Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Painted Sky Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

Please advocate for your child if he or she has an IEP. If you do, you might make enemies here! We're so disappointed !!!!


Posted August 14, 2012

Excellent school atmosphere for the students. The classrooms are well equipped, teachers are very well qualified and do a great job of caring for the students. The classes excel in their accomplishments and the parent involvement really shows. I've never seen an elementary school with such good parent involvement. Glad we moved here and currently have one child in 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

Painted Sky has the best kindergarten teachers in the world! My child's teacher is so talented. I can't believe how far my daughter has come this year. They hatched chicken eggs and butterflies this year and my daughter can't stop writing about how much she learned! She is reading and writing well beyond the kindergarten level. Full-day kindergarten is so worth the investment!! My daughter's teacher is very nurturing, but firm and structured. Her professional approach really pushes the children academically. Parents talk all the time about how well prepared for first grade the kindergartners are. My daughter's teacher has been a dedicated, hard-working supporter of Painted Sky for more than ten years and parents just love and appreciate her. This year has been our first at Painted Sky, and we are so looking forward to future of our three girls here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

Our first year there was great. This year, however, has been very different. There have been far too many changes for young children to go through in one year (changing classroom formats- all grades- midway through year, report cards changing every semester, forming new classes halfway through the year and pulling kids out of established rooms to make them, etc.) . Also, there has been little communication from the school about things that are happening that concern families. It is frustrating as a parent to not be informed and to have to search for the information. One bright spot are the teachers. They are doing the best they can with what they have been given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

So happy at Painted Sky - LOVE all the teachers and support staff. We are thriving in spite of the cuts and the low priority education seems to have in AZ. Parents are wonderful and very involved, kids are great - a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school is way to small, too many rich kid snobs, and the teachers go against the code of conduct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

I think the staff in the front office are great, they are so friendly and very helpful. However the classes are way overcrowed and if your child is below the standard learning curve you better watch out because they are going to pass them bye. Its really sad. Also if you do have a child with an IEP watch out because this school does nothing to work with those kids. They say they are doing things to help that child but its obvious that they just don't have enough time to deal with kids with special needs. I think the teachers do care about the kids but some of them just seem a bit overwelmed with there class sizes. They really need to look at the class sizes and figure out a plan to reduce those class sizes so that our children have a real chance at a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I have two sons that attend Painted Sky and we love it. The teachers are fabulous and the leadership is remarkable. Parent participation is encourage and welcome. The only negative I have is the school food but isn't that a problem everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

In five years, my child did not have actually a good teacher. Try to talk to/ ask questions a teacher and they will be offended easily and ingnore you or get really bias with the child at the best. Front office staff is there, but just to gossip. They are good at one thing: asking for money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Teacher & Parent Support is the best I have ever seen. The community is always behind us too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This school has a lot of parent involvement and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son was recently diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. We were worried on how the school would handle. Prior to school starting, they set up an appointment with my sons teacher, the school nurse and a representative from the school health dept. They went over how well they are prepared to handle his needs and what is needed from us. It put our mind at ease and even more important, our sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

This is a great school .Teachers are wonderful and work so hard. I drive by on Sundays and the parking lot is full. I know how hard teachers work to impact student learnigng. Kinder teachers and first grade teachers are the best in in Tucson. They are so compassionate and caring towards children. They are real professionals. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I have two children at Painted Sky and have had nothing but positive experiences for the last three years. The teaching staff is outstanding, the front office is wonderful and very helpful, and the new principal is doing a wonderful job. Parent involvement is incredible. I am extremely happy with this school and cannot say enough good things about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I was extremely disappointed with my sons experience at Painted Sky. He has special needs and the staff were very unprofessional and unqualified in my opinion to handle the issues that affected him. It was sad because the school is clean and in a nice neighborhood so I expected something better. We are trying another school this year, one that has better staff for children with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

Painted Sky and its staff are great...Angela Wichers (Principal) is exceptional, friendly, and on the ball. The technology and Parent involvement is great. The Teachers are amazing and most continue to educate themselves and have and are incredibly dedicated to the students and to teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I cannot wait to get my kids out of this school! We've been at this school for 2 years and we just hate it! The classes are huge (27-30)! In addition, the parents are overbearing and rude! All the teachers we've had are wonderful. The new principal is not good......not enough flexibility and she's never theree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

Painted Sky is an amazing school. I have two children there who have flourished and are both working far above grade level. The class sizes are big, but the teachers are very dedicated, hard-working, and caring. When I pick my children up from the after school program at 5 or 5:30, I always see teacher cars still in the parking lot. The parent (and grandparent) support is phenomenal. My favorite example of how far Painted Sky goes above and beyond other schools is the book fair. Every year my children get to talk to and have book signed on Author's Night by 10-15 well-known children's authors. The authors also visit the classrooms and read from their books. My children love to read and it's partly because of Painted Sky's focus on literacy-related activities. When looking to buy a home, my top consideration was making sure it was close to Painted Sky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

This school is known for its excellent teachers at every grade level, extremely high parental involvement, and dubious PTO practices. The PTO has been criticized for raising money for its own membership and not for the good of the students or teachers. With a recent change of PTO leadership, there may be improvements, but it is too soon to tell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

This school is one of the best around as far as staff. The teachers work hard and are motivated to use technology with my child. The new principal seems to be doing a good job. My son also enjoys Miler's Club - a good motivator for having him be active a couple of days a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12620 N. Woodburne Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85755
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 696-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


BASIS Oro Valley
Oro Valley, AZ



Casas Christian School
Oro Valley, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT