Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Castlehill Country Day School 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
This school combines small class sizes with excellent teachers. The teachers get to know your child individually and tailor the work according to their skill level. Your child will have the same specials' (phys ed, music, art, computers) teachers their entire time there and will get to know other grade level teachers through clubs and other activities. This has been hugely important for my son (now in first grade) because he is very shy and takes a while to come out of his shell. But he now feels comfortable, not just with is current teacher, but the teachers he will have in future years as well. The only negative of the school is that communication between admin and parents could be better, but this is a minor detail in the overall picture. In my experience so far, the teachers always have open lines of communication.

Castlehill Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
Many of the teachers have been there for a very long time and have a lot of experience teaching their grade level. They have fun looking classrooms and really get the kids excited about learning.


Castlehill Country Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
The school work is totally doable and teachers are willing to work with you to let you know how to help your child at home.

Castlehill Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
Castlehill encourages kids to succeed and have fun ways for the kids to celebrate their success.

Castlehill Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
The kids at Castlehill are truly kind and they respect one another. Teachers are great to help the kids work together and respect one another.


Castlehill Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
The school has something called "community colors" they include children from Kindergarten to 5th grade. They learn to work together and care for one another.

Castlehill Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
The kids are taught honest and integrity from a very young age at Castlehill. Kids are treated fairly and in turn treat one another fairly.

Castlehill Country Day School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
Castlehill is an amazing school. My 7 year old and 8 year old both attend and love it there. We began in the preschool program when my son was 4 and at the time my daughter was going to another private school for Kindergarten. When open house came we took the kids to both schools for open house. My daughter said, "I WANT TO GO TO THIS SCHOOL". So we changed her in the middle of Kindergarten. It was a total different experience for her. She no longer talked about bullying or bad things that happened at school, she spoke about the fun things they did and how nice the kids were. We love the teachers, they really work with the parents and parents are welcome to be involved. I love being able to walk them into class every day and have lunch with them whenever I want. The parents are all soooo nice and welcoming and it truly feels like a family. The "Specials" teachers are also above and beyond amazing. Mrs. Valencia the art teacher does AMAZING things with the kids. Mrs. Tinley the science teacher is all about hands on learning. Both Music teachers have the kids perform a show that always leaves me in awe of what these kids are capable of. Mrs. Jorgensen makes PD so much fun and the kids love her. I would say the best thing about this school are the kids, they are all truly nice kids. The older kids play with the younger kids and look out for them. My kids don't talk about bullies at all. The kids are sweet and because the class sizes are small they all tend to become close friends. I love this school!!!!!


Castlehill Country Day School 5

Posted December 30, 2014
- a parent
I am sad to read some nasty reviews of Castlehill. My daughter has attended from Pre-K to 5th grade. We have loved every teacher, found the curriculum extremely stimulating and appreciate that she also receives specialized art, music, science and physical education, some of which have disappeared in public schools. They also learn to write beautifully in cursive, which public schools have done away with. Any sort of clique or bullying behavior, which it seems is so prevalent in society, is minimal to non-existent. My daughter's classmates are kind to, and supportive of, each other. I have observed some parents who seem driven to complain and find fault, something I imagine permeates other aspects of their lives, and I find it sad they are modeling that behavior for their children. My daughter is well-spoken and has easily tested into another private middle school, something I wholly attribute to her tenure at Castlehill. I recommend it highly.

Castlehill Country Day School 2

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
The great advantage of this school is that the children are rather well behaved. Coming from the chaos of the public schools, that may well be enough for some parents to shell out the tuition. However, do so with fair warning that the education provided is substandard, and children beyond the preschool years are underserved. The administration, namely the headmistress/owner, is not trustworthy. If you are considering the school while speaking with her, I would strongly suggest that you get everything that she promises in writing. I would also strongly discourage any parent from paying the full year's tuition up front, as when you discover the likely bait and switch you will want to have that money for outside tutoring to help your child overcome the educational deficit that the school will cause. Ask for a complete history of teachers in the various grades. There is an extremely high turnover, and most of the teachers (except for the specials teachers) that remain are substandard. Simply put, great teachers won't put up with the administration at this school for long. I gave this school 2 stars rather than 1 because it's mediocre, not completely terrible. Avoid if possible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castlehill Country Day School
3225 N Craycroft Rd, Tucson, AZ  85712
(520) 795-0008
Last modified Castlehill Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Castlehill Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. Top