Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted October 25, 2012
- a community member
I know soeone who works there-they hate it! No supplies, no support and the school functions very poorly. Students can be unruly and difficult with inconsistent parental support. They are trying to get out ASAP. How in the world can someone with no education degree or educational experience open up and run a school? AZ must have some incredibly low education standards! A slick website does not equate to quality education.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 2

Posted July 24, 2012
- a community member
Teachers here are excellent. Kids are great. Most parents willing to work with teachers. Principal/Owner/Superintendant has no educational experience whatsoever and does not trust the teachers to do their jobs, hence the yearly turnover. There have been unsubstantiated rumors about mishandling of funds. Teachers are not given any supplies, and there has been a long standing issue with regards to student uniforms. The playground continues to be a broken parking lot, contrary to multiple promises otherwise. This is NOT a "high tech" school. Curriculum is outdated and incomplete, and suggestions from teachers to admin regarding curriculum, safety improvements are typically ignored. The focus from admin is on what things look like, rather than the actual substance. Rules are changeable and there is no written rulebook for teachers or students. On the plus side, teachers do hold high standards for their students, and give 120% of their time, effort, and salary. No useable library here - it is locked and only admin has the key.


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
This school is terrible. The Owner/Superintendent/Principal has never taught a class in his life and he is trying to run a school. There is absolutely nothing here that will help make your child successful in life. There is no classroom supplies, no counselor, no special education, students have physical education in a torn up parking lot, and there is no transportation for afterschool activities. The school messed up on required uniforms this last year and would not pay us parents back when all supplies where ordered wrong. Many teachers left halfway through the school year and we the parents never knew why. At the end of the year many more teachers left. The school goes through several new teachers every year. How is my child supposed to learn in positive environment when the teachers are leaving all the time? That obviously shows there is something wrong with the leadership at this school. Do not be misled by the school website. Most of the pictures are not of the school. If you care about your child you will not send them here.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
This school is awful. There are many good educators at the school, but they are not backed up by the administration. The principal is cold and standoff-ish. She treats the students and the staff the same, like she doesn't really care about them, with the exception of her daughter who is a teacher there. The students have become more defiant and there is a lot more bullying between students. As a parent, the principal has even been snippy with me. My children will not be returning.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a community member
There as been alot of chages this year in the school not for the better. It is being ran like a military school. The only thing great about the school is the first grade teachers. They are awesome! Other wise the school is on the down fall. Many students are being pulled out due to the staff.


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went to CRS last year and is returning this year. Her teacher last year was awesome! The school has come along way since opening. My husband and I are looking forward to this school year.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
I love this school, my son is a 1st grader there and he is doing well. The staff is great and the new principal and Mr Griffin really care about the childs education as well as behavior. Thanks for another great year of my sons education.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
This is a school that has more 'great' to it than meets the eye. For the last 4 years our family has been scattered in many schools looking for schools that we could truly endorse with our children(s) attendance. We think we found it. CRS & FIMS follows through on their rules, has ever increasing education expectations of it's students, has clear methods for obtaining these objectives on a student by student bases and offers many well managed perks. I feel confident in it's Admin. to retain effective teachers, to weed out any students/teachers that attend for babysitting and provide learning opportunities and maintain the fundamentals. Even my kids, who were very reluctant to change schools again, are reporting that they are learning more then they had at previous schools and enjoy the 'community'. We think we'll park here.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 4

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
Hmmm. The other reviews are interesting, especially the bad ones. We are not experiencing those things. The class size is about right (25 in the 5th grade). The classrooms are a bit small, but the learning we are seeing in our child is way better than what TUSD had to offer. Plus, they have rules that mean something, there is homework most every night, and our child is starting to improve in knowlege and ability. We have enrolled another of our children in the Middle School that is offered, and we are pleased with it as well. Learning is happening. Homework that reinforces the class-work is being assigned.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory
1844 S. Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ  85711
(520) 790-8400
Last modified Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top