Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Michael's School

Private | K-8 | 320 students

Our school is best known for its balance of programs.
 
 

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2012

This school used to be amazing! But now it has fallen down hill. As an alumni from the school I know realize how much better other schools are compared to this one. The school says that he have and meet the "standard" of private schools, but in reality, they're very similar to public schools, if not worse. Also, some of the children at the school are so ill-behaved, that they become intolerable. This also applies to some of the teachers. I've noticed about the teachers that they're either OUTSTANDING teachers, or simply to not come anywhere near the expectation of what St. Michael's says that they hold. Most of the K-4 teachers are wonderful, but after 5th grade they become vicious and don't understand the subject they should be teaching. All the school seems to care about is about whether of not the students chew gum in class or if they use wikipedia for their homework. I feel the campus is unsafe because often times homeless people are wandering around, because it is connected to a church. I recommend sending your child here only if you want to waste your money and ruin their future, as they did to me. I cannot feel like this school could have been more of a waste of time.


Posted July 24, 2011

I just graduated from St. Michaels, and I absolutely loved it. My friends and I talk about how much we miss it and all the great memories we made. The teachers were funny and kind. They would help you with anything you needed! If it was one-on-one time or just review! They would always be there for you. Also the teachers made the classes really interesting, and they would have more hands on experiences and fun simulations. Sure, the schoolwork is tough, and we did have a lot of homework, but what I realized was that every day I came home from school, I learned something. So when you ask your kids what they learned today, they will tell you so many things! One of my friends came from a public school, and she can't say how much she loved St. Mikes compared to other schools. Also the students are true genuine kids. I can't say that there isn't any drama because all schools have that. I can tell you that everyone tries to stop bullying or problems. St. Michaels has provided me with an outstanding experience, and one I will remember my whole life. Also this school has prepared me so well for high school, and I feel completely ready for the next 4 years. I highly recommend this school.


Posted September 9, 2010

My children love St. Michael's! This school manages to excel in academics and enrichment in sports, fine arts and languages. A lot is expected of students and parents but it is well worth the investment. The students here are motivated to work hard and are kind and happy. We came from another school three years ago, and the difference from smaller classes has kept my son and daughter engaged in learning. I know the teachers much better than I did before, and they know my children well. The only problem is that it just goes through 8th grade. We wish they had a high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

St Michaels is going more towards fine arts and is slipping in it's focus on acedemics. fine for students that enjoy band chorus but if you are looking for great acedemics look elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

St. Michael's has a well-rounded curriculum from Mathmatics to Latin. Children learn in smaller classrooms with teachers who are dedicated to education and the children they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

Our family is still experiencing a high from the beautiful graduation ceremony. It was a magical event. The headmaster's speech was eloquent and sensitive. The student and parent speeches were also excellent. Our only regret is that we did not come to this wonderful school sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

It is a very strong academic school. I've learned a lot while her, but there is a lot of bullying that the teachers don't seem to be aware of. The kids often curse and I've been punched before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

This school offers a warm and welcoming community. I feel that the staff and parents work together as a team to support their students. My child actually stated to me that she was 'glad we sent her to this school because she feels smarter'. Even though it is demanding academically, she loves it! How great is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

My two oldest children attended and graduated from St. Michael's. They were incredibly well-prepared for their honors high schools and often spoke of how well-prepared they were. My two youngest children are now students in the intermediate and middle school areas there. They are having wonderful experiences learning with the dedicated teachers and community, and feel safe and accepted. I have found the teachers and staff to be helpful and personally connected to my children's needs and concerns. This is an active community that has many wonderful educational experiences and opportunities for families to become involved year after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

When my child first attended this school we were delighted. However, within one year our experience with the school changed for the worse. At this school we found that academic excellence was stressed but not thoroughly supported. Inexperienced teachers were not given the tools they needed to succeed. Leadership seemed disinterested in parental concerns and appeared to lack an appropriate level of cultural sensitivity and awareness. In the end, we were very displeased with the school and removed our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

We are new to the school this year. We came from the public school sector. So far, I feel that we have made a great choice. Is it worth the money? You bet! I was not around for the turmoil mentioned in other reviews so I do not have a comparison to past years. I will say without a doubt that I am quite pleased with the headmaster and his communication to parents. All the staff are well credentialed and devoted. I am very pleased with all the subjects that are offered. It is academically challenging and demanding. This is not the place for the average to below average student. There are high expectations for the students here for both acheivement and behavior. As a parent you must be ready to be supportive of this environment. I find it refreshing! My daughter is excited to go to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

School year 2008 is going well. The turmoil noted by another parent has not been resolved, but the teachers, who are doing a great job, are hanging in there. There have been no open discussions with the autocratic rector or the board chair but a church parish is not a democracy. To date, this has not changed the essential character of the school community. The classes, the teachers, the program, the campus, the extracurriculars are all top notch. Hopefully the headmaster will head off to greener pastures soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Our child is just finishing Kindergarten this year, and it has been fantastic. Teacher is absolutely wonderful, and it's just been a great experience. However, the dissoluion of the parents' group and the resignation of a few key Board members is very troubling. There has been very little communication to the school community around these issues, which is further troubling. Hopefully things get back on track for the 2008-2009 school year - we would love to continue sending our child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Excellent school on all levels. Close-knit community with excellent parent involvement. Strong academic focus. Teachers and staff are all highly dedicated. You'll be impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I'm really impressed with St Michael's at this time. Comparing this to other schools in the Tucson valley, St Michael's is a more demanding curriculum: much better at developing children's academic skills than others we investigated. Starting our third year with children in 3rd and 1st grade now. Teachers have been excellent in discipline and academic leadership, as well as the kids liking them. Extracurricular activities are dramatically better than other schools in the area. Behavior across the entire campus is remarkable when compared to other schools, and our teachers have been willing to keep raising the goals to keep the children working to higher and higher standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Wow! Our experience at St. Michael's's has been very positive. The new headmaster is advancing the quality of instruction and fine arts programs, the teachers are working hard to help students succeed, and the physical environment is very inviting. It doesn't seem at all ' rigid, demanding, and worksheet driven' to us. Students do many projects and field trips and have music, art, Spanish, and P.E during the school day. We appreciate the community feeling and emphasis on always improving...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2007

The best thing about St. Michael's is the community - families are extremely involved in their children's education. That said, however, I feel that the quality of the school is declining. Lower elementary learning is heavily worksheet-based with multiple hours of homework per week. Experiential learning is proven to be more developmentally appropriate for this age group yet I don't see enough offered at St Michael's. Also, I fear that discipline is becoming a huge problem - bullying, foul language etc. This can quickly become a major issue-I am curious to see how the faculty takes charge of this potentially damaging situation.For a school that has such tremendous parental involvement and support, it is surprising that the faculty does not involve the parents more often to combat this issue. Zero tolerance and parental notification can go a long way. This is our 4th year here and I am quickly becoming disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

We looked at all the private and many of the public/charter schools, including our own foothills district before placing my 6th grade son here last year. Although the ride is far and my son is neither Christian nor religious, we love St. Michael's. The teachers are amazingly engaged and engaging, the kids are caring, supportive, fun and seem very happy. The community is a healthy, close-kint environment, and the academics are first-class. I wish there were more opportunities for exercise and healthy snacking during the day, but otherwise I wouldn't change anything about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2006

This is a highly academic school. The kids who attend are generally wonderful. The facility is also great. However, the program for the younger grades, kindergarten and first graders, is too rigid and demanding. The teachers emphasize worksheets rather than teaching higher level thinking skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We are so thrilled with St. Michael's! The fact that Spanish and Latin are offered to middle schoolers, they have a chess club, lots of sports (volleyball, soccer, basketball, track, football, cheerleading, cross country, etc) make it one of the best religious schools I've seen in years. I have 4 kids there now and can't imagine a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 42%
Hispanic 6% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Margaret Delk Moore
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (520) 886-0851

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Girls on the run
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
68
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
80

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University High School
Salpointe High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

602 N Wilmot Rd
Tucson, AZ 85711
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 722-8478

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tuller School
Tucson, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT