Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
Well, our daughter has been a student at CRS since Kindergarten and is now in the 4th Grade. We love the school and the staff, they treat the kids like their own. Yes the playground could be better but we haven't had any issues because of it. We will be enrolling our 5yr son this fall and he can't wait to start Kindergarten and attend the same school as his sister and cousin. We're very pleased with the school.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
GRIFFIN FOUNDATION use too be a nice school. until 2013 teachers walking out off thier class leaving the kinds in class .parents were not informed until we go to teacher conference what kind of bull is that now come on teachers and bus drivers gone the school is fallen down have to take my kids OUT ASAP


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 3

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
I love this school small classes great teacher's uniforms blue shirts and khakis or white shirts

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted October 25, 2012
- a community member
I know soeone who works there-they hate it! No supplies, no support and the school functions very poorly. Students can be unruly and difficult with inconsistent parental support. They are trying to get out ASAP. How in the world can someone with no education degree or educational experience open up and run a school? AZ must have some incredibly low education standards! A slick website does not equate to quality education.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 2

Posted July 24, 2012
- a community member
Teachers here are excellent. Kids are great. Most parents willing to work with teachers. Principal/Owner/Superintendant has no educational experience whatsoever and does not trust the teachers to do their jobs, hence the yearly turnover. There have been unsubstantiated rumors about mishandling of funds. Teachers are not given any supplies, and there has been a long standing issue with regards to student uniforms. The playground continues to be a broken parking lot, contrary to multiple promises otherwise. This is NOT a "high tech" school. Curriculum is outdated and incomplete, and suggestions from teachers to admin regarding curriculum, safety improvements are typically ignored. The focus from admin is on what things look like, rather than the actual substance. Rules are changeable and there is no written rulebook for teachers or students. On the plus side, teachers do hold high standards for their students, and give 120% of their time, effort, and salary. No useable library here - it is locked and only admin has the key.


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
This school is terrible. The Owner/Superintendent/Principal has never taught a class in his life and he is trying to run a school. There is absolutely nothing here that will help make your child successful in life. There is no classroom supplies, no counselor, no special education, students have physical education in a torn up parking lot, and there is no transportation for afterschool activities. The school messed up on required uniforms this last year and would not pay us parents back when all supplies where ordered wrong. Many teachers left halfway through the school year and we the parents never knew why. At the end of the year many more teachers left. The school goes through several new teachers every year. How is my child supposed to learn in positive environment when the teachers are leaving all the time? That obviously shows there is something wrong with the leadership at this school. Do not be misled by the school website. Most of the pictures are not of the school. If you care about your child you will not send them here.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 1

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
This school is awful. There are many good educators at the school, but they are not backed up by the administration. The principal is cold and standoff-ish. She treats the students and the staff the same, like she doesn't really care about them, with the exception of her daughter who is a teacher there. The students have become more defiant and there is a lot more bullying between students. As a parent, the principal has even been snippy with me. My children will not be returning.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a community member
There as been alot of chages this year in the school not for the better. It is being ran like a military school. The only thing great about the school is the first grade teachers. They are awesome! Other wise the school is on the down fall. Many students are being pulled out due to the staff.


Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went to CRS last year and is returning this year. Her teacher last year was awesome! The school has come along way since opening. My husband and I are looking forward to this school year.

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
I love this school, my son is a 1st grader there and he is doing well. The staff is great and the new principal and Mr Griffin really care about the childs education as well as behavior. Thanks for another great year of my sons education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory
1844 S. Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ  85711
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (520) 790-8400
Last modified Children Reaching for the Sky Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top