Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
84 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 115 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy of Math and Science
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
All of the teachers care for the students and it makes a huge difference in their education.

Academy of Math and Science 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
This school has made a huge impact on my son's reading and math skill levels. He was attending a public school and he had little to no homework and was getting into trouble. He returned and now has A's and only one B in an advanced curriculum. He still gets in to mischief, as some 4th grade boys do, but the school holds him accountable for his behavior and his academic success. He has learned responsibility and personal accountability at the age of 9 because of the staff and administration. I would much rather have an advanced curriculum and a caring staff over free breakfast any day.


Academy of Math and Science
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a teacher
This school goes above and beyond to teach students to take responsibility for their own actions. We teach students about honesty and integrity not only with lessons, but also with actions. If we make a mistake, we take responsibility for our mistakes. As one of the school principals, I take responsibility for the actions of every one of my staff members. We all care deeply about each and every student. Our staff members are some of the most caring and dedicated professionals that are in the field of education. I urge you, before making a decision based solely on a review, call me and come visit our school. We will show you why and how we became the number 1 Title 1 charter school in the state of Arizona!

Academy of Math and Science 1

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school for two years. For 2 grade the curriculum was good she learned a lot. The teacher would tell them that they didn't go on field trips because they didn't behave. My daughter would tell me that the teacher would put them in two groups of the children who she considered good and bad. Then she rewarded the well behaved while the other children just sat there and watched. I don't think it's okay that this school doesn't have a nurse. A front office staff should not be handling situations that are meant for someone with proper qualifications that she clearly dose not have. She can't even manage the front. On multiple occasion I have seen that she is on personal calls. Her and other staff also yell at the children and when I asked why they talked to them in that manner. They both said that the way they kid around. The fact that they do not have breakfast in the morning is a problem because it is so important to get a meal before they start the day. I have called the main office on multiple occasions. The only thing that happened was that they had someone call me from the school only to tell me they could not do anything because it was out of the budget. Yet the are always reasing money for the older kids to go on trips. But my daughters class never took a trip in 2nd grade. Now that she is in 3rd grade her and her class has only gone on one trip and the year is almost over. Her 3rd grade teacher is a great teacher and tries different ways to teach them if they don't understand. This will be the last she attendes this poorly and unorganized school.

Academy of Math and Science
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
They way front staff talk to the children is unexpectable. My daughter has accompanied a few of her class mattes to the front office when they were not feeling well. She tells me that even though they were sick she side it was find and to return to class. Even when the child had an obvious pink eye she was returned back to class.


Academy of Math and Science 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
The staff is incredibly caring about all the students. They make sure that they take the time to talk to you about any concerns surrounding your child. The teachers are energetic and work with you to keep you updated as to how your child is doing. The smaller class sizes are great.

Academy of Math and Science
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
MR. Strada is Great!!!. He works very hard. Mr. Strada goes above and beyond his duty.

Academy of Math and Science 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The school is great. Children are doing the next years curriculum. In 2nd grade, my son is doing multiplication. They also have a wonderful booster club that helps parents get involved in the school. They teach piano or guitar to the students.


Academy of Math and Science 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a teacher
This school works really hard to ensure that all children are successful. We have been recognized as one of the top schools in Arizona that help students with disabilities reach their full potential. We have a very dedicated staff that pushes their students very hard, but also gives them the support they need when they are being pushed. It is a great organization that is comprised of many very professional and caring staff members. Thank you for considering our school to be the school of choice for your family!

Academy of Math and Science 2

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
My son has ADHD, their teaches and staff are not informed or prepared to handle situations with children with this condition. They constantly suspend him for days and even tried to flunk him rehard less of the fact that his grades are all A's and B's. I had really had high hopes for this school from all the reviews I read before enrolling him there, but he will definately not be returning there next year.

Nearby schools

Academy of Math and Science
1557 W Prince Rd, Tucson, AZ  85705
(520) 293-2676
Last modified Academy of Math and Science is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top