Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Civano Charter School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Kelly Koren has been a wonderful parent leader in our school community. She has a great personality, she works hard on issues that matter to the kids and she does hard work that goes beyond just showing up as a volunteer to do what someone tells you to do.

Civano Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I love the current group of teachers! They are professional, caring, and might even be known to rock the karaoke mic!


Civano Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Homework is regular with spelling and rote memorization items that one just has to learn. Otherwise, projects are handled in class or even during special sessions on weekends or on field trips.

Civano Charter School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
My children have had a wonderful time learning, and we have had a wonderful time as a family meeting with and being part of a caring, kind, educational community focused on the best things for our kids. I have a now high-schooler that learned about being responsible for your own education and has a 4.0 in high school. The most recent state test results came out and my kids were in the upper echelon of standardized testing. The teachers care, the parents care, the kids care. My kids look forward to going to school and are upset when they have to stay home. My learning experience was the opposite!

Civano Charter School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Unique and wonderful! It is a small school environment and I know more parents here than at any school my kids have been involved at, or that I was ever enrrolled in. There is a whole culture about becoming a self-guided learner and being an active parcipant in all facets of your own education rather than sitting at a desk and having an instructor be in charge of what you are able to learn. The scores can be misleading, as the school is on a two-year cycle with the lower grades, but the critical thinking skills, positive experience and lack of discipline related issues more than make up for a school that doesn't teach to the test.


Civano Charter School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
My children have had a wonderful experience at Civano. It starts every day with group sharing and singing a positive song together. I know most of the other parents and a good number of the kids. There are overnight events in the community and even a camp-out on the mountain that a lot of families go to over the fall break! For school events, it seems every kid and parent is present! For a fund-raiser, the kids created a restaurant and made a menu, took reservations and then worked from 5 pm to 10 pm on restaurant night. Kids hosted, waited tables, did dishes, prepared the food and even played live music. They learned while they earned! (PS, this was made possible by that commercial kitchen! So, yeah, the priorities are right!) Beyond the school culture, the teachers are great and it is a collaborative environment. As a parent I feel in tune with what my kids are being taught and love that they love learning. There are special electives like gardening and robotics! My kids learn at their own pace and are pushed to achieve more than they thought possible. With their tests scores in the 90+ range, I'm satisfied they're learning more than they would at other traditional schools!

Civano Charter School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a parent
The teacher and staff of Civano are amazing. they are always available and eager to help work with parents and students to bring out a child's best. Students are taught to be responsible for their own learning, meaning they learn time management at an early age and adopt a, "the buck stops here" attitude towards work. This program does not "teach the test" which results in less stellar standardized testing scores in earlier grades, but the pay off is reached with excellent scores later. The students have been taught to think their way through problems rather than memorize seemingly irrelevant facts. Parents and community are extremely involved and it shows!

Civano Charter School 5

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
Civano Middle School is a dream come true for us. We have two students there & they both love it. The teachers are flexible & go to unbelievable lengths to help each student. They truly use a "whole child" teaching method. Most assignments are done in the classroom, only a small amount of work is assigned as "homework". Our son went from hating school @ Desert Sky to LOVING school @ Civano!


Civano Charter School 5

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
As a parent and an educator, I am thrilled about Civano's 'whole child' approach to education. Children learn at their own pace, in small classes where students on various levels support each other and share their strengths. Their commitment to the environment is a plus, but it is their commitment to the education of the individual child that makes Civano an exceptional educational institute.

Civano Charter School 2

Posted May 10, 2009
- a parent
Civano Community School is basically privately run by a single individual whose commitment to 'green' and 'community' while a nice complement to goals of academic excellence, tends to over-shadow the fundamentals. Extremely small (four teachers for K-5), it's a nurturing environment for your K-1 child. As students move toward upper grades and require more diversity in their curriculum, teachers and classmates to meet both state standards and the intellectual/emotional needs of inquisitive and questioning 9-11 year olds, Civano begins to fall short. This is reflected to some degree in the school's aims scores, and the way student pop. dwindles as kids advance to upper levels. Priorities are clear: the $50,000 won for greenest school is earmarked for a commercial kitchen, rather than a science lab, a better library, etc. Not sure why this charter exists.

Nearby schools

Civano Charter School
10673 East Mira Ln, Tucson, AZ  85747
(520) 762-2040
Last modified Civano Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top