Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 290
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Gregory School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a student
Many of the teachers are incredible. A few are just OK, but they are being phased out. Fairly advanced classes (all are Honors-level), AP classes too. Some use traditional methods, others do really unique and interesting things. Feels like college sometimes. The campus is quite nice. Very open. The weather is great, hallways are outdoors. So much open space. Incredible views. Lots of glass. Some old, some new buildings. It's a private school in a good neighborhood. Almost all families are upper-middle or upper-income professionals. The campus has security but is not tightly guarded, but that's a good thing because it doesn't feel like a prison (like other area schools). The communication between parents & students, the administration, and the board needs improvement for sure. Parents and students don't really have input in any of the decisions made by the administration. They are pleasant, but the Head of School is the only one with any power. If you want really competitive sports, the school doesn't play in a big league like other local ones, but they usually do pretty well when they compete. There are a variety of clubs, along with art, music, and theater.

The Gregory School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with this school. It offers the perfect combination of academics, community and extracurricular activities. My kids moved from a local charter school that absolutely killed their love of learning. It's back at the Gregory School.


The Gregory School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Tucson has so many options for high school, and I looked at each one objectively for my child and chose Gregory for many reasons. Overall it provides the most well-rounded education, if you care about great academics as well as great art, sports and extracurricular clubs and being held accountable for community projects, then Gregory is the best option. The classes are small, teachers respond immediately to concerns and tutoring is offered daily, and encouraged. The athletic teams have great school spirit, we have highly ranked teams going to states, and art classes that are more inspired than those I took in college. The campus is the most attractive in all of Tucson and the science building is incomparable with beautiful labs and inspired teachers. There is dedicated college counseling with a very devoted counselor and a huge college fair annually. The student body has a large international contingent, my child has friends from South Africa, German, Ukraine, China, Turkey and Brazil. It's incredible! I think it's impossible to find a better option for middle or high school, just send your child for a one day on campus visit and they will not want to go anywhere else.

The Gregory School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
While it was just renamed, the school is still the same. My daughter is in high school and her teachers are excellent. They all have advanced degrees in the field and they are experienced in the classroom. The academics are great preparation for a top-tier college or university, but they value critical thinking, writing skills, and creativity over pure test prep like you see at many other schools. Students are well rounded because of arts, sports, and extracurriculars. The education is great, but the school is run by its biggest donors who are appointed to the school board.

The Gregory School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a community member
St. Gregory completely prepared both of my children for college. They went to competitive universities and one has sailed through and graduated, while the other is a junior and doing beautifully. Both will tell you that it was their preparation at St. Gregory that afforded them the opportunity to become critical thinkers, have a connection to their college professors, and most importantly have a desire to be lifelong learners. It was worth every cent....enroll today. I cannot believe that my grown children still think that St. Gregory was the best choice they ever made.


The Gregory School 5

Posted November 29, 2013
- a community member
Small class size, excellent curricular approaches, family-like student/faculty relationship, rigorous education in preparation for entry into college/university of choice. Minimal teach-to-state/fed test misdirection. Excellent paving-the-way to the higher level experience. The new leadership is bringing an even more superior approach to giving the students every possible step up in his or her journey through the educational process.

The Gregory School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
omg this place is awesome i love it more than any other school in el mundo

The Gregory School 5

Posted October 14, 2012
- a community member
I strongly encouraged my grandson to attend St Gregory's now 3 1/2 yrs ago. I am overwhelmed with the broad education he has received, many of the courses being advanced. The school has provided a medium for him to excel as a leader, as a very creative contributor to the audiovisual needs of the school, as a poised liberal arts educated young man and involvement in school athletics. To put a number on his education, his pre-college testing has placed him in the top 1% nationally. A retired U of A professor.


The Gregory School 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a community member
This is a great school! I highly recommend it to anyone looking for great academics, fun athletics, and to educate the whole child. There are many extracurricular activities and opportunities, for example summer trips to a foreign country to immerse yourself in the language and culture (a big part of learning a language here). Students participate in activities having to do with the core values: character, scholarship, leadership, and innovation. This is not just a school for rich kids. While many of the families here are well-off, many are not. 1/3 of the school is on financial aid, and several students are on scholarship. The teachers here are excellent and very on the ball. Academic-wise, the students are very challenged. They can test into higher level classes, such as those having to do with math or languages. Socially, students are very accepting compared to students from a public middle or high school. Again, this is a wonderful school!

The Gregory School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a community member
St. Gregory has an outstanding academic course with attention that you will not find at ANY other school. All the grades make a special bonding with each other even though ages differ. You make a special bonding with teachers and the environment is just so welcoming and comfortable that help you study at your fullest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Gregory School
3231 North Craycroft Road, Tucson, AZ  85712
(520) 327-6395
Last modified The Gregory School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
The Gregory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top