Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Compass High School

Charter | 9-12 | 550 students

Public "True" Alternative Charter School since 2001
 
 

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $113,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

Went from being overwhelmed with pointless homework, to being overwhelmed with all the options of different cool class offerings! I wanted to do them all! I had no idea that one school can have such a variety of different hands on classes... Go tour the campus and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2013

Compass High School has always been dedicated to its students. They go above and beyond every day to reach kids that may have been lost along the way in a traditional setting. There are so many choices that can engage the students, not only to stay in school, but to learn outside the box and enjoy being in class again. The meaningful relationships that form every year between the staff and the students are remarkable and have clearly made a positive difference At the end of the day, the school is doing the very best they can to give the students the valuable skills they need to go to the next level of education or to enter the work force. Compass is a safe positive environment that if a student wants to succeed they have every opportunity to do just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

This school is definitely... Different. I visited Compass for the first time in Oct. 2009 my sophomore year and let me tell you I was surprised. I've never heard of (let alone seen) a charter school before in my life. I was skeptic for back then it was just a renovated shopping center with teachers and I didn't know exactly what to think of it. After three short years and graduating from there however I can honestly say that it might not be up to par with conventional high school professionalism and there ideas of learning and teaching environments, but Compass has hit the nail on the head when it comes to understanding students and what's best for their learning needs and truly understand that textbook learning isn't for the majority anymore and that hands on application and personal interest is where learning becomes natural, easy and most importantly FUN! Here they be sure of hiring only those who truly care for students progression and takes a personal interest in them individually. I owe Compass A LOT for where I am today and would recommend this school to anyone who's tired of boring conventional schools that only look at students as their income. Discover Your Potential!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2012

This is not a school for a student to get an education. It is quite the joke! My son said he watched movies in his classes. his math work looked like it came from 4th grade. Kids were not monitored accurately and they hang out across the street during school hours instead of being in class. I do not think the teachers are even certified. The admin is also quite rude. We decided to put him back in TUSD with a professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

My son was a senior with less than freshman level credits when he started attending this school. The atmosphere was not only one where hands on learning is used but because of the sizes of the classes more one on one help is available. The teachers are more relaxed on strict rules and allow students more room for free thinking and expression however the level of commitment not only to educating but helping to build the students confidence and self-worth is immeasurable. I have no doubt that my son would have dropped out if he had not started attending this school. I'm grateful for the alternative learning that has allowed my son to obtain his diploma and motivate him to reach for higher goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

A lot of the teachers where really nice but they seemed to trade for new ones every year. It was really sad, it seemed like the teachers got less and less qualified. Their science teacher actually had the students make rockets and volcano's (Fifth grade stuff) And there were some very controversial incidence with students being kicked out or left out of trips. When I went to this school the only reason students liked this school was because they had to do little to no work and were allowed to goof off all day. The school was a joke then and I'm sure it still is today. I don't know anyone that actually graduated from here. I sure wasn't able to, they gave me the wrong math credits. I think a diploma from here would be worthless anyway. Got my GED instead. Parents really shouldn't send their kids here...
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2010

Graduation Ceremony was so beautiful. You can tell how much you all care for our kids. I'm so proud of my daughter for picking this wonderful school to graduate from. Thank you so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

honestly, i have never been the type to get excited to go to school. i now am. this school offers so much for it's students. the teacher's are so easy to get along with and they don't treat youlike they are smarter or better then you. i love this school for showwing me all of my hidden talents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

This school has tremendous potential, but they don't give the time of day to teacher-applicants with experience. The administration seems more concerned with a staff being hip than qualified and experienced with challenging students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2009

Compass high is the best school ever!! I want school to start really soon =]]
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

I love Compass! Thank you so much! I really feel like I am ready to take on the world!!! Go Class 2009!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

Could not be happier with Compass. Compass is innovative in their teaching strategies and caring in their application.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I currently attend Compass High School. Since I started attending Compass my GPA has gone from about a 2.0 to a 3.5. The teachers are great, the administration really cares about the students and does their best to make sure the students have the best chance at achieving their goals. I recomend this school to all people looking for a different way to succeed in school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

I transferred my daughter from Vail schools where she was lost in the crowd. Learning is not just about tests and grades. At this age building self esteem and character finding out what you want from life is more important. In Vail athe only students they care about are their AAA athletes and the rest are left to fend for themselves. Compass focuses on what is more important at this age. Not all students are college bound and for the ones who are, studies have shown that which college you attend has nothing to do with how successful you become. Smart kids will do well anywhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

I see some parents talk about their kids doing much better since transferring to Compass. These parent most likely have not reviewed the course work at this school. Additionally, after complaining to the Arizona State entity that controls charter schools I was ask to send the course work my son was receiving so they send it to Compass to verify that is the work given to the students. As a result nothing happened. Compass High School is a waste of my tax dollars. Compass needs to be shut down now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

I have a son that currently attends Compass and is now doing better then ever. He would always struggle in his last school. Since nothing was working for him at PV I looked around for different schools and found that a charter school maybe a good way to go. I heard good things from a friend about Compass so I enrolled my son and found out two weeks later that he learns well but just in a different style then regular schools. What Compass does is makes a real effort to explore different types of education in order to fit each individual student and for my son they accommodated him in this way and it s working! He s exciting about school, looks forward to his classes, likes his teachers, etc. The teachers are the absolute best. This is a great place; you should definitely consider Compass when choosing a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

Shut Compass High School Down. If you want your child to learn Do not sent to Compas High School. English work given to my 11th grader was evaluated to be at the 4th or 5th grade level. Compass grading scale: 'A' or 'B' only. Look: Compass 'A' really equals 75-100 percent and 'B' really equals 45-74 percent. Many of the students are towards the lower of the scale. If you are reading this save your child! Do Not Send To Compass.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

A diploma from Compass High School Is less than a G.E.D. This was proven when my step-son tried to enlist in the U.S. Air Force. He was told by the Air Force recruiter that he will need to pass the G.E.D. because the quality of the academic program is too low. Compass is a great school for a child who wants to be a laborer. Compass educators are not certified by the State of Arizona and not one has a Master s Degree. If your child is college bound choose a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

It's a great school to get your kid back on track, but not good enough to get into college. If you plan to have your child get into college this is not the school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

Both my children love Compass High School and the teachers in it! They both went from C's and D's at a TUSD school to A's and B's. Everything from Drama to Photography to Yearbook/Journalism and Guitar are availible. Teacher's and staff are very involved and the children don't get 'lost' among the crowd. I would highly recommend this school. Compass High School is helping my children learn and grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Hispanic 38% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Palo Verde High School
Eastpointe High School
Sahuaro High School
Colleges most students attend after graduation Pima Community College
ITT Technical Institute
The Art Institute of Tucson
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 4:30 am
School Leader's name
  • Debbie Ferguson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.compasshighschool.com
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 296-4103

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Environmental
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Culinary
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
  • Yoga
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
  • Yoga

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
More from this school
  • Open Enrollment! Walk-In Tours Welcome!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
700
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
700
Students typically come from these schools
Palo Verde High School
Eastpointe High School
Sahuaro High School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pima Community College
ITT Technical Institute
The Art Institute of Tucson
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8250 East 22nd Street
Tucson, AZ 85710
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 296-4070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Tia East
Tucson, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT