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

If you are truly looking for a great school, do your homework and talk to parents of the students attending the school. Remember that anyone can post a review here. Take the tours at a number of schools and sit in on classes, observe recess and lunch time and judge for yourself. Both of our children have been at Castlehill for a number of years and are both a grade level above their friends and peers in other schools. One of the big reasons we chose a school like Castlehill is that the classes are taught to educate the children and build their self-confidence and critical thinking skills, not so the children can pass a standardized test that the government requires to get funding. The grass is always greener somewhere else. Any private school is selling itself to get students, do your own due diligence and make an informed decision of what is best for your child. Castlehill is a great school that offers opportunities not available elsewhere. The teachers are great and seem to really care for their students progress. I've seen teachers in multiple grade levels staying late and tutoring students on multiple occasions at no charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Many students are leaving this year, so if small class sizes are what you like, you have come to the right place at the right time. All joking aside, one of the main reasons we are leaving is the lack of testing. I had friends who had moved away and when they went to re-enroll their children or child in other schools, there children were held back a year. Unfortunately this was not an isolated incident. I know parents who are spending some serious $$$ tutoring their children trying to catch them up. We too panicked and had our child tested and also had poor results. The prior post is correct. There ARE girls wearing very short shorts and TIGHT tops, not quite the best environment for learning. Hopefully these comments will be a gift to the school and they can adjust accordingly. 5 Stars to their Music, Art, Science and Spanish programs! Best of luck Castlehill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

The school and the teachers are great. My daughter a kindergartener loves her teacher and adores assistance teacher. The teacher is well experienced with more than 20 years of teaching young kids and she knows how to get the best from them in learning new things , mannerisms and discipline.The learning process is well designed with lots of onsite visits for kids to lean different aspects of day today activities like banking system , broadway theater shows , fire department , different business center and even in-house visit from police officer. Teacher and the assist teacher have some much of patients,skills to handle young kids and knowledge that I generally recommend this school to all my friends. I am very happy to enrolled my daughter in this school. My daughter had best education experience , attitude and learning skills for last three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

The reviews submitted October 2009 were unfortunately deceptively submitted by the headmaster of this school desperate to regain a respectable positive reputation for a faltering school that needs to be shutdown. The only credible faculty left is the art teacher the rest of the teachers are below average at most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

This last post says it all!!!! My experience was similar. I would not recommend this school. What you see when you tour is not the reality of what happens in the school. They put on a great show for new parents. Bulling is a real problem here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

The school has problems and they should have never hired Ms. Hall. I feel for those kids. If you want to send your child there for pre-k and K. It is a wonderful experience. The school should stick to pre-K through 3rd grade, but after that I would pull your kid(s) to a different school. This school does not address dress codes (very skimpy clothing attire on 4th and 5th graders), bullying, bad teachers (Ms. Hall), or parents who do their kid(s) work and projects (science fair). If parents want to repeat these elementary years, they can go back to school. There should be a dress code in place, too many kids wore clothing that sexualize their bodies, i.e, short shorts, mini skirts, little to no tops to strapless and flip flops. It doesn't take rocket science to ask parents to use common sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Dedicated energetic teachers at every grade level, a talented, concerned and involved headmistress and extras like Spanish, music and art program oppurtunities tha you will not find anywhere else in Tucson make this a first rate school. I cannot say enough good things about this school. My granddaughter just graduated from fifth grade my grandson is a pre-kindergartner and they both love this place. It is a safe and beautiful place to educate your children, they will leave here with the confidence and skills to make an easy transition to Middle School and everything else in life. My granddaughters description of this scholl, 'it's like going to school with your grandma, you will get into trouble if you mess up, but you know that Mrs Schlosberg will still love you afterwards' what more can you say!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

A very good school with a caring headmaster and teachers who challenge their students. The faculty includes a great team of teaching assistants as well. Student-teacher ratio is about 10-1 if not below in most classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Castlehill is a wonderful school lead by a dynamic headmistress who knows and loves every child there. Her mission is to have each child maximize his or her academic potential while enjoying the process of learning. She does an amazing job with fairly limited resources (the tuition is not cheap for Tucson, but it still probably less than public school per capitas and far less than schools offering comparable education in bigger cities).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Outstanding in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 12% 39%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Black 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 11%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Arline Schlossberg
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3225 N Craycroft Rd
Tucson, AZ 85712
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 795-0008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Adventure School
Tucson, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT