Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

One of the best ways to see what Tucson Country Day School is about is to visit our campus. Take a tour with an administrator. Visit our classrooms. Meet our office staff. See our teachers in action. Watch our students interact with each other. See our landscaped 10-acre campus, our covered activity center and playgrounds, and our large grassy field. Observe our art, music, PE, technology, Spanish, band and orchestra classes. Most important, see how our teachers interact with our students, and how hard we work to build relationships and to make every student feel like the CHAMPION that he or she is. Relationships build trust, trust builds good behavior, good behavior leads to uninterrupted instruction and uninterrupted instruction allows for high academic achievement and individualized instruction. As the COO, I focus on how the school runs and our amazing principal is free to focus on student academics and teacher excellence. We appreciate parent participation and feedback. We welcome new ideas, and ask ourselves through every step we take -- Is this what's best for kids? If it is, we continue. If it's not, we don't. Please come by and see who we are. I look forward to meeting you.
March 22, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
92 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 114 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tucson Country Day School 2

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
My child has been a TCDS since they were in the Preschool program. She did very well in preschool and pre-kinder, and then we noticed that in Kindergarten she was not doing well in reading. Every time we have spoken to the administration and the teachers about our concerns, their only response is that we, as parents, need to read more to our child at home. TCDS has been unwilling to provide any support within the school regarding students who are struggling in reading. As a family, we have put our child in a summer phonics program and hired a Reading tutor, but they still struggle to read at grade level. As a parent, it is very frustrating when you ask the school for help and they turn it around and place the responsibility solely on the parents. We have given TCDS a chance for too long and unfortunately we will need to find a better school for our child next year. I believe that TCDS educates students who are on-grade level and have no behavioral struggles just fine. Unfortunately, they do not seem to have interventions in place to educate students who struggle academically and/or behaviorally.

Tucson Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
Some teachers are good but some teachers just aren't good at teaching they need to find a good job, but all in all most of the teachers are very good


Tucson Country Day School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
there isn't much homework, but they will give out 5 different projects at once that are all due around the same time and get made when they arent perfect, and students don't eat a good breakfast, and get 8-10 hours of sleep, and go through extra curricular classes

Tucson Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
Some teachers you can tell actually love their job, but others take no consideration into what is best for the students, they rush through lessons, and dont give time on anything

Tucson Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
They don't care what is good for the students at all, the middle school department was completely out of paper because they spent all of their money on flowers that the ground squirrels ate instead on things that would actually benefit the students.


Tucson Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
again, they take serious stuff lightly, but OH NO if a student is wearing red socks its an automatic dress code

Tucson Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
The anti-bullying policy is a complete joke, i went there last year and they did nothing for me being tormented in school

Tucson Country Day School 1

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
So i was there for 7 years, at first it was nice...then they started not caring about the students education or bullying....i had a teacher who was gone for 3 months straight, i was bullied from 3rd grade until 7th grade (1st and 2nd were fine) but in 7th they really stopped caring, i had teachers on the sides as the bullies, the same teacher would tell me to stop when a different student would do something then call me fat...the students spread rumors about me, laughed at me, called me horrible names, and would scream awful things at me...in front of the teachers!!! they teachers just told them to walk away, they never asked how i was.....i do however like a few of the teachers...there was only 2 i wasn't particularly fond of, the rest were great. but the anti bullying policy is a complete lie, i am a student to clear things up, thankfully i moved away and got out of that place. i don't recommend it if your child is in middle school,however if your child is in elementary or preschool school it should be fine, again the teachers are great, but bullying is taken extremely lightly


Tucson Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Few issues were solved as they should have been. We lost a great math teacher. He taught my kiddo a math formula & he no longer struggles in math. Few kids couldn't handle it, so he was removed. The parents then move their kid to more challenging school. (Gets teacher fired-moves kid to more challenging school) really!!?? Maybe it wasn't the teacher? I do think healthier lunches could be provided for $3.50, so I pack lunches instead but overall great school!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
One of the best ways to see what Tucson Country Day School is about is to visit our campus. Take a tour with an administrator. Visit our classrooms. Meet our office staff. See our teachers in action. Watch our students interact with each other. See our landscaped 10-acre campus, our covered activity center and playgrounds, and our large grassy field. Observe our art, music, PE, technology, Spanish, band and orchestra classes. Most important, see how our teachers interact with our students, and how hard we work to build relationships and to make every student feel like the CHAMPION that he or she is. Relationships build trust, trust builds good behavior, good behavior leads to uninterrupted instruction and uninterrupted instruction allows for high academic achievement and individualized instruction. As the COO, I focus on how the school runs and our amazing principal is free to focus on student academics and teacher excellence. We appreciate parent participation and feedback. We welcome new ideas, and ask ourselves through every step we take -- Is this what's best for kids? If it is, we continue. If it's not, we don't. Please come by and see who we are. I look forward to meeting you.
Posted March 22, 2015

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tucson Country Day School
9239 E. Wrightstown Road, Tucson, AZ  85715
(520) 296-0883
Last modified Tucson Country Day School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tucson Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 114 reviews. Top