Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of Math and Science

Charter | K-8 | 334 students

We are best known for accelerated curriculum.

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 19 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

The school declared emergency in the middle of a horrible storm and made parents pick up the kids in very dangerous weather conditions. There was NO SIGN of flooding in the building itself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

The teachers, Mrs. Hubele, Mr Strada, Mrs.Davis & Ms. Joann helped my daughter not only on her academics but believing in herself & building her confidence. They care for the wholeness of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

It is an excellent school. However, I would like to have more parents involvement with the development of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

AMS has been an awesome school ; it teaches my son curriculum above his average grade level and its has a family orientated staff. I live 30 minutes away and the school assist me with giving my son transportation to its sister school which is more closer to my home. This school definitely goes above and beyond for its students and parents. Only room of opportunity I had was a situation with not getting notices in a timely manner , however I haven't had that issue in a while ....plus I had a 2nd grader....which may have aided to untimely notices which he has become more responsible.. Thank you AMS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

If you have a If you have a heart condition... do not send your child here. There is a good chance you'll have a heart attack when you come home and find your previously failing ADD child sitting on the couch doing homework and volunteering information about what he learned today. Seriously, this is a fantastic school. There are schools with better ratings and prestigious reputations, but there is a passion and youthful enthusiasm among the staff at AMS that I didn't see when I visited several other top rated charter schools in Tucson. If you have a child that wants to learn while having fun, bring them here. If you don't believe me, look at the kids not the staff next time you visit your school. Are they having fun? Now look at the staff, do they look happy? Do you expect your child to be? If you want a school that has a bunch of nonsensical bureaucracy full of stuffy old teachers go somewhere else. If you want an energetic and dynamic educational experience for your child, enroll them at the Academy of Math and Science in Tucson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

It's a great school with wonderful teachers and staff!! My children love this school and don't want to go to any other school. I like that they are ahead on learning and if they need help the teachers are always there for them since they have smaller group than any other school. They have more attention from their teacher. Whenever you have any questions you only have to call the school and they will always give you answers! It's a great school! I personally recommend it! My children been there for the last 3 years and more to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

The best thing I could do for my Granddaughter is find her a good school where she would be challenged academically. In my ignorance I allowed the public school system to fail two of my children and I was not about to let that happen again. AMS was that school. Now in her 4rth year at that school, she is performing above grade level. The staff and teachers have always been accessible to us. The staff really seams to care about my child's education and anything less then the best afford is not is just not good enough. Our children will have to compete with children from all over the country in collage. From all over the world, and lets face it our education system is less than adequate. Our kids need teachers who care and have expectations of them in order to succeed and AMS is doing just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

We had a great PAC meeting tonight. Mrs. Hartley really helped with technology! The middle school had a much larger turnout tonight than previous meetings.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2013

Although this school has a good curriculim, their disciplining protocal falls short. My child's teacher is not very friendly and does not have the patience to help my child learn. unfortunalty, I will be removing my child after 2 months of attending the Academy of Math and Science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

The last couple of reviews seem to be fake, perhaps becuase this school is sponsored on this website. Anyway, I agree with the later comments regarding bad communication between administration/teacher and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

In response to this: My child was discriminated because, he don't speak english. They did not wanted to apply a test in spanish, even when I said that him don't speak english. Submitted by a parent That is not discrimination.. That means your child should attend a school that offers Spanish testing, like a traditional public school. My daughter took a test in English.She nailed it, by the way we are not native English Speakers, we came from Asia. I agree that some children/students need special accommodations but there should be a point where school has to put a stop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

what I don't understand is why bother giving a bad review on a school that expects academic competency from a child. I'm very proud to say that my son has excelled so much at this school, because the amount of emphasis the staff places on being studious! just because a school demands what should be a standard demand in all public schools and that's to speak the primary language of this country doesn't mean they discriminated it means that finally someone stood up to those who expect to be catered to when your the one that wants your kid to attend school in this country. I'm Mexican american I served this country in the u.s army and both my kids primarily speak English we are in America after all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

In response to the most recent comment about "discrimination"...How is an entrance exam discrimination when ALL new students are expected to take one? Although I can't speak to the validity of that comment, I know what I have experienced at this school. This school is a partner in educating children, and does so by working with the parents and the students towards academic success. The entrance exam is a requirement to properly place a student into the right level. If the student isn't placed appropriately, then the child won't succeed. If the school overaccommodated the child during the entrance exam then the results would be flawed. Some people! We left traditional schools because of parent who felt that they deserved special treatment for their circumstances...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My child was discriminated because, he don't speak english. They did not wanted to apply a test in spanish, even when I said that him don't speak english.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Academy of Math and Science is a wonderful school and I have been very impressed by their level of Education. My daughter is super excited to go back and my son is very excited to start Kinder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

This school is great!! I was looking for a school that would challenge my 3 children, and AMS has done that. AMS has a great academic plan for each grade, and offers music & foreign language classes as well. The school also has after school activities, which keeps the children busy and learning new activies. One of the best attributes AMS has, it offers homework help every day (especially in math were all kids have trouble in). After one academic school year; I only have one regret, not sending my kids to AMS sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

the smartest decision i made 9 years ago was to enroll my 2 daughters at academy of math and science the education they have recieved has by far been better than any the could have gotten anywhere else. The staff is caring and talented we thank you all for all you have done for us carolyn eisner and the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

FYI: starting in 2013-14 this school will be K-8 only. I inquired about their HS program.


Posted August 21, 2012

My son attends MASSA, he's on 2nd grade this year. I have nothing but great things to say about this school. My son has excelled in so many ways is incredible, from being in a private school where he was supposed to receive a better education, here he has already received the presidential award and every kid has the attention they deserve. From Special Ed to extracurricular activities like karate, yoga, music & movement, arts & crafts. I invite you to visit the school and compare it to others. you will love it! The teachers are great, the principal has great relationship with each student & parent, amazing involvement and they take awesome care of the kids it's super safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My son is a 5th grader at AMS. He is quite bright but has some learning challenges. I can't begin to say enough good about his teacher. Mr. M brings out the best in my son. He runs a tight ship and has high expectations for the students. At the same time he engages the students so intensely that they are bound to perform their best. We gave our son the choice of this school or standard public school, telling him he would have to work much harder at AMS but would receive more help and a better education. He accepted the challenge, and for the first time ever has told us he loves school. Not only is he learning more, Mr. M has also helped him develop better over all study skills. This is not a school for kids who don't want to work hard. But for kids who really want to achieve, this school delivers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 43%
White 39% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon K-12 School (2008)
  • Gold Gain Middle School EPIC Award (2008)
  • America's Best High Schools, Bronze Medal, U.S. News and World Reports (2008)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Tatyana Chayka
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 888-1732

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Besides providing the foundation of a comprehensive, accelerated curriculum, the Academy of Math and Science enriches the whole child by the instruction of art, computers, music, foreign languages, and physical education from kindergarten through the 12th grade.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Arizona
Arizona State University
Pima Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1557 W Prince Rd
Tucson, AZ 85705
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 293-2676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





E C Nash School
Tucson, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT