Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Springs Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I think it's sufficient and helpful for my kids. I appreciate the help I can give them.

Desert Springs Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
I have had previous experience with Desert Springs Academy when my brother and sisters were going there. One of my sisters is autistic and they were so patient with her and helped her to keep up with the other students but at her own pace. My brother is now in college and sisters in high school but they often go back to visit when they pick up my son from 1st grade and everyone remembers them. I love the attention that the teachers give to the students, the office staff and principal are very personable and informative of anything that involves your child. My son doesn't do well with change so when he started Kindergarten it was a hard time for him but the teachers made him feel welcome and help him to adjust and when he had his "meltdown" moments they did call me when I was at work and inform me and let me know the action taken. This I was very appreciative of to be kept in the loop when other schools just dismiss this or don't even let you know what goes on. Now that he is in 1st grade he is doing even better, he gets good grades, he loves going to the aftercare and helping the teachers. I can't wait for my daughter to start attending and getting the great education my son is getting.


Desert Springs Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Clearly emphasized and an implementation of "no bullying". Much, much respect. I feel respected as a parent as well.

Desert Springs Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
I have seen all staff care and love each student. Of course there are students that are more difficult, but they are treated with love and compassion. As a parent, I have never had issues with not being able to express concerns and such.

Desert Springs Academy 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
I love the experiences I've had at this school. I have had three children attending at one time. I love how advanced in teaching it is and the care they have for each student. My kindergartners were reading before 1st grade among other things. The staff takes the time to listen to any needs or concerns I may have. I always recommend this school to everyone. I love that the classes are small enough to focus on each student and the teachers care. Lots of parent involvement. Another plus is their after school program. It's affordable and the teachers are AWESOME! They help with studying, homework, and whatever my children need. Half the time, my kids don't want to leave when I arrive to pick them up. FANTASTIC SCHOOL! I'LL KEEP MY KIDS HERE UNTIL I HAVE TO MOVE THEM.


Desert Springs Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
We are pleased with the school, smaller class sizes than public school and friendly teachers. This school offers fun activities like square dancing and kids art program.

Desert Springs Academy 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
I have had all of my children attend this school over the span of many years. I appreciate the consistency, good healthy discipline and support from staff. My daughter accomplished amazing results and I am pleased with this school.

Desert Springs Academy 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
I wouldn't give this school any stars. I have had my children in the same school from day one. The school building was bought out by Desert Springs Academy. The teachers are bullies and allowed to prevent your child from getting a proper education and the teachers are ALWAYS right. Even the director will tell you their cameras don't work, they can't access the system. All false advertisements. The parents are never contacted until it's too late and they fail to comply with children's IEP's. This school should be shut down. The director condones physical acts against children by teachers and never checks with anyone but the ill-willed teachers. Not even the monitor is asked if the claimed event occurs on the playground. They will tell you one thing, then deny it later. Record all convo's with admin!!!


Desert Springs Academy 1

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Highly disappointed! When my child began Desert Springs Academy we thought it was a great school, the teacher was wonderful with the children and related to them. Then without any notice , poof, the teacher was gone with no explanation why and replaced with a bullying teacher. In the first day of his instruction my child and other children I spoke with were upset and distraught in how he spoke to them. My child is normally the happy 'A' student that gets along with everyone. After a day in his class my child came home crying with how he spoke to her. After speaking to other parents and their children, getting the same feedback from them, I decided that something seriously was wrong. Now, I didn't go into all that was said in our conversations, but let me tell you this...Watch out if you choose to send your child to a school that allows bullying by the teachers!

Desert Springs Academy 2

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
This is a good academically focused school, but disorganized. I was told my child was doing poorly on a continuous basis by one person and the complete opposite by another. Progress reports lack any real information. The truth was he was right where he should be. The after school coordinator is a rip off, they send students there without contacting parents and expect you to pay for their failure in communication. It should be the parents choice not the teachers what happens if a child misses his regular transportation. They also have no cafeteria, so regardless of weather your kid would be eating outside.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Springs Academy
10129 E. Speedway, Tucson, AZ  85748
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (520) 321-1709
Last modified Desert Springs Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top