Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson

Charter | K-12 | 725 students

Our schools focus on science,technology,engineering, math and college-prep.
 
 

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 21 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

167 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2011

I feel excited and blessed to have SAA in Tucson for my son. I agree with some of the negative reviews. There is a few hours of home work every night! Its called working for an education. Yes there are teachers from other countries with costumes on! Its called diversity and cultural understanding. We are in a global economy from engineering to wallstreet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

This school is horrible. I have been going for 2 years and hate it! Some teachers are cool but a lot of them have some "custumes" in their country of origin that we don't know about and they discipline on those custumes. They give way too much homework for little things. I get soo much homework that I only get 2 hours a day to do other thing besides homework. I wouldn't really recommend it as the first choice of a school.


Posted July 20, 2011

A great school for academically minded students. The school also offers many extracurricular activities and afterschool clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

Exellent school for advanced kids in math and science. Excellent teachers as well. Come to see fit for your self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Sonoran Science Academy is, by far, the best school in Tucson! ALL of the curriculum is outstanding- not just the science and math. The teachers and staff make it abundantly clear that they care about each student and family, and work tirelessly to enable each student to reach their fullest potential. The clubs, contests and other extracurricular activities are superb. This school welcomes parental involvement with enthusiasm. We have a son in the middle school and couldn't be more pleased. This school is uniquely adept at meeting the needs of the gifted/highly performing students. We also love the diverse cultures that are represented at this school, which have enlarged and enriched our son's world view and overall education. Communication between parents and staff is also excellent. We are so grateful to have this school in Tucson! THANK YOU, SSA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

I have been attending this school for more than five years and have really enjoyed the challenging curriculum, but I find the extra curricular activities more enticing. I am on the school's math and robotics teams and I love how the teachers are so dedicated and are willing to spend after-school time and Saturdays to help.


Posted October 19, 2010

SSA provides a multifude of opportunities for students to be successful in their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

This is our first year at Sonoran Science Academy and we have been extremely pleased with the school so far. The curriculum is challenging, the teachers are dedicated, the staff is wonderful and the student body as a whole is respectful and bright. This is the first year that our son has actually enjoyed school, and it is considerably harder than the public school that we moved him from. Even with the harder curriculum our son is doing better than in the past and his grades have improved. We have had several of the teachers in our home to answer any questions we may have and ALL the teachers have been very available to us. The sense of community at this school is just unbelievable. They offer free tutoring and a lot of excellent clubs and sports to give the kids a well rounded education. Moving our son to Sonoran Science is by far one of the best decisions that we have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

I love Sonoran Science Academy because they offer an excellent education to all of their students regardless of what each student is interested in. Two of my children are really into math and science but they are encouraged to excell at language arts, history, and and music. My oldest is a writer and excells in the drama/musical theatre program at SSA but she does very well in math and science because of the teachers and administration at SSA. When something needs to get done at SSA the parent association is there to help no matter what. There is no question that SSA is where my 3 children belong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

Sonoran Science Academy has an excellent academic program that encourages the entire family to be a part of it's success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

The education my daughter is getting is exceptional. The teachers really care about the kids not just a paycheck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

because my 3 grandchildren go there and they love it


Posted October 15, 2010

In the elementary division, the staff, teachers, and monitors are very professional and ethical. They are always in the drop off area welcoming your child every day, non-stop. That is how dedicate the school to enforce love, family values, and oneness. I salute the school and I hope more more school in Arizona are like this school--Quality education, highly professional and ethical teachers, and responsive leaders/principals both Elem and MS/HS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

They have an experienced teachers and my sons are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

Professionally run, the school creates as atmosphere of commraderie, co-operation, and the challenge to always do your best. There are many opportunities to succeed. Two of my three children attended SSA and both excelled and were supported, nutured, and challenged. They were on the math team, basketball team, drama productions, and robotics team. It is a safe and culturally diverse enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

because everybody working for SSA is committed to teaching and education from heart
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

SSA is a great school all around, especially taking into consideration Arizona school funding is nearly the worst in the US.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My nieces and nephew attend and they love the school!


Posted August 12, 2010

My child was a student for a number of years, but will not be returning. I chose this school for the academics and my child was happy until last year. I am now incredibly disappointed in the lack of organization, preparation and, certainly, the mishandling of multiple, escalating and serious incidents of bullying perpetrated against my child. The administration's failure to act created a hostile learning environment for my child. The school failed to follow their own discipline matrix and failed to protect my child. The last incident involved the local authorities and at that point I discovered that this school has no anti-bullying program, albeit current law does not require they participate in this. I have previously made a number of recommendations to parents to enroll their child in this school, however now I would caution any parent considering this school in particular to re-think their priorities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

This is a good school but not a good fit for my daughter. She was in a gifted program before she joined this school and was placed in a higher grade Math and Language Arts. But the teachers could not handle her needs and she became bored and this effected her organization skills and became worse towards the end of the school year. I don't think teachers in her home grade as well as extended took any notice or care to improve that. On the contrary, the teacher started blaming my daughter for her degraded performance. They assume kids to be self motivated and have their goals well defined. The teachers were of no positive influence on my daughter. Needless to say she's not going back.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 15% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 85% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
Arizona State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Excelling Label from AZ Department of Ed. (2013)
  • rom AZ Department of Ed. (2012)
  • rom AZ Department of Ed. (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Bronze Congressional Medal (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Adnan Doyuran
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 665-3420

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Our school is a learning community where teachers, staff, and parents actively partner for student success and diversity is embraced. Students are appropriately challenged, through skill-level assessment and placement, and individualized attention. Data-driven instruction is focused on individual student growth, while a well-rounded, comprehensive curriculum and holistic approach to intellectual growth meshes challenging academics with extra-curricular enrichment and social responsibility.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Arizona
Arizona State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 15%
4 year college - 85%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2325 W Sunset Rd
Tucson, AZ 85741
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 665-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carden of Tucson
Tucson, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT